We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shower trouble”
Review of Tigh Fitz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tigh Fitz
Ranked #3 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shower trouble”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

I and my friend stayed here for one night recently, one night too many. After a great day cycling around the island we returned to the B&B to have a shower, After awhile the owner came to our door saying there was water flowing down from our room to her sitting room beneath. I went downstairs and sure enough her ceiling was dripping water, she was quite angry and argued with me in front of other guests. I apologised although I and my friend did nothing other than have a shower as usual. The following morning as we were checking out she became irate and asked us what we were going to do about her ceiling.She accused us of leaving the shower door open and letting water flow directly onto the floor. We told her it was clear she had a burst pipe as the floor in our room was not wet and we had not left the shower door open. She argued with us for 15 minutes again in front of the other guests. I have never been so embarrassed or witnessed such horrible customer service. This experience completely ruined our time on Inis mor.

Room Tip: Don't use the shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank GaijinE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
53
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Penny was lovely, very helpful and accomodating. The Aran Islands are beautiful. Best of all, the bed and breakfast is about a mile from the port, off the beaten track. If you pass the donkey on the way there, she likes apples very much. We had a view of the water from our room. The room was cozy, comfortable, and inviting. Penny went out of her way to make certain we had everything we wanted for breakfast. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

No one does it better than Penny! She is welcoming and gracious- you not only feel like family, you feel like family that has been missed and welcomed home after a long time away! Our room and bath were wonderful, the hotel lounge was warm and inviting and the food- well no one cooks better- I even asked if she did cooking lessons! We walked up to the oldest church in Ireland and enjoyed the town .Our stay was everything we hoped for and left sadly that it was over and saving for the next visit!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co. Kildare
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed in Tigh Fitz during Tedfest 2012 and could not have asked for anything better! Not only were we looked after as Penny’s own, but it is also a beautiful short walk to the port! There was so much food on offer for breakfast we were spoiled for choice- and for those too "sick" to get out of bed Penny always made sure to send up something! Penny even sorted me out with an outfit for Tedfest. We will definitely be back again. Thank you Tigh Fitz

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Great place to stay. Penny Fitzpatrick is very welcoming and hospitable. We stayed with her during our honeymoon and had a lovely time. We could not have asked for a nicer stay, and hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

As this was my first visit to the island, I did not know what to expect. My partner had been there many times, but his last visit was 18 years previously. We could only stay one night, friends who were joining us stayed for two nights. Tigh Fitz, is one of the nicest B&B's I have Ever stayed in, although it is a mile a way from the harbour, the walk from and to there is pleasant & easy, regardless of the weather. However, its a few minutes from the local airport if you fly over. In addition there are plenty of travel options, if you prefer not to walk. The landlady (who very kindly collected us from the harbour) & also remembered my partner, as did many other locals, from all those years back, was extremely friendly, genuine & sincere, along with her staff, two young girls who served up a fantastic full Irish Breakfast, in
the mornings. Our room had a fantastic view of the ocean, harbour & straw island lighthouse, it was spacious & spotless, not unlike a hotel room. Had tv, hairdryer, tea & coffee, & toiletries.
I would definitely recommend this place

Room Tip: As for room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed at Tigh Fitz for one night with 3 friends. The location is very good if you have bikes (we rented them), since it's about a 10 minute ride from the pier. The rooms were hotel-like, and clean and comfy. We had a nice view of the ocean (and a mobile home and some ancient ruins). The hostess was very friendly and offered to dry our clothes when we came back in the rain at midnight (and we accepted). The breakfast that was included with the room was an excellent full Irish breakfast (and there were some other options). The price wasn't a great bargain but was similar to other rates around town and I think we got our money's worth. Overall I had no complaints about Tigh Fitz and really enjoyed the stay.

One more thing, if you want to pay less for bikes, go for the place that is not right next to the pier.

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms face the ocean so you want one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capellsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ballinalacken Castle Country House
0.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 19 in Inishmore
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#2 of 4 in Inishmore
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tigh Fitz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh Fitz

Property: Tigh Fitz
Address: Killeany, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tigh Fitz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tigh Fitz Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing