We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kilmurvey House: great stay as advertised”
Review of Kilmurvey House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilmurvey House
Ranked #2 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
tampa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Kilmurvey House: great stay as advertised”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Kilmurvey for one night in late August. The Inn itself was perfect. Incredibly friendly and helpful hosts; very clean and large room and really maybe not as plush as some of the 4 and 5 star hotels we stayed in, but every bit as comfortable and frankly far more enjoyable. It's quite a ways from the "town" of Kiloran so you do need to think through how you are going to get back and forth but it really turned out to be no problem. The minibus drivers were always happy to drop us off but generally it's going to cost you 5 to 10 euro each way which we found to be perfectly reasonable. The great advantage to this location is its proximity to Dun Aengus. In the morning we were absolutely the only ones up there. Perfect trip; perfect place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojojet195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
107
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canby, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

A visit not to be improved upon--excellent warm welcoming atmosphere and service from a family whose usual response was "no worries, no worries" or "no problems, no problems." Always, "Do you have everything you need? Is there something more you would like?" This after placing before our small group everything we'd asked for and more. Creamy yogurt, made-on-the-spot granola, choices of fruits, several in compote--then smoked salmon and delicate scrambled eggs or the traditional full Irish breakfast with fresh coffe or tea.....perfect way to start a day of visiting ancient sites, or shopping in the nearby (just around the corner) shops, lunch at the cafe, too--or tea down the road a ways.

For one such as myself, yearning to walk the beach and wade in the water--just minutes away down the hill past the cemetery. A beautiful sandy beach with low waves frothing white as they break and run up the beach almost gently when compared to Oregon's Pacific Northwest combers booming, crashing in. And Du'n Aonghusa just out the gate, turn right, visit the museum, then on up the trail; an experience I look forward to on my next visit. Lovely weather after months of rain, we were so blessed.

So, in summary: Beautiful weather, most gracious persons welcomed us into their lovely, comfortable home and served us excellent meals, then assisted us with luggage and transport.

For my first visit to Ireland, all my expectations were more than met and in the most gracious manner possible.

Room Tip: Our room a flight and a bit more (#3) was quiet with windows on two sides, a corner room with views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We've stayed here September 2011 and loved it. It was a bit complicated to get to the House but once we were there we we’ve been charmed. We asked a tour bus near to the ferry to bring us to the Kilmurvey House and they accepted immediately (against a small fair). As we arrived on a storm day, we were afraid not to be able to leave the Island for a few days and asked the Kilmurvey House to shorten our stay. This was no problem at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We rode our bikes here from the Ferry. We were on a VBT bike trip. Explored the surrounding countryside then stayed the nite. It was a nice bike ride to this B&B and highly recommend renting a bike off the Ferry and riding the 5 miles or so to the inn. Wonderful hosts and good food. Will return one day.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Absolutely charming, restful genuine place. We stayed here two years ago and returned last month for a two night stay. It is as good as we remembered!! We were blessed with fine weather for our trip which made it so good - beautiful beach couple mins. walk from b and b.

These people are charming genuine professionals who run a wonderful homely place. The food is to die for, rooms very comfortable, love the books scattered round the house which one can browse through. Kilmurvey House is so worth a visit ! We dined here on our first night beautiful cod dish, our ten year old really enjoyed homemade chips and chicken, which we were not charged for - lovely touch Teresa.

Keep up the good work guys- this place can not be improved on! Thank you for a lovely stay

Coady family
Tuam

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coadyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

It is more secluded than a stay in the village. I spent there two nights and had a rest like for a one week. Staff was very attentive and always offered a lift to the village for dinner or a ferry. Although it is a B&B, staff was very professional and warm.
I had one dinner there, very tasty.
Behind the Kilmurvey House, on their grounds, there is a ruin of an old church. I found the whole area very magical.
I appreciated free tea & coffee in the drawing room and Lilies in the entrance corridor. Charming.
Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

What else is there to say? We came in drenched from a downpour after a walk and they dried our clothes in the dryer. The coal-stoked fire in the study was a warm place to share a glass of wine with other guests. The location was down the path from dun Aengus (our room had a view of the Fort!) allowing you to walk there in the early morning or late afternoon hours when the bus tour groups are not there! At breakfast, don't overlook the fruit compotes with Greek yogurt before enjoying your Irish breakfast. The house was beautiful and warm and welcoming. And so were the hosts.

Also, be sure to have lunch at the café at the end of the lane by the handful of shops. Perhaps the finest "Guiness Beef Stew" of our trip. Great Carrot Cake, too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip and Deb... K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.0 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilmurvey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilmurvey House

Property: Kilmurvey House
Address: Kilmurvey, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kilmurvey House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilmurvey House Hotel Inishmore
Kilmurvey House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing