We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed here with my partner and young son for one night it was a beautiful hotel in a lovely setting just a 20min drive from Dublin city centre. The room was lovely and very clean . Good choices for food and lots of amenities close by. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisam985_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    289
    122
    39
    54
See reviews for
249
378
15
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here several times for business. They staff are excellent, always welcomed me by name, couldnt do enough to help. Always friendly and courteous. Food in restaurant is excellent and huge portions. Breakfast is always a treat, and I often hear the waiting staff talking to the guests about their plans for their visit, and recommending places they should go and see. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Their suits are fabulous too, with separate living and sleeping rooms. Highly recommended. Grounds of the hotel are so beautiful and amazing venue for weddings. Cannot fault the place one bit. I would seriously recommend to everyone to stay here if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecebloom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is situated on the outskirts off dublin city. It comprises of the main hotel and accomodation blocks. We stayed in an apartment of the main building and found it to be of a high standard. Room had fridge, kettle, and microwave. There is a shop, bar and a very tasty chinese restaurant close by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tyronetheduffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We ate in the Peacock restraunt on mothers day this year.
I have to say the food was very nice but the service at the table was very poor.
We felt very rushed to be finished our meal so the table could be ready for the second sitting even though we were early. We would eat again here but not on a day like mothers day

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wolstan321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Have been meaning to let everyone know how brilliant the hotel was on the occasion of the wedding of my son and his beautiful new wife. The Manager, Sylvano, was excellent both before the event and during the reception. The hotel was splendidly decorated for the Christmas, the food and the service excellent. Breakfast next morning was served by smiling and courteous staff.
Rooms spacious and comfortable. An all over great experience

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AileenMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My partner and I purchased a deal via TravelZoo for an overnight stay, evening meal, bottle of wine & breakfast at Finnstown. And after reading numerous recent positive reports on Tripadvisor we were looking forward to our stay. We arrived early on Saturday evening to experience a lovely drive along the beautiful entrance avenue to reach the main hotel, which had very ample parking available. We parked and made our way inside, towards reception which, somewhat unusually, is not located right at the entrance but along a hallway and to the right. However, our appetite was whetted as we made our way past large, well-established, warm open fires and doorways to a bar & seating area. You can imagine our disappointment when the gentleman behind the desk presented us with our room keys and then told us we were in an accommodation block outside this building. We followed his directions and retraced our steps back out through the front door and over an uncovered, unheated 20m walkway to an accommodation block. We swiped in to be presented with a very conventional accommodation area. The decor looked weary and the chaise longue had pieces of fabric hanging limply off of it. We climbed the stairs to the first floor to follow the unusual room numbering system of the 200's being immediately beside our room 110. We swiped in and entered a fairly spacious dull, poorly lit room. There was one dim low-energy light in the middle of the ceiling and two peculiarly positioned stained-glass panels also there. There were bedside lamps and a writing desk lamp that offered additional lighting. The queen-sized double bed & wardrobe were functional with additional pillows available. We used the tea making facilities, as well as the iron & ironing board, and hair drier. The bathroom room was basic but functional and, most importantly, the room, bed & bathroom were clean. However, similar to our initial impression of dreariness, the wallpaper was peeling off at the corner of a number of strips, it was torn beside the headboard and it looked like a light fitting had been removed beside the bed but the rawlplug holes hadn't been filled in or covered. So - overall - we were disappointed with the room.

However, when we went for our meal we were in the Peacock Room in the main hotel. It was a bit of a cold trapse back over the main building but we were quickly shown to our table and placed our food order. These arrived very quickly. My partner had goats cheese which she said was absolutely delicious. I had the battered prawns and these were well cooked but quite bland with no real taste to them. More texture than anything else. Our waiter asked us would we like to have anything to drink and we said that we had purchased a TravelZoo offer which included a bottle of wine. He then told us that we couldn't have it with our meal. It was to be drunk in our room only. I told him there was no wine in our room and he said he would arrange this for us & took our room number. To cut the the chase, no wine was brought to our room & no other member if staff mentioned it to us at all - so we never got it. Our main courses arrived and were absolutely delicious. My partner had roast duckling in orange sauce & I had sirloin steak in peppercorn sauce with garlic mushrooms. We ordered two side dishes of mixed veg and garlic roast potatoes. The veg was delicious but the potatoes had no garlic on them. We highlighted this to the waiter who took them away & returned a few minutes later with a lump of garlic butter sitting on top of our now lukewarm baby roast potatoes which, ultimately, we could not eat. For dessert I had pavlova and my partner had cheesecake - both of which were well-presented and delicious. We sat on for a while after our meal with tea & coffee chatting and then made our way back out and over to our room. As previously mentioned, our room was immediately at the entrance to the first floor and this meant that it was a bit noisy outside with people moving to & from their rooms to the main hotel building and back again.

When we awoke the next morning it became apparent that the stained glass panels in the ceiling were actually cosmetic covers for skylights and these certainly lifted the light levels in the room from the dimness of the night before. Without these the only daylight entering the room was from a tiny window tucked away in the far right hand corner.

Breakfast was ample, with a good selection of cereals, fruit juices & cooked breakfast ingredients. Tea & coffee were served to our table but all the food was self service. The queues for the hot food were a bit of a cattle market to be honest. Toast was supplied from a traditional 8-slice toaster that was extremely slow with the result that there were a lot of people just milling around there waiting for their toast or just giving up waiting and walking away. About 5' away was the queue for bacon, sausages, eggs, etc. and this was a real bottle neck as it was so busy the containers rapidly became empty & people were waiting for more eggs or hash browns and, when these did come, there was a mad rush to get these causing chaos in the otherwise orderly queue.

Once we finished our breakfast we returned to our room where we packed and then I went to settle our bill and check out. The lady behind the counter just presented me with our bill, never asked did we enjoy our stay or experience any problems & never gave me a farewell or said she hoped we would stay there again sometime.

In conclusion this review would have probably been lower except for the meal on Saturday evening. The room location was poor & the room decor was way too dreary.

Room Tip: Make sure and stay in the main hotel building
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LordSoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
multicoloured
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My sister had her Wedding reception at Finnstown last week and everyone who attended commented on what a lovely hotel it is. Sylvano was very helpful and it was much appreciated when he met the shivering bridesmaids (me included!) with champagne at the door after we got our photos taken on the spectacular grounds. Only downside was the breakfast the next morning..there is a good selection but the sausages/rashers/beans etc failed the taste test. However the lunch menu is great and the whole place has a nice atmosphere whether you're there for an event or just popping in for a drink/meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank multicoloured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,745 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing