We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$216
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$131
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Castleknock Hotel(Castleknock)(Great Value!)
$242
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moat Lodge(Lucan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerstown Lodge(Palmerstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,074)
Filter reviews
1,074 results
Traveler rating
478
327
147
57
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
478
327
147
57
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggarden suitelong drivewaycountry housepeacock restaurantleisure centredrawing roomwedding venuebar foodbeautiful hotelsteam roomfamily rooman overnight staydublin cityfollowing morningstayed here for one nightfull irish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
784 - 789 of 1,074 reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We took our three boys here for a wee mid week break away. They loved it. The staff couldn't be any more helpful. They informed us of local parks and attractions to take our three boys and help with directions. Food at the hotel was really lovely and nicely presented. Breakfast was suburb everything you could possibly want was on offer and nothing was too much trouble for the very friendly staff. Family room was quite spacious which is always a bonus when staying with children and they can move around and play a game in he evening. I most certainly will be returning and have and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here on a Young at Heart deal which included two dinners, three breakfasts and an afternoon tea on arrival. The afternoon tea was almost a meal in itself and was very neatly presented. As we were eating out with family on two nights we asked if we could combine the two dinners in one and invite friends to share. This proved to be no problem and the food that night in the Peacock Restaurant was delicious. Breakfast was also very filling and we had it twice in the room. That proved to be pricey at eight euro a head.
We were occupying one of the golf suites and, although comfortable, it had seen better days. Vegetation from outside was creeping through the door and the TV reception was poor.
Service was friendly but not always efficient. Problems with drinks and with the final bill were resolved in a courteous manner. Would we stay here again? Yes.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Conor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had our Civil Partnership here in October 2011. From the start the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They helped with all aspects of organising it, even ensuring specific requests were accommodated.

From our first meeting with Vera, she put us totally at ease and gave us complete confidence in her and the hotel.

The venue itself is fantastic for a function, it is nicely separate from the main hotel but still part of it. We had our ceremony and then the meal. It was really nice not to have to travel anywhere after the ceremony. The hotel, both inside and oustide, lends itself beautifully to photographs.

The meal was just superb, all our guests thoroughly enjoyed it and many of them came back to the restaurant in the months after!

We had 80 people at our ceremony & meal and the venue was a beautiful size. The function room has a couple of different partitions, but they are very nicely done and you really wouldn't notice them.

We returned on our first anniversary where we were treated to bed & breakfast as well as a beautiful meal in the restaurant. We were warmly welcomed back. Many of the staff appear to have been there for years, which says a lot for both the hotel and the staff.

We can thoroughly recommend Finnstown House. A true gem.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Lovely place to stay. Rooms a bit dated but very spacious and clean.It was also very quiet at night.
Staff are very friendly especially in the Peacock Restaurant.
Breakfast was a good buffet. Staff were willing to help with everything and cook pancakes or poached eggs if required.
We had the early bird dinner for €20 for two courses and it was good value and good food. Wine was a tad expensive by the glass.

Room Tip: We stayed in a two storey bulding across from the main building and it was so quiet at night.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnM06022011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I recently dined in their restaurant. I had the early bird menu. My two friends had steaks, when served there was ABSOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCEBETWEEN MEDIUM REAR & MEDIUM. All of the meals were equally medicore. the vegtables were overcooked. It was quite disappointing & not worth the trip. Good wine,reasonable prices & lovely location - BUT D'ONT BOTHER. There is a lot better out there.

Room Tip: Restaurant review only
Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank TomasLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to the Peacock Restaurant. I'm sorry your were dissapointed with your meal. We would love to see you return some time in the near future and give our Peacock Restaurant a second chance. Please contact myself personaly in advance and I will be happy to arrange your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews