We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for Visiting Dublin”
Review of The White Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skerries
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Cottages
Ranked #1 of 6 Skerries B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good Location for Visiting Dublin”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The White Cottages was the final place we stayed on our circle tour of Ireland/Northern Ireland in Aug 2012, spending four nights just prior to flying back home.

Rather than trying to find a place right in Dublin, we chose to stay just outside Dublin and take the train into the city on a couple of days. Being right on the commuter rail line heading north from Dublin, Skerries (and The White Cottages) is a great base for doing this. We parked the car each day at the Skerries station and had a 30-45 minute trip into Dublin on the train. Super easy and no big-city driving or parking hassles! The other advantage of The White Cottages is its proximity to Newgrange & Knowth as well as Dublin airport.

As far as the B&B itself, you can't get much closer to the ocean without falling in. It's a beautiful spot! Joe and Jackie are gracious hosts and the breakfasts were very good. In addition to the usual cereal, toast, juice, and coffee/tea, there was also a choice of cooked options that we selected the night before. If only our home had as lovely a view as the breakfast room at The White Cottages!

We had two rooms at the B&B, our teens with two beds (single & double) up a flight of stairs in a beautiful large room with a view of the sea (the Crow's Nest), while us parents had a double-bed room back on the main floor. This room was probably the one disappointing part of the B&B...the room was very small (almost claustrophobic), the view to the sea was indirect, and the TV was missing its remote (and had a few operational issues to boot). Both rooms were very clean.

All in all, a good stay at The White Cottages.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheFamilyPLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    27
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
54
173
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I, along with another couple, stayed at The White Cottages this past September. It was a wonderful place to stay, very clean and peaceful next to the ocean. Joe and Jackie were very attentive hosts and were a great resource for our travels around this part of Ireland. Rooms we stayed in were very nice and very clean. Jackie's beautiful art work also adorns all of the rooms and common space of the inn. The day we arrived all of the ocean facing windows were glazed over with salt spray from the wind storm the day before. Joe was very quick to get all of the windows sparkling clean again so we could enjoy the beautiful view of the ocean and the town of Skerries beyond the bay. We would all stay here again in a second.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trout42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed in the Harbour Master room for 2 nights and were gutted when it was time to go home!

The White Cottages is a fantastic B&B with a view to die for. The room itself was immaculate and beautifully decorated. The photos on the website almost don't do the rooms and view justice! Breakfast was delicious, overlooking the coast. Enjoying a home-cooked breakfast and watching seals pop their heads up was unforgettable.

Jackie and Joe went above and beyond what we expected; offering tips and ideas of the best places to explore and everywhere was walkable. We went to the Windmill Steakhouse on their recommendation and had some of the tasiest food of our lives. We also popped into The Snug attached to it - a wonderful atmosphere with a roaring fire.

We hope to stay again soon and would recommend it to anyone looking for friendly people, natural beauty and a homey stay.

Room Tip: The Harbour Master is easily worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jammy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Clean, beautifully located, comfortable, nicely decorated. Captain's room is small but perfectly sized: nothing is missing. Bathroom has all the amenities needed. Joe & Jackie are wonderful hosts. Got great tips on activities to pursue in the area. Excellente breakfast! Strongly recommended... and I will return!

Room Tip: Face the water, but I think all rooms do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in the Captain's room which had its own sliding doors to the rocky beach a few feet away. Decorated in a beautiful, simple white and nautical style, with lots of light with the doors, and an extra little window so you can listen to the water lapping at the rocks. So nice to watch the fishing boats bobbing about just out in Skerries harbor. Jackie and Joe make you feel totally at home, free to use the little kitchen and sitting area that also has great views, and the breakfast is beautiful and filling. They're also quite the artists, with Jackie and her drawings and Joe and his unique driftwood creations.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanydesiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

The White Cottages B & B has it all - beautiful location, comfortable and cozy rooms, delicious breakfasts and outstanding hospitality. Joe and Jackie are wonderful hosts. They are warm and welcoming. Joe made great recommendations for pubs and dining in Skerries and called ahead for us. Everything was walking distance from the b & b. They put a great deal of thought and care into running the White Cottages. Our room, The Harbour Master, was well appointed, well equipped (including wifi), clean and very comfortable - not to mention the awesome view of the water that we awoke to! My only regret is that we did not have more time to spend there. It was a great alternative to Dublin for our last night in Ireland. The drive to the airport was easy and took less than a half hour. We will definitely return to the White Cottages, but hopefully for a longer stay next time! By the way, they have a yummy brown bread recipe on their Facebook page which I used to make bread as soon as I got home - so good!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank er6362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

this place is luxury in the true sense of the word,not chi chi nonsense with swanky mirrors or deep pile carpets,but staying with people who care enough to look after you very well indeed,without being at all intrusive.make no mistake the rooms are fine,but the real treat is the situation,directly on the waterside,sharing your breakfast with seals and dolphins for company has to rate pretty highly in any book.the breakfast has to rate as one of the best around too,good ingredients,freshly cooked and served up with a smile,hard to beat.you would think it simple to achieve,but so few places manage it.save the best for last as they say,in the land of a thousand welcomes you get more than your fair share here,friendly,welcoming,and thoroughly clued up on the area,things to see and do and great recommendations for place to eat.all in all a treat to be treated so well.so thank you very much jackie and joe,and brace yourselves for a return match.if it helps at all we do this for a living,so can appreciate all the work and thought that goes into getting it all so right.thanks again,vincent and coco.(les chambres de coco).

Room Tip: harbour master's room well worth the few extra euros.but room with a sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skerries
3.2 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
782 reviews
10.6 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
15.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,536 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
9.3 mi away
Carnegie Court Hotel
Carnegie Court Hotel
#4 of 7 in Swords
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Cottages

Property: The White Cottages
Address: The White Cottages Balbriggan Road, Skerries, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Skerries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Skerries
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The White Cottages Hotel Skerries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing