We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Environment!”
Review of Joe Watty's Bar

Joe Watty's Bar
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Joe Watty’s Bar is a welcoming local bar with good food, music & craic. The bar is well placed in Kilronan Village, at the cross-roads to Dún Aengus and the Seal Colony. When you drink at Joe Watty’s, you drink with the locals. We offer you a ‘Ceád Milé Failté’ to Joe Watty’s, one of the Islands Oldest and most Traditional Pubs, where you may relax and unwind in front of a warm open fire with a pint of Guinness or Irish Coffee. Located at the cross-roads that lead to Dún Aengus Fort and the Seal Colony, and only 300 metres from the Pier.You may wish to sample our ‘Traditional Island Bar Food’ of locally caught Lobster, Crab, Mussels, Fresh Fish, a variety of Meat & Vegetarian Dishes and Homemade Desserts.Watty’s Is Famous For Its Live Music Sessions.Live Music Nightly: May - September And At Week-Ends All Year.Bar Food Daily 12.30 – 21.00hrs.So for the best of Craic, Food & Drinks its got to be Watty’s.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

My husband and I went to this restaurant the second day we stayed on the island. The food and drinks were great, but what makes this place amazing is its staff. All of the bartenders/servers were extremely friendly. The locals frequent this restaurant and were also extremely nice. We will definitely go to this restaurant again when we visit the island.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Helice D, A Chara

Many thanks for writing you lovely review of Joe Wattys.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and drinks and the service and atmosphere. We do place emphasis on treating people well and equally, however, it is not just down to us, we are also very lucky with our team who work very hard. As you say, the locals too are very nice and it is great to have that acknowledged by our visitors.

Thank you again for your kind words and we are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Joe Wattys and,, I trust, Inis Mór.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 567 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

After walking solo around the island, what a delight to find Watty's! Sat at the bar and enjoyed good food, great music and fantastic people in a relaxed atmosphere. Helena, Evan, Roddick and Avril made this a place I actually returned to nightly while on the island, their hospitality genuine and engaging! Struck by the extra mile Helena went to help a visitor, on his retirement "trip-of-a-lifetime", join in the music. Oh, and the coffee drinks are things of beauty.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Kathy P, A Chara

What a lovely review. Thank you very much for taking the time to review Joe Wattys and also for your lovely comments.

Ourselves and our team are always delighted when they get good feedback and it gives us all a smile.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your visit and glad that we helped welcome you. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Inis Mór and, indeed, Joe Wattys again in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

After a great day cycling around the island Ti Joe Wattys really was the ideal place to spend the evening. We were impressed when we walked in and our server Evan greeted us at the door and made us feel most welcome. He was genuinely friendly when asking us about us and our day and joked with us. He told us about the specials and offered to bring us drinks and didn't mind making us Irish coffees so we couldn't ask for more! The food and Irish coffees was perfect. Thank you Evan!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank letterkenyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

letterkenyan, A Chara

Thank you so much for your review and your lovely comments. Evan was very happy when I showed him your review, we are lucky to have him working with us and I am glad that he was able to help you in enjoying your visit with us. He puts many a smile on many a face.

We are delighted too that you enjoyed your food and Irish Coffees. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Island and to Wattys again in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

After getting caught in the rain and biking to Watty's for cover, I couldn't be happier that it rained. The owner greeted us at the door, and we instantly fell in love with the place The food was great and so was the music. I forgot my camera there and the owner made sure to get it back to me safely. Make sure to stop in, even if it's not raining!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Fordpirate82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Fordpirate82, A Chara

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Joe Wattys and for your kind and lovely comments.

I hope that the camera has arrived back to you safe and well by now. What a day that was! The rain was nothing short of torrential - every second it was like another bucket of water being dumped down!

I hope that the rest of your trip was a filled with sunshine and that you have been enjoying the rest of your holiday.

We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Inis Mór and to Joe Wattys again in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The atmosphere is like being surrounded by you favorite friends and members of your family. Completely stress free, relaxing and enjoyable. We really enjoyed the entertainment.

Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PJ F, Owner at Joe Watty's Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Gary S, A Chara

Thank you very much for such a lovely review and your wonderful description of the atmosphere you experienced.

We are really delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and we hope that we can welcome you back to Inis Mór and, of course, to Wattys again in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Watty's Bar also viewed

Inishmore, Aran Islands
Galway, County Galway
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Kilronan, Inishmore
 

Been to Joe Watty's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing