We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, but !!”
Review of Citywest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citywest Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saggart
Mullingar, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, but !!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed for one night. A very busy weekend with a dance competition being held as well as a wedding and bus tours coming and going. Check was very quick and the staff were friendly. The hotel gave us a room which was away from all the mayhem in the Swift Wing. The room was very clean, lovely carpets, curtains and furniture etc. Plenty of "immediate" hot water and very good water pressure. My only small negatives were the lack of bright light in the room, only lamps and a lack of shelving in the bathroom for products, just a tiny glass shelf available in front of a mirror. The only problem I had was doors slamming shut all night in the corridor, the doors are not fitted with slow close hinges and every door in the corridor was heard to slam shut.. not great for a good nights sleep. The breakfast was good and plentiful and staff were very attentive to our table with tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the reception area and any lifts going to higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitywestHotelDublin, Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Kaz8898,

May I offer our sincere thanks to you for your kind review of your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate your time in sharing your experience and are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. Please rest assured that the comments you provided will be addressed to ensure this is improved upon.

If there is anything further I may assist you with, please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Wishing you a fantastic summer!

Kind Regards,

Tristan Jacob
Marketing & Ecommerce Manager
Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre
Saggart, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Hotel: +353 (0)1 401 0500
Email: marketing@citywesthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    746
    536
    269
    191
See reviews for
678
586
61
595
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been to this hotel a few times. The service has always been good and the rooms are okay. I don't like the fact that there is no wireless internet in the rooms. Get that and I will go from 3 to 4 stars.

Room Tip: This is a BIG hotel. If you have problems moving around get one close to the breakfast room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoivold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I booked a room in this hotel with 2 single beds on 5/3/'13 for the Irish National Dancing Championships (10th-12th May). When I booked & quoted Irish Dancing I got a price of €160 for 1 adult & 1 child B+B, but when we were checking out we were charged €176 & I showed the man my booking reference & price but he wasn't interested he just wanted me to pay & go because there was a Q behind me for check in. The bathroom sink was dirty around the taps and there was a stink smell of vomit, the tiles around the sink were all dried soap/tooth paste. We went to the restaurant for a meal on thursday evening and we were surprised when our order was taken by a girl she just went to the kitchen door & another came out with our dinner, the child didn't eat much of his sausages ( like rubber) & chips were cold & I got the homemade burger & chips, the burger was tasteless with 2 small leaves of lettuce & a drop of dressing on it, chips were cold so we left our meal behind us & paid €25.05 for crap, nobody wanted to know if everything was ok, just interested in taking our money. The market burger van did fabulous burgers & chips in the grounds of the hotel & that is where we got our food on Friday & Saturday & it didn't cost as much. The staff in the breakfast room were fast at serving & nice & helpful. Overall very disappointed with the hotel & service. Manners wouldn't go astray with some of the men at the check in desk.

Room Tip: Rooms in the swift wing were nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CitywestHotelDublin, Manager at Citywest Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Martina O,

May I offer our sincere thanks for your time in provide us with you feedback regarding your recent stay.

I would like to offer our sincere apologies that your stay did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Please rest assured that the feedback you have provided will be addressed to ensure this is improved upon.

Should you have the opportunity to discuss you visit further, I would be most grateful if you would email me at marketing@citywesthotel.com.

Kind Regards,

Tristan Jacob
Marketing Manager
Citywest Hotel, Conference & Event Centre
Tel: +353 1 401 0581
Email: marketing@citywesthotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saggart hotels

dublin
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have stayed in Citywest Hotel a few times now and decided it was time we gave it a review.The whole family(5) stayed for one night in May but we have stayed for longer.The family rooms are large and very adequate for a family of five.They are clean,well laid out and comfortable.If you can afford it i would recommend going for a family SUITE,its a little bit more expensive but we found it well worth it and the children loved it.
From the minute you walk in the door there is a friendly atmosphere,from the continous smiles on the concierge faces to the helpfullness and professionalism of the receptionists/desk clerks to the cleanliness of the housekeepers,even when really really busy.This is apparently the biggest hotel in Ireland,there was appx 1500 irish dancers,3000 people at the conference centre,using hotel amenities,and then another few thousand guests for other functions etc and yet one of my family noted that each time they dealt with staff they felt almost like they were the only people staying in the hotel such was the attention they were given.
The bedrooms are kinda far away from reception,bar and restaurants etc but that can be a plus for some and a minus others.
The leisure club is quite large and well run with great facilities for adults,from the 20m heated indoor pool to the jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and a heated caldarium (what ever that is).Children are also allowed use the pool which is great for a bit of family fun.
Right now they have a wonderful hairdressers(Angel Hairdressing and beauty rooms) located in the health and leisure centre which i can personally say has a great barber.
i am not a golfer but by all accounts the golf course is as good as any in Ireland and it looks it,really well kept.
Our family have had a few functions at Citywest and down to the last person we have all complimented the events manager and the whole team,the are so nice and professional that they alone have been the cause of our return to Citywest.
The hotel is well serviced by local buses,taxis and Dublins Light rail system "the luas" all near by.
Over all a fantastic hotel,wonderful surroundings and great staff,i hope you enjoy it as much as we did and will do in the future.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for help to suit you and your group/family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennis o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Nothing to write home about. I've stayed in better places for less money. Coffee in room is good, but fresh brewed not available until 7:30 ish. Hard, thin pillows. No top sheets. Long walls to anything.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel over the May bank holiday weekend the hotel wasvery busy andbhad a nice buzz about the place. The rooms were enormous and very nice but one downside was that the rooms were so far away which is to be be expected as its the largest hotel in Ireland, but one of the lifts to the floors were out of service, which made it awkward to get to your room eitb 2 big suitcases. Other than that the hotel was fantastic asbwas the breakfast. Highly recommend it onto family

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmcgrenra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night last March, a Saturday night. This Hotel came to prominence during the Celtic Tiger era. The name given to the period in Ireland when certain people thought or believed they had money. Others with trades such as carpenters, blocklayers one day, became big developers the next after meeting with their Bank Managers that told them there was plenty of money to buy land and property and develope it. In 2008 it transpired that it was all only on paper and now those of us that worked hard and paid our way find ourselves paying for this. Lots of Hotels and businesses that owe large amounts of money are now run by an organisation set up by the Government so that the people that caused the debt in the first place are still paid fat cat wages. While again we fork out for it. However, back to our stay here. Easy to get to from M50 take M7 south and it's outside Dublin. Set in very nice grounds it is an impressive and big building, seems to have ample parking. Holds lots of conferences and has the space. We arrived about lunch time, place was crowded Had to wait about half hour for our room because of our early arrival. Finding your room can be an ordeal as it is somewhat a maze and numberings are peculiar and confusing. Room was spacious and clean on 1st.floor which here is the ground floor. We left to go into town walking about 15 minutes out front gate turning left and then right to Luas station, the light rail system, takes you directly into city centre. After our day out took the same system back again. This time we took the Tallagh tram and changed at Belgard, you must watchout for this. The last tram at night goes direct to Citywest. The bars were busy with musical entertainment, would not set the world alight but did suffice for bar entertainment. We found seats had a couple of drinks and retired for the night. Had good nights sleep. Slept late next morning and did not have breakfast. Cannot comment on food but believe breakfast cost about 15 euro. A little expensive I would have though. Check out was efficient. At a cost of 69.00 euro this was very good value. However, I doubt that during the so called boom you would stay for this amount or indeed join the Golf membership as I can recall now, is very inexpensive. Would stay again but a little out of town for us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJHanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saggart
KingsWood Hotel Citywest
#1 of 1 in Kingswood
424 reviews
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
Maldron Hotel Tallaght
#2 of 4 in Tallaght
743 reviews
Red Cow Moran's Hotel
#4 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citywest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citywest Hotel

Property: Citywest Hotel
Address: Garters Lane on the N7, Saggart, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Saggart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Saggart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Citywest Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 774
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our superb location in South Dublin puts you in easy reach of everything from Dublin city centre and airport, each of which is a mere 25 minutes away, to the hills of Wicklow and the plains of Kildare. We even have a Luas light-rail stop on our doorstep, which will take you to the city centre in just 50 minutes. It's the perfect place for a city break and with Ireland's largest choice of conference space, it is the perfect place for your conference, meeting or special occasion. Whatever brings you here, you'll find everything you need on site - a leisure centre with 20 metre pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam room and an 18 hole golf course designed by the late Christy O'Connor Junior. The newly renovated Woodlock Brasserie and Swift Bars are also available on site for all dining requirements as well as complimentary parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Citywest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure & Golf Hotel Saggart
Citywest Hotel, Conference, Leisure And Golf Resort
Citywest Hotel Dublin
Citywest Resort Dublin
Citywest Hotel County Dublin, Ireland - Saggart

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing