We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B that we highly recommend!”
Review of Moat Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moat Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Lucan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We had a really nice week at Moat Lodge B&B!

The rooms were clean, the breakfast was good and the owners very friendly and helpful.
Good location as well with a few minutes walk to restaurants and bars.
We will absolutely stay here next time we're golfing in Dublin!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calleoberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 101 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2013

Had a very nice stay at Moat Lodge. Great service, nice breakfast and perfect location. Short drive to excellent golfcourses and a few minutes walk to restaurants/bars.
I would recommend this Bed & Breakfast to any group/family!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BilJes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this warm and cosy b n b.we needed to stay close to finnstown and location wise this establishment was perfect. We received a friendly welcome upon arrival and couldnt fault the Irish breakfast the following morning .We stayed for one night and felt it offered good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

'she' is a he and your bed linen was not fresh and crisp.

I stand by all of the content in my original review. I accept that the check out time was 10am but do not feel that it was dealt with in a courteous, professional manner.

E. MacGrianna

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_Tourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Location is fine if you are staying in Lucan. The rooms were average at best. My beds linen did not seem to be fresh. Found the owners to be quite rude on morning I left. More or less booted me out at 10am. Door was closed in my face when I requested a receipt from the reception. Will not be returning. Pity as I was planning on using on a regular basis. I'll be staying in the liffey valley clarion for the sake of an extra few bob. Their loss. Surprised that other reviews are positive. Hope they are genuine.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irish_Tourist77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krustacean, Owner at Moat Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Even after 10 years in the business and knowing that we can't always please everyone - we're still disappointed when people aren't completely satisfied with their stay at Moat Lodge.

This guest was asked to leave at our publicised checkout time because we had a pre-arranged appointment. She was a bit put out so proceeds to get her own back by referring to a nearby hotel in her review and making up stories about unclean linen. A lot of B&B's wash their own sheets - but ours have always been professionally laundered and will always be crisp and spotless.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I absolutly loved my stay at the Moat!
The family room was great and the surroundings were peaceful.
reception was 110% friendly and breakfeast was great. We had an early departure and breakfeast was served a bit sooner then ususal.
All in all, if I´m in the area, I won´t think twice about where I would stay the night.
Thanks for the wonderful reception of four Finnish travelers who were desperate for a B&B.
I´m just sorry we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I loved my stay in Moat Lodge B&B! I stayed at the B&B for five nights and the owners were ever-so-helpful from the get-go! If I had any problems, such as the wifi not working, they'd try and fix with me. If I had a question where something was or how to get somewhere, they were willing to guide me the right way! The breakfast was very nice, the room was tidied every morning while I was enjoying my breakfast and just overall a pleasant start of my move to Ireland. I had such a great experience while there!

Moat Lodge is in a quiet location, and I didn't have any disturbances of neighboring visitors even when it was full! I'd highly recommend this B&B for anyone who is looking for a quiet stay, near Dublin.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
1.1 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
344 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
685 reviews
5.6 mi away
Glashaus Hotel
Glashaus Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tallaght
593 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aspect Hotel Dublin Parkwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moat Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moat Lodge

Address: Adamstown Road, Lucan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lucan
Price Range: $96 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Moat Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome to Moat Lodge, a 17th century property in a mature sylvan setting, yet only a stone's throw from Lucan Village. What may not be obvious from an external appraisal is the excellent degree of space provided inside, with all bedrooms complete with en-suites. Tranquility reigns with an award-winning garden accessed from the guest sitting room and is a delight to behold. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Moat Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing