We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Man of Aran B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Man of Aran Cottage
Ranked #11 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Albany area N.Y.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Man of Aran B&B”
Reviewed August 18, 2006

We stayed 1 night at the Man of Aran cottage. It's Lovely there, and the food is very good. Maura, the chef, uses fresh garden and daily fish/meat specials. The dining room is tastefully decorated. Our room was nice-but the shower was pretty small.. The view from back patio/lunch/tea area is gorgeous. Beautiful flower garden.
Dun Anoghasa, a prehistoric stone fort, is just a few minutes walk away. There is also a beach right there, but pubs etc. are back in the area of the ferry dock. I bought a hand knit sweater right near the fort entrance. We took a moonlit walk after dinner. We wished we could have stayed longer.
Dee, the assistant to ownersJoe and Maura, was very helpful. She served us tea, helped us with ATM and cash concerns, booked us for dinner, and arranged for van pick-up to get us back to the ferry the next day

Helpful?
3 Thank marmeemro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    20
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
24
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2006

My wife & I spent an evening with Joe and Maura Wolfe at their cozy inn recently. What a great time! We spent the afternoon exploring the island and later retreated to the cottage to unwind. Joe tends a wonderful organic garden, from which Maura selects parts of the evening's meal. As we had the B&B to ourselves that night we had an opportunity to relax and chat with this amazing couple over a few hours. We recommend you take the time to travel to the Aran Islands, and if you do, ... spend some time time at the Man of Aran Cottage.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maddogSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

Loved every minute we stayed at The Man of Aran Cottage this past summer. We were fortunate to spend 3 or 4 nights there and enjoyed the hospitality of the owners and the location of the cottage. Very clean! Good food! It was well worth the trip and I'd go back in a minute! Ireland was wonderful. I hope more people have the opportunity to visit the Aran Islands. It was the first time we watched the movie "Man of Aran", which was filmed at the cottage "Man of Aran". Lots of fun! The Irish people were friendly and we enjoyed every minute of it! Glad we had the opportunity to visit! Hope to make a third trip in the future. Thanks for your hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Car0l1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2005

My husband and I rented bikes and spent one night on the Aran Islands. It was one of the highlights of our 10 days in Ireland. Biking around the island allowed us to luxury of absorbing the scenery, sitting on the mossy grasses with our backs against the stone walls, spending some quality time with 2 friendly horses, meeting the herd of goats behing the Man of Aran Islands Cottage, and touring the many ruins scattered about the island.

The B&B is adorable, quaint, cozy and inviting. We stayed in one of the little rooms within the main house which shares the bathroom with the one other room. The bed was the most comfortable during our stay in Ireland.

Even better was the dinner. Delectibly, beautifully prepared organic nutritious food. absolutely our best meal of our trip and welcome break from the typical pub food of ireland. we had a salad filled with flowers from the proprietors organic garden, perfectly prepared salmon, crumbly sweet warm bread, and a fruity dessert to die for. You can eat at the Inn without spending the night there.

a couple of gripes. 1. I made two local calls from the Inn's phone due to an emergency. The owner tried to charge me 20 euros!! for the calls. I talked her down to 5. left a little bit of a bad taste in my mouth. 2. After dinner, the evening is spent socializing in the living room with the other guests. There was no pub or other common area for my husband and i to quietly pass the evening. We met some lovely people, but we would have like the option of being on our own for the evening.

I highly recommend this Inn. Take some time walking around to the coast, meet the goats, a true get-away from everyday life.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crazyroamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest-USA
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2005

Visited the Island of Inishmore, the largest of the Aran Islands, during the second week of May, 2005. The visit was part of a 10-day vacation I took with my sister and her two daughters. We left from Rossaveal, which is about 40 minutes away from Galway. Including getting on and off the ferry, the ride took about an hour on a very modern, comfortable for-passengers-only ferry. As soon as you step off the ferry, you are greeted by a number of drivers of mini-vans, taxis, and carriages all wanting your business. Make sure you do a little investigating as to cost, and make sure to barter your price. We negotiated a island tour into our trip to our b&b, and it turned out very good. You can ask for Thomas, brother to Maura Wolfe. We very much enjoyed his company.

We stayed at the Man of Aran B&B, run by Joe and Maura Wolfe. It is an original thatched roof cottage. Some of the rooms are located in separate buildings off of the main house, as ours were. They were quiet and rustic, and ours had a view of the ocean. Your rate includes dinner, cooked by Maura. We had monk fish, potatoes, fresh carrots and spinach and homemade brown bread. For dessert, there was apple pie and vanilla ice cream. The food is served in a small dining area and was very fresh and simply presented. They do not accept credit cards.

We visited the main attraction of the island; Dun Aengus. It is a massive stone fort built high on a hilltop with a magnificent view. The tour starts at the visitor center, and it takes about 3/4 of an hour to walk to the fort. It is quite impressive. There are also lesser ruins on the island to see.

This is the home of the Aran fisherman's sweater. The Aran Woolen Mills has a large selection of beautiful sweaters and other woolen items It doesn't get any more authentic than this!

While this island is the largest of the three, it is still quite quite remote. There are some pubs on the island, but without a car, it is hard to get to them at night. Pubs include the American Bar, Joe Mac's, and Joe Watty's. There is also a musical theatre in the summer called Kilronan-Ragus (?), but we were too early for it. Also, there is a Spar Supermarket on the island with a ATM.

If I had to do it again, I just might make this a day trip. However, the scenery was beautiful, and the peace and quiet of the island at night is a lovely memory.

Helpful?
4 Thank grewgirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.0 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
181 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
#3 of 4 in Inishmore
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Man of Aran Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Man of Aran Cottage

Property: Man of Aran Cottage
Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Man Of Aran Cottage Hotel Inishmore
Man Of Aran Cottage Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing