We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hosts, amazing view”
Review of Kilmurvey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilmurvey House
Ranked #2 of 21 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at Kilmurvey House for just one night and wished we could've stayed longer. Treasa and Bertie were warm and gracious hosts. They picked us up at the dock when we arrived and dropped us off there the next day so we could take the ferry back to the mainland. We had a double bed en suite with a view of Dun Aengus Fort from our window. Kilmurvey House is exactly what you want in a B&B--comfortable, clean rooms with hosts who make you feel at home. And its location at the base of the fort can't be beat. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManUnitedFan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 246 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is an old  stone house with additions on Inishmore near Dun Aengus, about 5 miles from the ferry pier. The home is welcoming, comfortable, and impeccably maintained. The carpeting in our room seemed to be brand new. Bathrooms were spotless, with beautiful gleaming tiled walls, There are ruins on the property, views of the old ring fort ( Don Aengus) on top of the hill, and several adjacent stores that sell Aran Island sweaters and other goods. We ordered supper at Kilmurvey and were treated to a delicious home cooked salmon dinner. Service was very professional and the food arrived piping hot and perfectly cooked. Breakfast had a large array of cold items as well as yummy hot cooked to order choices. The guesthouse has two drawing rooms in the older part of the structure and a large gathering room suitable for large groups. The family is pleasant and our overnight on Inishmore was comfortable and restful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darbymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed at Kilmurvey House for a yoga retreat. I had a big, comfortable room with a view of Dun Aonghasa. The shower was piping hot. The lady of the house was entirely welcoming, and her dinners were delicious. As for the breakfasts... I ate too much, every time. I couldn't help it.

Room Tip: I was in Room 4, it was spacious and the bathroom worked perfectly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A lovely place to stay - equal to anything you can get on the mainland. It had been a few years since we stayed on Inishmore and at that time it was hard to find accommodation to this standard. We were met my the owner who was so welcoming and offered us tea or coffee as we were a little early for the room. We got an enormous king size bed with windows on 2 sides and a lovely big e suite.
The location is so perfect - away from the village a the foot of Dun Aengus and beside a picture perfect beach.
As there was no evening dinner the owners brought us into the main village and collected us!! If only we had this service at home!! This also brought us into contact with others from all over the world who were staying in the house and we had such fun on the bus!
The breakfast was just delicious - all home cooked and sooo tasty -
Will def return here someday and would highly recommend to anyone considering staying on the island.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We've stayed in over 30 B&Bs or hotels in Ireland including one previously on the island. This is a purpose built facility, more hotel than traditional B&B. Our room in the newer section was very large, quiet and modern. Very welcoming staff and excellent breakfast. An easy stroll to a neat cafe but a cab ride into the village.
It does lack the character of one of the cottage sized businesses but I'll take the space and creature comforts.

Room Tip: Although our companions had a very nice room in the older section, the new addition seems to offer m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRBUSAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first time on the Aran Islands and we loved it! Kilmurvey house was perfect! Great location, close to shops, food, beach. Even though it's a bed and breakfast, we highly recommend you stay in for dinner! The house is colorful and fun, our 9 year old loved it.

((Bonus: They will call the Bike hire for you and have the bikes delivered to the house!))

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Idylic place to stay.
Lovely people. Helped us out with the comedy tickets, arranged the hiring of bikes and helped out all other queries we had.
We're definitely coming back!!
P.S. The home made scones for breakfast - AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_and_Dace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Inishmore hotels
3.5 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
432 reviews
3.6 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 21 in Inishmore
140 reviews
3.9 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#4 of 21 in Inishmore
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#5 of 21 in Inishmore
149 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#8 of 21 in Inishmore
94 reviews
4 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilmurvey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing