We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, and then Wow”
Review of Dun Aonghasa

Dun Aonghasa
Book In Advance
More Info
$170.49*
and up
Aran Islands Scenic Flight and Galway Tour from Dublin
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on a cliff overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Dun Aonghasa is the largest of the prehistoric stone forts of the Aran Islands. It is enclosed by three massive dry-stone walls and a chevaux-de-frise consisting of blocks of limestone set vertically into the ground to deter attackers. Originally constructed c.1100BC, it was re-fortified around 700-800 AD. Excavations revealed significant evidence of prehistoric metalworking, as well as several burials.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, and then Wow”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

A must visit if you find yourself on the Aran Islands. Not only a fantastic view and breathtaking experience, but a staff that went above and beyond in getting a pair of beloved sunglasses my husband dropped in their bathroom back to us at the Aran Islands Ferry office in Galway. The staff of Dun Aengus and the Ferry boat were top notch in helping us out! Thank you and will not be forgotten!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Springonion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    805
    178
    22
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“For history buffs”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This was my fifth visit to this site. Every time I go here I learn more about the site. The people who inhabited the area. This is one site not to be missed on the Aran Islands.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic views, staff very knowledgeable and helpful. Cheap entry, think it was €2.. Only drawback was I thought the fort would be bigger than it was..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 300t5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

At the top of a cliff on Inishmore, Dun Aengus Fort offers amazing views of the island and its coastline. If you stay on the island, head to the fort first thing in the morning--you'll beat all the daytrippers there and might have the place to yourself. We did, and it was the most peaceful, awe-inspiring experience of our trip.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ManUnitedFan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithfield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dun Aengus”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our family's favorite attraction. The fort is spectacular, as are the cliffs. From the fort, you get a good feel for the remote and lonely nature of this windswept island with its small walled agricultural fields, narrow roads, and church ruins.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dun Aonghasa also viewed

 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Dun Aonghasa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing