We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodwise never again”
Review of Joe Watty's Bar

Joe Watty's Bar
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Joe Watty’s Bar is a welcoming local bar with good food, music & craic. The bar is well placed in Kilronan Village, at the cross-roads to Dún Aengus and the Seal Colony. When you drink at Joe Watty’s, you drink with the locals. We offer you a ‘Ceád Milé Failté’ to Joe Watty’s, one of the Islands Oldest and most Traditional Pubs, where you may relax and unwind in front of a warm open fire with a pint of Guinness or Irish Coffee. Located at the cross-roads that lead to Dún Aengus Fort and the Seal Colony, and only 300 metres from the Pier.You may wish to sample our ‘Traditional Island Bar Food’ of locally caught Lobster, Crab, Mussels, Fresh Fish, a variety of Meat & Vegetarian Dishes and Homemade Desserts.Watty’s Is Famous For Its Live Music Sessions.Live Music Nightly: May - September And At Week-Ends All Year.Bar Food Daily 12.30 – 21.00hrs.So for the best of Craic, Food & Drinks its got to be Watty’s.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We came for good food and Musiek The food is nothing like the folder frozen fish and chips on an island surrounded by sea A disgrace to the locals If you want good food try the Americian bar in Kilronen

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Distel370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Distel370, A Chara

Thank you for taking the time to review Joe Wattys. All reviews help us, the bad as well as the good, so that we can work on any issues.

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your food. It is true to say that sometimes we do have to freeze fish to keep up with demand. However, it is very false to state that we are a disgrace to locals as we buy fresh fish and shellfish directly whenever possible. I know how this sounds, we are after all surrounded by the Atlantic, but most of the fishing boats land their fish in Rossaveal (where we also buy from) and not on the Island. We are very thankful for the suppliers we do have landing their catch here.

That said, I am truly sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit with us and apologise for that. I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again in the future to try and make your visit more enjoyable second time around.

Is mise le meas

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

313 - 317 of 550 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2014

We truly had the best night out of anywhere in Ireland on Inish Mor in Joe Watty's Pub. The traditional music was second to none. Two all-Ireland champion musicians were in house the night we were there, and we ended up buying their CD. The food was great. My friend said it was the best hamburger ever eaten! It was a tad expensive at 15 euro for the hamburger platter, but it was worth it. The pub was very comfortable, but get there early for a good seat. The locals go there and get up and do solo Irish dancing which was great. Fantastic night and a stone's throw from Mary Joe's B&B where we were lucky enough to stay!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Torontocanucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

TorontoCanucker, A Chara

Many thanks for your fantastic review of Joe Wattys. It is great to hear that the best night out you had in Ireland was in our pub. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt that you got value for money.

From your description, the musicians would have been Padraig, Oisín and Conal and we are blessed to have them, they are all local and so play here very regularly throughout the year. I am glad you got to hear them play.

I hear nothing but good things about Mary Joe's B&B and it is in a great location.

We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Inis Mór, and to Joe Wattys, again in the future

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We visited this pub with a group. The atmosphere was very relaxed, the music was great and there was good banter

Thank alvbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

alvbo, A Chara

Many thanks for your review of Joe Wattys.

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope to welcome you back to Inis Mór and Joe Wattys in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have spent 6 weekends on the gorgeous island of Inis Mor and i cannot stress how wonderful Ti Joe Watty's is. The charming location, warm atmosphere and superb food all make this place truly magnificent. Its a home from home, PJ and Grace doing all they can to make your visit a memorable one. I would strongly recommend the seafood chowder as its all homemade (the best chowder Ive tasted).. saying that there isn't anything on the menu that isnt delicious and homemade.. even down to the tartar and burger sauces. The prices are very resonable for the quality of food. The proof is in the pubs popularity with both locals and tourists. The staff are AMAZING, always taking time for a friendly chat even when they are extremely busy. Although I have travelled extensively across Ireland i can honestly say Watty's music programme is up there with the best. Local musicians are also joined by singers/bands from all over the UK, making the programme of events varied. To conclude.. visit Watty's, you will not be disappointed, in fact you'll be thankful that you did!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Harriet R, A Chara

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Joe Wattys. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of what we work hard to deliver.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food, music and service that we offer our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Inis Mór and Joe Wattys in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed our evening in this pub. Good food, great atmosphere and welcoming staff. We will definitely go to this restaurant again if we visit again Inishmore!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Marion D, A Chara

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Joe Wattys. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again in the near future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Watty's Bar also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Joe Watty's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing