We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, clean and friendly”
Review of Ard Einne Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ard Einne Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
saronno
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very good, clean and friendly”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We went there with my family, and spent there 2 nights. The owners are very friendly and help as much as possible. The B & B is well located on top of a hill with beautiful view over the nearby bay. WE also had the chance to have dinner, even if it is just a B & B. The quality was very good and also quantity. They provided a full meal for 25 EUR each.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelclaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    6
    4
    8
See reviews for
22
37
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Stayed here on our honeymoon in May. Clodagh was a great host and provided us with a fantastic breakfast. Facilities are limited, but you're here for the Island, surely?!

We really liked the location - out of the way, about 25mins walk from the main town, but you can hire bikes for about €20 per day anyway. We actually got absolutely drenched on our walk over (The heavens just opened), but Clodagh took all our wet clothes and left them in the press overnight to properly dry which was much apreciated.

She also hooked us up with a local taxi company, who brought us to town in the evening, then returned to pick us up at a pre-arranged time, all for a pittance of a fare!

The Island itself is well worth a cycle around - some beautiful places to stop and see, as well as the more touristy ones.
Keith and Michelle

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithandMichelleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I made my booking through the I-Tourist center in Galway, so I really did not know what to expect. Ard Einne is about 2km from the pier, but I paid a van driver to drive me there. Then I rented a bike to get around the island. I stayed in a room on the first floor - the only noises were when a late check-in would make their way up the stairs. The B&B is lovely, room 3 was spacious, the water was hot, the bed was comfortable, the full Irish breakfast was good. The owner was very helpful - map of the island at check-in, recommendations of sites to visit, arranged a van back to the pier at check-out. I would definitely stay there again. The views and the island were beautiful. A great place to recharge.

Room Tip: I enjoyed room 3 - on the first floor, spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EC-Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

My stay at Ard Einne was great! The hostess was gracious and friendly but professional. The location is a bit away from the main tourist spots, but I wanted something quiet and take long walks, so it worked out perfectly for me. It is a great way to meet people and learn about a place - history, culture and people. The only challenge for someone staying more than a few days would be laundry as doing laundry was not permitted. This would be a great get-away for couples too if they like to hike and enjoy the peace and quiet.

Friendly advice: if you are staying at a Bed and Breakfast, please realize that you are staying at someone's home. If they are dropping you off and picking you up from the ferry or the tourist area, they are doing it because they are gracious. Asking them to pick you up at 2 am when you are done with the pub or being noisy in the middle of night is childish and pathetic.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TorNezumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culemborg, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We took a short flight to the beautiful Island. A taxi was waiting there, and as it was raining hard we decided to take it. It was funny that we made ourself comfortable in the car and in less then 2 min. the driver said that we arrived :) ( 10 min walking).
Personally i didn`t like the service, the lady was not too friendly or helpful.
The rooms and bathrooms were nice and clean, and there was a lovely livingroom where you could drink your coffee, read or watch tv.
Although it is a small island, it was a disadvantage that the B&B was so far from the "village" . It is a long walk, and unless your a fan of walking a lot, you will hate coming home in the cold night all that way walking. ( a litle hint: the lady will tell you it is less then 30 min, but unless you run, it takes longer ;) ).
Breakfast was good, as an irish breakfast is, and i have to say they had lovely bread scones. Best i had.
One of the days we rented bikes (10euro/pers), and we made a tour of the island. It is breathtaking. One of the most beautiful places i have visited.
I would definately go back, and if the B&B would be closer to the village, i would book the same place.

Room Tip: ask for a room with windows facing the sea,most do
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyMvdE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We arrived on a Saturday and cycled to the B&B.It took roughly 15 minutes to get there and at first everything seemed nice.once we checked in and left our bags we went off to cycle around the Island.
On returning we needed to shower and leave again for a pre-booked meal.The water was stone cold,when mentioned to the owner she came to the room and double checked.(the showers look like electric showers but are actually connected to the mains water which is heated by the electricity) The owner seemed more concerned about keeping the electric bill low rather than having warm water for their guests (as is stated in the guest info booklet).
We were told she would look into it and turn on the "booster" after returning from the restaurant we found the water still very cold.There was no answer from the reception or the phone when we tried to bring up the issue.
When checking out the next day it was mentioned to her again,to which she stated it couldnt have been cold as she checked it downstairs and it was steaming hot.
Very frustrating to deal with...
also no T.V in rooms and Paper thin walls so you can hear EVERYTHING

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moniques84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2011

near the airport, about 45 minutes walk from Kilronan.
Good and friendly hostess and a good breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank armoni-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
6.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
102 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
1.7 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 19 in Inishmore
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
327 reviews
1.7 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#2 of 4 in Inishmore
53 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Einne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Einne Inn

Property: Ard Einne Inn
Address: Inis mor | Aran Islands, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ard Einne Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ard Einne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Einne Inn Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing