We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Kilmurvey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmurvey House
Ranked #2 of 20 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We chose Kilmurvey house because of Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.

When we got off the ferry we waited a few minutes until most of the mini bus tours had left - really we wanted a taxi so we could check in, get rid of our luggage and eat. We ended up taking the tour with the same driver an hour or so after he dropped us off.

Our hosts were expecting us and our room was clean and spacious with loads of hot water. No tv in the rooms which forced my kids to read or talk to me (the horror). My biggest complaint was the free wi-fi! My children were on their iPods as soon as they discovered it.......so we quickly left the room and went up to the fort. Amazing!!!!

We were alone up at Dun Aengus. The sound of the waves was like thunder. The sheer drop down was both frightening and breathtaking. The whole island felt like stepping back in time. It was magical.

We were shuttled to a wonderful restaurant for supper, wandered about after supper, and were awakened to a lovely breakfast of French toast.

We only wish we'd booked a few nights and had more time to wander.

Go to the Aran Islands. Stay at Kilmurvey house.

The

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigCanadianFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Kilmurvey House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 244 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed one night in October and wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely stay here again on future visits to the island.

The building is a substantial country home with comfortable guest lounges. Our rooms were very spacious, with comfortable beds and well appointed ensuites. My room didn't have a great view, but my brother had a lovely view looking up the fort. We checked in late afternoon after doing a drive around mini-bus tour. The driver left us there and drove the rest of the group back to their ferry. After checking in we walked down to the lovely beach, gorgeous white/grey sand and the clearest water I've seen in the UK or Ireland. Then we walked up to the fort. Being evening we had the place to ourselves and sat listening to the waves crashing on the cliffs, the birds singing and watched the sunset over the water. Perfect. We walked back down to the B&B and cleaned up for dinner. Wi-fi was working fine in the rooms as well. Though my room didn't have a TV, there is TV in the guest lounge downstairs (and a lovely open fire).

Treasa and Bertie were most hospitable and Bertie drove us and the other couple staying there down to a local pub for dinner and picked us up afterwards. After a restful and peaceful nights sleep we had a wonderful breakfast in the pleasant breakfast room and then waited in the lounge for our airport shuttle pick up.

We had landed on the island in the morning and the airport shuttle was happy to drive us straight out to the B&B, though we requested to be dropped in the village to begin with, and they put us down for a pick up as well, so our transport was arranged within minutes of landing! Most convenient. Arriving by ferry I don't think you'll have an issue either. We were walking around the village before the ferry arrived and several mini-bus drivers were offering to either drop us at the B&B on their way out or at the end of the tour, which is what we ended up doing.

Delightful stay on the island and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Absolutely perfect B&B and hospitality!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a great view of the fort.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NomadicKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Definitely stay in this beautiful old house. My husband and I had a very pleasant stay here in august. It was a lovely retreat after our long cycle from kilronan pier. The owners were so helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. They also alerted us to the fact that our boat might be leaving earlier than scheduled which was a great help. We would highly recommend it to anyone. Continued good luck to all concerned.

Room Tip: pick number 17.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The house is in a beautuful setting and has a real country house feel. Our hosts were immensely helpful and accomodating, and such lovely people. They dropped us off at a restaurant in the evening, and even collected us from there later that evening. The rooms are airy, nicely furnished with lovely bedding. The bathrooms are spacious and pristine.We were up early in the morning to catch the ferry, and the view of the sun rising over the landscape from our bedroom window will remain with me.Breakfast was delicious. Would return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Inishmoore and while we did not stay at the Kilmurvey House I can definitely vouch for the character of the owners. Treasa was a saint and helped us out in a big way. Our ferry departure for Doolin was bumped up an hour and we found this out at the top of Dun Aengus Fort. We could not find a ride back to the dock and were advised to start walking the 3 miles back to the town and hope that someone would give us a ride. That we did and about a mile up the road Treasa came to our rescue. She graciously stopped gave two half panicked and complete strangers a ride into town. She obviously loves her work and the travelers that come to her island. When we return to Inishmoore hopefully in the near future we will be sure to stay with Treasa and Bertie.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank rYgardnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stay here.

So you're visiting Ireland? Want to see a place unlike no other place? First, come to Inishmore. It's unlike any place I've ever traveled to. The stone to people ratio has to be somewhere around a trillion to one, regardless, it's a beautiful island to explore. Rent a bike, get lost, find your way, follow a sheep.

The Kilmurvey House is like a beach front house, a house nuzzled up right against prehistoric history. You cannot get any closer to Don Angus (spelling) without actually building on the property. In fact, I'm not so sure if the owners of Kilmurvey own the land, they just might. What's nice about staying here, is that when most (or all) of the day trippers have left, by about 4 or so, you have the place to yourself. So walk up to Don Aengus (spelling again?) and enjoy it how the distant Irishmen and women enjoyed it, peacefully, and with nothing more than a wave crashing on a rock several hundred feet below. It's truly remarkable how people lived this close to the edge, but the Kilmurvey house gives you key access nobody else can.

So, it's close the Don Aengus, it's also close to an incredible cafe which wreaks of peat, which i think is a good thing. You can rent a bike on the other side of the island and just leave it here, no questions asked. Breakfast was great. The owners are incredibly helpful.

Stop researching and just book this place. Our room could have hosted a party of 75, seriously. Not all rooms were built like ours (we saw 2 other rooms, much smaller) but for some reason ours could have kept 3 horses, a few sheep, and a few visitors comfortably. We weren't complaining!

I cannot wait to get back to this place. It's just one of those desolate places that has so much history, yet so simplistic. It's bringing me back just thinking about it. I loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MZeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Kilmurvey for one night in late August. The Inn itself was perfect. Incredibly friendly and helpful hosts; very clean and large room and really maybe not as plush as some of the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in, but every bit as comfortable and frankly far more enjoyable. It's quite a ways from the "town" of Kiloran so you do need to think through how you are going to get back and forth but it really turned out to be no problem. The minibus drivers were always happy to drop us off but generally it's going to cost you 5 to 10 euro each way which we found to be perfectly reasonable. The great advantage to this location is its proximity to Dun Aengus. In the morning we were absolutely the only ones up there. Perfect trip; perfect place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojojet195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.0 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
423 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 20 in Inishmore
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 20 in Inishmore
188 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 20 in Inishmore
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range: $71 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Kilmurvey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing