We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNING FOOD, PEOPLE AND ATMOSPHERE”
Review of Joe Watty's Bar

Joe Watty's Bar
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Joe Watty’s Bar is a welcoming local bar with good food, music & craic. The bar is well placed in Kilronan Village, at the cross-roads to Dún Aengus and the Seal Colony. When you drink at Joe Watty’s, you drink with the locals. We offer you a ‘Ceád Milé Failté’ to Joe Watty’s, one of the Islands Oldest and most Traditional Pubs, where you may relax and unwind in front of a warm open fire with a pint of Guinness or Irish Coffee. Located at the cross-roads that lead to Dún Aengus Fort and the Seal Colony, and only 300 metres from the Pier.You may wish to sample our ‘Traditional Island Bar Food’ of locally caught Lobster, Crab, Mussels, Fresh Fish, a variety of Meat & Vegetarian Dishes and Homemade Desserts.Watty’s Is Famous For Its Live Music Sessions.Live Music Nightly: May - September And At Week-Ends All Year.Bar Food Daily 12.30 – 21.00hrs.So for the best of Craic, Food & Drinks its got to be Watty’s.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I have spent 6 weekends on the gorgeous island of Inis Mor and i cannot stress how wonderful Ti Joe Watty's is. The charming location, warm atmosphere and superb food all make this place truly magnificent. Its a home from home, PJ and Grace doing all they can to make your visit a memorable one. I would strongly recommend the seafood chowder as its all homemade (the best chowder Ive tasted).. saying that there isn't anything on the menu that isnt delicious and homemade.. even down to the tartar and burger sauces. The prices are very resonable for the quality of food. The proof is in the pubs popularity with both locals and tourists. The staff are AMAZING, always taking time for a friendly chat even when they are extremely busy. Although I have travelled extensively across Ireland i can honestly say Watty's music programme is up there with the best. Local musicians are also joined by singers/bands from all over the UK, making the programme of events varied. To conclude.. visit Watty's, you will not be disappointed, in fact you'll be thankful that you did!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harriet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Harriet R, A Chara

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Joe Wattys. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of what we work hard to deliver.

We are glad that you enjoyed the food, music and service that we offer our customers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Inis Mór and Joe Wattys in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 318 of 548 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2014

We enjoyed our evening in this pub. Good food, great atmosphere and welcoming staff. We will definitely go to this restaurant again if we visit again Inishmore!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Marion D, A Chara

Many thanks for your lovely review.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Joe Wattys. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to us again in the near future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

While staying on Aran went for a meal in Joe Watty's and if you like fish this is one not to be missed. We had the chowder to start and just beautiful. Followed by crab claws and while you have to do a bit of work to crack the shells, it is well worth the effort. All the tools and water bowl supplied. Sat on a fantastic area outside and just hard to beat. Not to be missed

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jim M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

JimM, A Chara

Many thanks for your lovely review of Joe Wattys. I am delighted that you enjoyed your crab claws, I love them too and I agree they are worth the extra effort!

I hope that weget the opportunity to welcome you back again on Inis Mór and in Joe Wattys.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

For me this Pub felt the best place in the World when I was on the Island! Great atmosphere, good food, best Guiness and absolutely grant People! Especially Helena and Criostoir are so friendly, welcoming and helpful! We had loads of Craic at this place! hopefully I will be back as soon as possible!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Annamaria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Annamaria L, A Chara

Many thanks for you review of Tí Joe Watty. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us so much and are very appreciative of you taking the time to review us.

Helena & Crístóir were also delighted to read your comments - we are very lucky to have them working with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to us again in the future.

Is mise le meas

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant the second day we stayed on the island. The food and drinks were great, but what makes this place amazing is its staff. All of the bartenders/servers were extremely friendly. The locals frequent this restaurant and were also extremely nice. We will definitely go to this restaurant again when we visit the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Helice D, A Chara

Many thanks for writing you lovely review of Joe Wattys.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and drinks and the service and atmosphere. We do place emphasis on treating people well and equally, however, it is not just down to us, we are also very lucky with our team who work very hard. As you say, the locals too are very nice and it is great to have that acknowledged by our visitors.

Thank you again for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Joe Wattys and,, I trust, Inis Mór.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Watty's Bar also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 

Been to Joe Watty's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing