We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ti Joe Wattys

Ti Joe Wattys
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ti Joe Watty’s is a welcoming local bar with good food, music & craic.The bar is well placed in Kilronan Village, at the cross-roads to Dún Aengus and the Seal Colony.It has a lovely Beer Garden with wonderful trees which offer shade from the sun and from the wind and an open fire inside.When you drink at Tí Joe Watty’s, you drink with the locals.Meet The People And Enjoy The Island, The Music And The Good Food.We offer you a ‘Ceád Milé Failté’ to Tí Joe Watty’s, one of the Islands Oldest and most Traditional Pubs, where you may relax and unwind in front of a warm Open Fire with a Pint of Guinness or Irish Coffee.Located at the cross-roads that lead to Dún Aengus Fort and the Seal Colony, and only 300 metres from the Pier.You may wish to sample our ‘Traditional Island Bar Food’ of locally caught Lobster, Crab, Mussels, Fresh Fish, a variety of Meat & Vegetarian Dishes and Homemade Desserts.Watty’s Is Famous For Its Live Music Sessions.Live Music Nightly: May - September And At Week-Ends All Year.Bar Food Daily 12.30 – 21.00hrs.So for the best of Craic, Food & Drinks its got to be Watty’s at the cross-roads.
WV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I agree that this was the top restaurant we visited during our recent vacation in Ireland. The quality (and quantity) of the food was top-notch (the mussels were simply perfect, the meat fresh and plentiful and the sauce delicious; the same for the smoked salmon appetizer) and the atmosphere was quite cheerful. The evening was a very pleasant experience due to the friendliness and charming character of the staff. We will certainly be visiting again on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2020, Owner at Ti Joe Wattys, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
David H, A Chara

Many thanks for your review. And what a review it is!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your food so much. It is always nice to read compliments!

It is also always lovely to hear from customers who experience what we strive for at Watty's.

We are very lucky with our staff and food suppliers and your comments have been passed on to both.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to us again on your next visit.

Is mise le meas,

PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    120
    34
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
719 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
“Good music and warm atmosphere”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

People are friendly and the music is lively. Wish they had had a turf fire going instead of just lit candles in the fireplace. Didn't try the food, but the menu is varied and reasonable. Music typically starts at 10 p.m. but sometimes at 9:30.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank flaneur40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2020, Owner at Ti Joe Wattys, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
flaneur40, A Chara

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tí Joe Watty and please accept my apologies for my delay in replying.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the music and people of Inis Mór in our pub. Our regular customers are as friendly as our staff!

We don't put a fire down in the summer time because it would be way too hot for our patrons (and staff!). However, I do take your point, and it is very cosy when the fire is lit. Rest assured though that we always have a fire in the wintertime. Thankfully for us, it is only the last couple of weeks that we have been lighting the fire again, now that there's a bit of a nip in it.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back to Watty's again in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Loved the friendly service and advice provided by the staff... (especially as they were booked out the first night and could recommend somewhere nice instead). We had a fantastic lunch there and came back later in the evening with the parents and inlaws in tow and stayed until well after closing. Fantastic mix of trad and modern music played live and fantastic atmosphere. We are very happy to have found this place!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Treesrgreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2020, Owner at Ti Joe Wattys, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Treesrgreen1, A Chara

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Tí Joe Watty and please accept my apologies for delay in replying to you.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our pub and, even though we couldn't accommodate you on your first visit, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your meal at the restaurant recommended to you.

As I have said many times before, we are lucky to have an unfair ratio of very talented musicians who play regularly at Joe Watty's, and there's nothing like live music.

We too are very happy that you found us and hope to welcome you back again in the future!

Is mise le meas,

PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst I ever had”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

Party of 8, three of us had fish and we had to send them back as they were burnt and also a TINY portion of fish. The salad was a slice of pepper. Two got lamb cutlets which just came with mash, no gravy and a spoon of veg. Will never ever come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paulcusack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herring80, Owner at Ti Joe Wattys, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
paulcusack, A Chara

Please accept our apologies for delay in responding to your review and I would also like to thank you for taking the time to write same.

We apologise that you felt your food was of such low quality. We were aware that there was an issue with the fish and brought it back for you right away, although I'm not sure that the rest of your comments are entirely true or fair. However, we do not like to have below par food served to anyone at any time and for this we truly apologise.

Again, we can only apologise that you did not enjoy your meal and hope that you will return to Inis Mór again in the future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittenweem, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is a pub, and it's food should be accepted as such - and as such, it's excellent. The place has fabulous atmosphere with live music most nights, although the band starts rather too late for many. The menu is fairly standard pub fare, strong on (locally-caught) seafood as one would expect on Inis Mor, and exceptionally (for a pub) well-cooked and -presented. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful: while we were there they did all they could to accommodate some very big parties.

If you need to ask for directions, by the way, it's pronounced "chee joe wattys" :-)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM2020, Owner at Ti Joe Wattys, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
simoninireland, A Chara

Many thanks for your review of Tí Joe Watty.

I apologise for my delay in replying to your review.

We are delighted that you enjoyed our pub-grub and thank you for complementing our staff on their service. We are blessed on a number of sides, including our staff, availability of talented local musicians and of course - our local fishermen!

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back to Watty's int he future.

Is mise le meas,

PJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ti Joe Wattys also viewed

Galway, County Galway
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inishmore, Aran Islands
 
Inishmore, Aran Islands
Inisheer, Aran Islands
 

Been to Ti Joe Wattys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing