We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good indeed”
Review of Citywest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citywest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saggart
Northants UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“Very good indeed”
Reviewed August 1, 2008

This is a very good but very big hotel, and was crowded due to some conference thing going on. However this should not deter bookings as the decor, staff, food, facilities are pretty good, even if the weights area of the gym is a tad antiquated.

For the price its a gem.

  • Liked — All of it
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    746
    536
    269
    191
See reviews for
678
586
61
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2008

We spent 3 nights at City West Hotel at a very reasonable price. From the moment we arrived at the hotel we had first class treatment. A porter greets you at the door and the booking in procedure was very quick and efficient. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with a jacuzzi bath in the bathroom as well as a power shower. We ate at the bistro restaurant the first night and the food was very well presented and tasty. The breakfasts were lovely and we had no problem with queuing, etc. The whole aim of our holiday was to play golf and we played on both the Champioship and the Lakes course, both which were very highly maintained and a pleasure to play. Overall I would recommend this hotel and will definitely be going back.

Helpful?
Thank Giglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

we stayed here to see a show which was in the same hotel. We had to get a taxi out to the hotel but I believe you can get a bus which will drop you at the end of a massive drive way - it has helicopters and a golf course which are lovely. it would be very nice place for a wedding reception (we saw 2 wedding parties on our stay here). You feel like a millionnaire as the foyer and the rooms are really nice. Our room was huge and had everything we needed. The bed was comfortable, the room decor very calming and the view was lovely. Cant wait to find an excuse to stay here again!!!

  • Liked — lovely people, surroundings and the show was great
  • Disliked — had to go home!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zippyzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2008

I stayed in this hotel as I attended a conference. It's a tad far out from the city centre if you're relying on public transport or taxis, but the hotel itself is full of life, bars, restaurants and tonnes of people flowing around. It has a great atmosphere and the room I was given in the new Palmerstown wing was absolutely gorgeous. It had the comfiest hotel bed and pillows I have ever experienced. Also free spa and gym facilties for hotel guests is a real plus. The only piece of advice I would give is to make sure you don't leave anything behind at home. Usually when you forget your toothpaste or toothbrush, reception will give you a little travel set to get you by the first night. I forgot my toothpaste and had to buy a small tube in the shop for about 3.50 eur, also I asked if they had a euro to irew/uk adapter plug for my hairdryer and again was invited to buy one from the shop. Then again I suppose its good they have the facility to buy these things should you forget them.

All in all a great experience with friendly staff and a good breakfast.

  • Liked — room, internet facilities and free spa and gym
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeanneDelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Our experience was similar to that of most recent reviewers. This is a very large hotel and golf resort. We spent four days at what was probably a relatively quiet time. Our room was very comfortable - large and well-furnished with a similarly large and well-finished bathroom. The bed was large and the mattress of good quality, although harder then we are accustomed to. The staff were consistently very pleasant and helpful.

We ate in the "bistro" most evenings, where the food was decent but unremarkable, and, it has to be said, quite expensive. Despite searches, we were able to find only two alternatives within even a few miles of the hotel, and both of these were very expensive.

At the last minute we decided to hire a car for our visit, which was very fortunate as this hotel is at the most distant margin of the city. The cost of taxis to and fro would surely be prohibitive for most folks. A tram runs to the centre (40 minute ride) from a suburban shopping centre, but that itself is several miles from the hotel. On the other hand, the hotel is relatively conveniently placed for access to the trunk road system. The car parks are enormous, but mostly at the rear of the hotel. It is quite a long walk to the only entrance at the front of the hotel - and very inconvenient if it happens to be raining as happened frequently during our stay.

I suspect that the central facilities could be overwhelmed by a particularly large convention. They were rather busy on the one day a conference was present during our stay.

  • Liked — Quality of finish
  • Disliked — Distances needed to walk
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John987654321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2008

Stayed at hotel in January whilst attending an exhibition.

Well signposted so easy to find (which made a nice change).

Check in was very simple, staff were friendly and professional.

Plenty of parking - although I think we were lucky as later on it looked as though you would have to park at the back of the hotel which is a bit of a trek at night.

Allocated a twin room in the Palmerstown Wing which was a bit of a walk from the reception but this did not cause us any problems.

Room was clean, well furnished, heating worked, plenty of hot water,bed was comfortable, free internet was a great bonus.

The hotel decoration in general was nothing spectacular but seemed to fit the bill, comfortable and clean.

There was a choice of restaurants but as it was icy cold outside we decided to stay in the main hotel - food was surprisingly good, well presented, good portions, friendly service and reasonable prices considering they had a captive audience.

Live music in the bar was a nice touch to finish the night.

I had to get an emergency dental appointment and the reception staff were extremely helpful in tracking down a dentist and drawing the driving directions (which were spot on). In fact, the doorman was very helpful, got a jug of warm water and then accompanied me to my car to de-ice the windscreen.

It is located a bit out of town but then with the golf course on the doorstep providing lovely views and no real need to go into town it did exactly what it was supposed to do....

I would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel to anyone who is thinking of staying there.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Irishgirlabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillingdon
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2008

Stayed two nights attending an awards function in Feb. All aspects of our stay were well above average. The do itself, breakfasts, dinner in the reataurant on the second night and the bar all night. Good service considering the scale of the place.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saggart
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
424 reviews
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
#2 of 4 in Tallaght
743 reviews
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citywest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citywest Hotel

Property: Citywest Hotel
Address: Garters Lane on the N7, Saggart, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Saggart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saggart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citywest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb location in South Dublin puts you in easy reach of everything from Dublin city centre and airport, each of which is a mere 25 minutes away, to the hills of Wicklow and the plains of Kildare. We even have a Luas light-rail stop on our doorstep, which will take you to the city centre in just 50 minutes. It's the perfect place for a city break and with Ireland's largest choice of conference space, it is the perfect place for your conference, meeting or special occasion. Whatever brings you here, you'll find everything you need on site - a leisure centre with 20 metre pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and an 18 hole golf course designed by the late Christy O'Connor Junior. The newly renovated Woodlock Brasserie and Swift Bars are also available on site for all dining requirements as well as complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citywest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure & Golf Hotel Saggart
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure And Golf Resort
Citywest Hotel Dublin
Citywest Resort Dublin
Citywest Hotel County Dublin, Ireland - Saggart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing