We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Bar

Blue Bar
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Skerries
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always busy”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Always busy and they dont take bookings. So if you are prepared for that and can either avoid the peaks or be prepared to wait then its a hot spot on the sea-front. That part of Skerries is a sun-trap in the evenings so a bit of weather and a table outside is probalby as good as it gets. Even though its generally buzzing the staff work hard and the food is good if a little on the pricey side. Casual dining with plenty of atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    171
    102
    61
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

if you get the weather sit outside to eat and look out at the lovely peacful view - food here brilliant eveytime - very busy weekends though but worth the wait..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 142tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average overpriced food, might be nice for just a drink”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I can't understand the food reviews here, I though it was average at best. The worst was a mushroom starter dish my wife got that cost €7.50 I think, it was 6 baby mushrooms on a little dish with a pool of oil, I think it was supposed to have blue cheese on it but no sign.... €7.50?? Really?

The service at other tables seemed to be good with attentive experienced staff, however we got a girl who looked about 15/16 who had no clue. No memory of order, no chat while serving, no drinks offered! Probably not her fault but shouldn't be let near a table without training, maybe to collect glasses. We asked for all the food to be brought together as some people were having starters others having mains but my steak arrived 5 mins after the others had finished their food, it was lukewarm and overcooked.

We didn't know much of Skerries at the time and a couple of people we stopped told us to go to a bar in the town away from the harbour but foolishly we went into the blue bar which had a lot of activity (usually a good sign we thought).

We won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for casual dining”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I loved the view, the decor, the seating, the menu, the service. I have never come out of Blue Bar disappointed

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SueEllen0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just a very good restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Good food, good service, good atmosphere. Make sure you get there before it gets too late though.
Lovely fish dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CMacA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bar also viewed

Skerries, County Dublin
Skerries, County Dublin
 
Skerries, County Dublin
 

Been to Blue Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing