We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Redbank Guest House
Ranked #4 of 7 Skerries B&B and Inns
east
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dreadful place”
Reviewed August 24, 2009

We stayed in a room at top floor.Very hot and was given no fans even though we asked twice,We couldnt open the window as the sea gull birds had distroyed the roof and window sill with poo.The smell was absoutly discusting.I had to ask 3 times for the window to be cleaned..even when it was cleaned the smell remained.
The sea gulls screeched all night and into the morning and pecked at the sky light in our roof.
It was such a terrible stay.Breakfast was dreadful.Staff not friendly and very ignorant.
Will never stay again.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotelstayerEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    36
    19
    15
    13
See reviews for
35
70
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We stayed on our last date in Ireland due to proximity to Dublin airport..approx. 20 min. It was an easy drive from Skerries to the airport, routes were well marked. Hotel/Inn is lovely if a bit confusing to find the entrance. Don't go to the main front "red" door, go to the restaurant entrance and hope that someone greets you. The rooms were excellent!
We had a large king bed, very comfortable and lovely large ensuite bath. In room tea/coffee was also a nice touch. It was a horrible rainy blustery day when we arrived, so we went next door to the bottle shop for a small bottle of whiskey for our tea to warm our sodden souls. Dinner in the evening was quite nice. A bit different ordering your meal before being seated at your table, but it works. The food was delicious, well presented and interesting....Nettle soup, steamed razor clams...different but interesting to try! Great full Irish breakfast in the morning as well! I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dolingv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Ky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed at the Redbank Guest House after a week in Ireland the day before our departure from Dublin. We had wanted a change of scenery after three days in Dublin with a convenient drive to the airport for an early morning departure. The Redbank Guest House is a bed and breakfast attached to a gourmet restaurant owned and operated by Chef McCoy who also owns the inn. The rooms are comfortable and clean while the restaurant is a five star gem. Dinner begins in the sitting room where a waiter takes drink orders and brings menus so that by the time you are escorted to your table your first course is ready to be delivered to your table. The food was delicious and Chef McCoy a very personable and engaging fellow takes time to visit with his guests and makes one feel as if they are his personal guests to his home and restuarant. This is a great place to begin or end a trip to Ireland and my only regret was that we only had a short time to visit as a couple of days would have been veyr pleasant. We would highly recommend.

  • Liked — the adjacent restaurant and convenience to the airport in Dublin
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Reed52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2008

My bother and I stayed here last week. Both of us were tremendously happy with the time we spent at the Red Bank and the hospitality, quality of the rooms, and value for money were memorable.
I regularly stay at hotels around the world and am rarely taken by surprise at the quality of a hotel or inn. In this case I was. The rooms and beds were tremendously comfortable and well attired. The building itself is charming and the location terrific. Our experience with breakfast was excellent as we had the opportunity to briefly meet the professional and friendly staff and enjoy the wonderful food. Our only regret was that we didn't have the opportunity to dine for dinner.
We were raised in Skerries more than 20 years ago and since moved to Canada. This was our first trip back and it was great. The highlight of the trip I would say, was the opportunity to stay in the heart of the town and enjoy the hospitality of the Red Bank. We will be back as soon as we can.

  • Liked — Comfort and staff
  • Disliked — That we had to leave!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Canadaman1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2008

This is a plain jane B&B - we booked for the restaurant reviews. If you have the opportunity to book the "Dinner and B&B Special" be forewarned that there is a significantly smaller i.e. lesser menu attached to this special. If you want to order off of the regular menu you will have to pay for the items 'a la carte' in which case you are better off booking the room separately.... it will work out cheaper in the long run and you will be much happier with your menu options.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBigOr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2008

My husband, two adult children and father-in-law spent our first and last night at the Redbank Guest House in Skerries. It was a WONDERFUL introduction to the country and a great place to spend our last night. The owner, administrative staff, restaurant staff and housekeeping staff were friendly and helpful and made us feel welcomed. I appreciated the cleanliness throughout the establishment. The breakfast menu was one of the best throughout all of the cities we visited and the food very well prepared . Selections on the dinner menu were good and the food was of the highest and freshest quality.

All of us agreed that we would definitely visit again.
SKQ and for G., G., T. & E

  • Liked — cleanliness/friendliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GoGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Dirty, shabby, not well maintained. Staff apolgized, but otherwised did nothing. Stay somewhere else! Booked based on reviews, and it was by far the poorest place we stayed.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Dirt
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank betty98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skerries
3.6 mi away
Bracken Court Hotel
Bracken Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Balbriggan
755 reviews
9.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,464 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Scholars Townhouse Hotel
10.4 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
9.3 mi away
Roganstown Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Redbank Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redbank Guest House

Property: Redbank Guest House
Address: 6-7 Church Street, Skerries, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Skerries
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Skerries
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Redbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Redbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Redbank Guest House Hotel Skerries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing