We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect End To An Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect End To An Easter Break”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had booked this B&B before the last review and upon reading it we were a little nervous, however we were quickly put at ease on arrival. It was so easy to find and such a convenient location just of the boat. We were checked in by an older lady who was very friendly and accommodating. The room was warm and cosy and exactly what we wanted to fit in with the atmosphere for the Aran Islands, and the view from the room was lovely.We spent the day exploring the Island by bike and visited Dun Aengus which was AMAZING. Next morning we had breakfast before getting the boat and I had a traditional Irish breakfast which was delicious and hit the spot. My partner had a selection from the great spread from the continental breakfast, her favourite were the cheeses.Really enjoyable and relaxing end to our Easter break would really recommend.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view to the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    68
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
38
96
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

A warm and welcoming place to stay on the Aran islands. The restaurant is home cooked meals in a authentic irish country atmosphere. Delicious fish and chips and super fresh seafood, beef, soups and bread. Large sitting room and front patio facing the sea. You can wait for your ferry with the fire crackling. The rooms are rustic but very clean. No bath tub in our room but am not sure about the others. Bike rental and restaurants and sweater shops all within walking distance. It was of coarse raining for most of the time so it was great to be so close to where the boats arrive and depart.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donna a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed in Pier House on the October Bank Holiday weekend and had a super stay. Eventhough the weather was bad and the boat journey rocky the Island and our accommodation made up for it. Conveniently located just by the pier we were delighted with the warm atmosphere on our arrival. Our room was comfortable and warm. The breakfast was very good with loads of choice. The fire in the living room was very much enjoyed after a day of cycling. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I have 2 different points to tell about this place. Firstly when we arrived to the guest house, after a very rough crossing we both felt a bit ill. We asked for 2 cans coke just to try and get some life back into us. We got them alright but it cost us 5 EURO for 2 cans of coke !!!! . Secondly I had booked this guest house before we made the trip and was quoted 60 euro for the night. The following morning when I went to pay he tried to charge me 80 euro, I told him I was quoted 60 but he was adamint he wanted 80. We had a bit of a heated discussion about it but in the end he accepted the 60 euro. I Know the island depends on tourists to survive but this is just a blatent RIP OFF.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tourist908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

The pier hotel was convenient, clean, warm (on a wet, windy and cold day), the staff were very friendly and helpful and we had a good stay. Everything in the hotel was clean and tidy.
The rooms were a bit cramped, with a view of a seedy back yard. This is the real Ireland, way out on the west coast: expect friendly welcome and good humor from all the locals, really interesting island but things are obviously a bit tough in the economy. Local history is amazing, well worth the trip.
Must do: the prehistoric fort of Dun Angusa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank facebook56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Comfortable and relaxing. Excellent location as you step off the ferry and convenient to shopping, tours vans, bikes and pony carts. Rooms were comfortable and clean. We especially enjoyed the private parlour for guests only with a peat fire and wonderful views of the harbour. Only a 15 minute walk from Joe Watty's Pub with traditional Irish music sessions beginning at 10 pm. The food at Pier House was very good.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the harbour is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

First class guest house, right on the harbour. Very good restaurant, friendly staff and excellent service.

Room Tip: Stayed here before and found all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amadeus46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
7.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
105 reviews
16.0 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
193 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#2 of 4 in Inishmore
330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Guest House

Property: Pier House Guest House
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Guest House Hotel Inishmore
Pier House Guest House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing