We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous hospitality and wonderful location”
Review of Kilmurvey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmurvey House
Ranked #2 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Marvellous hospitality and wonderful location”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed one night in October and wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely stay here again on future visits to the island.

The building is a substantial country home with comfortable guest lounges. Our rooms were very spacious, with comfortable beds and well appointed ensuites. My room didn't have a great view, but my brother had a lovely view looking up the fort. We checked in late afternoon after doing a drive around mini-bus tour. The driver left us there and drove the rest of the group back to their ferry. After checking in we walked down to the lovely beach, gorgeous white/grey sand and the clearest water I've seen in the UK or Ireland. Then we walked up to the fort. Being evening we had the place to ourselves and sat listening to the waves crashing on the cliffs, the birds singing and watched the sunset over the water. Perfect. We walked back down to the B&B and cleaned up for dinner. Wi-fi was working fine in the rooms as well. Though my room didn't have a TV, there is TV in the guest lounge downstairs (and a lovely open fire).

Treasa and Bertie were most hospitable and Bertie drove us and the other couple staying there down to a local pub for dinner and picked us up afterwards. After a restful and peaceful nights sleep we had a wonderful breakfast in the pleasant breakfast room and then waited in the lounge for our airport shuttle pick up.

We had landed on the island in the morning and the airport shuttle was happy to drive us straight out to the B&B, though we requested to be dropped in the village to begin with, and they put us down for a pick up as well, so our transport was arranged within minutes of landing! Most convenient. Arriving by ferry I don't think you'll have an issue either. We were walking around the village before the ferry arrived and several mini-bus drivers were offering to either drop us at the B&B on their way out or at the end of the tour, which is what we ended up doing.

Delightful stay on the island and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Absolutely perfect B&B and hospitality!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a great view of the fort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    14
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
114
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ennistymon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Definitely stay in this beautiful old house. My husband and I had a very pleasant stay here in august. It was a lovely retreat after our long cycle from kilronan pier. The owners were so helpful and made our stay most enjoyable. They also alerted us to the fact that our boat might be leaving earlier than scheduled which was a great help. We would highly recommend it to anyone. Continued good luck to all concerned.

Room Tip: pick number 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jean d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The house is in a beautuful setting and has a real country house feel. Our hosts were immensely helpful and accomodating, and such lovely people. They dropped us off at a restaurant in the evening, and even collected us from there later that evening. The rooms are airy, nicely furnished with lovely bedding. The bathrooms are spacious and pristine.We were up early in the morning to catch the ferry, and the view of the sun rising over the landscape from our bedroom window will remain with me.Breakfast was delicious. Would return there in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maura f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

My husband and I recently visited Inishmoore and while we did not stay at the Kilmurvey House I can definitely vouch for the character of the owners. Treasa was a saint and helped us out in a big way. Our ferry departure for Doolin was bumped up an hour and we found this out at the top of Dun Aengus Fort. We could not find a ride back to the dock and were advised to start walking the 3 miles back to the town and hope that someone would give us a ride. That we did and about a mile up the road Treasa came to our rescue. She graciously stopped gave two half panicked and complete strangers a ride into town. She obviously loves her work and the travelers that come to her island. When we return to Inishmoore hopefully in the near future we will be sure to stay with Treasa and Bertie.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rYgardnerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stay here.

So you're visiting Ireland? Want to see a place unlike no other place? First, come to Inishmore. It's unlike any place I've ever traveled to. The stone to people ratio has to be somewhere around a trillion to one, regardless, it's a beautiful island to explore. Rent a bike, get lost, find your way, follow a sheep.

The Kilmurvey House is like a beach front house, a house nuzzled up right against prehistoric history. You cannot get any closer to Don Angus (spelling) without actually building on the property. In fact, I'm not so sure if the owners of Kilmurvey own the land, they just might. What's nice about staying here, is that when most (or all) of the day trippers have left, by about 4 or so, you have the place to yourself. So walk up to Don Aengus (spelling again?) and enjoy it how the distant Irishmen and women enjoyed it, peacefully, and with nothing more than a wave crashing on a rock several hundred feet below. It's truly remarkable how people lived this close to the edge, but the Kilmurvey house gives you key access nobody else can.

So, it's close the Don Aengus, it's also close to an incredible cafe which wreaks of peat, which i think is a good thing. You can rent a bike on the other side of the island and just leave it here, no questions asked. Breakfast was great. The owners are incredibly helpful.

Stop researching and just book this place. Our room could have hosted a party of 75, seriously. Not all rooms were built like ours (we saw 2 other rooms, much smaller) but for some reason ours could have kept 3 horses, a few sheep, and a few visitors comfortably. We weren't complaining!

I cannot wait to get back to this place. It's just one of those desolate places that has so much history, yet so simplistic. It's bringing me back just thinking about it. I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MZeebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tampa
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Kilmurvey for one night in late August. The Inn itself was perfect. Incredibly friendly and helpful hosts; very clean and large room and really maybe not as plush as some of the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in, but every bit as comfortable and frankly far more enjoyable. It's quite a ways from the "town" of Kiloran so you do need to think through how you are going to get back and forth but it really turned out to be no problem. The minibus drivers were always happy to drop us off but generally it's going to cost you 5 to 10 euro each way which we found to be perfectly reasonable. The great advantage to this location is its proximity to Dun Aengus. In the morning we were absolutely the only ones up there. Perfect trip; perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojojet195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canby, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A visit not to be improved upon--excellent warm welcoming atmosphere and service from a family whose usual response was "no worries, no worries" or "no problems, no problems." Always, "Do you have everything you need? Is there something more you would like?" This after placing before our small group everything we'd asked for and more. Creamy yogurt, made-on-the-spot granola, choices of fruits, several in compote--then smoked salmon and delicate scrambled eggs or the traditional full Irish breakfast with fresh coffe or tea.....perfect way to start a day of visiting ancient sites, or shopping in the nearby (just around the corner) shops, lunch at the cafe, too--or tea down the road a ways.

For one such as myself, yearning to walk the beach and wade in the water--just minutes away down the hill past the cemetery. A beautiful sandy beach with low waves frothing white as they break and run up the beach almost gently when compared to Oregon's Pacific Northwest combers booming, crashing in. And Du'n Aonghusa just out the gate, turn right, visit the museum, then on up the trail; an experience I look forward to on my next visit. Lovely weather after months of rain, we were so blessed.

So, in summary: Beautiful weather, most gracious persons welcomed us into their lovely, comfortable home and served us excellent meals, then assisted us with luggage and transport.

For my first visit to Ireland, all my expectations were more than met and in the most gracious manner possible.

Room Tip: Our room a flight and a bit more (#3) was quiet with windows on two sides, a corner room with views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
105 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
193 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 19 in Inishmore
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
#3 of 4 in Inishmore
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Property: Kilmurvey House
Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kilmurvey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing