We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many places like Finnstown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Needham, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not many places like Finnstown”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at Finnstown with our 5 year old son for a week in one of the "Residences", which was like a one bedroom apartment. It was perfect for us, the bedroom was separated by the hallway of the suite so were able to get our son to bed early and we could watch TV without him being disturbed. The suite was clean, simple, very functional and comfortable. We had a patio door so we had access to the outside directly from our room (fantastic with kids!) The grounds are stunning, my son was happy to walk around what he called the "Enchanted Forest", and he loved spotting the peacocks on the grounds. The pool was great too, and betwen the pool and the grounds (and the second TV in the bedroom!), my son did not get bored. We did not get a chance to eat at the restaurant much, but we tried the afternoon tea one time and it was scrumptious! It was so cozy sitting in such a grand room with the fire blazing and so much history around us. The staff - where to begin?! They could not do enough for us, one evening we were having snacks at the bar and one of the deskstaff came over with a stack of Star Wars coloring pages she had printed off for our son, along with colored pencils and a promise she would bring him more from her home! And when we were leaving, one of the housekeeping staff insisted on helping us with our bags. This is the sort of service you don't even expect to get anymore these days, and we really appreciated it. Thanks for a great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    294
    126
    44
    56
See reviews for
256
387
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Just back from our second stay at the Finnstown and looking forward to the next one!!
Check in was very quick and efficient. We stayed this time in the Golfers Suites as we took our dog with us. Suite was lovely, very clean and spacious and had everything needed including a fridge.
The staff are all so friendly and helpful especially Freda in the dinning room who remembered us from our last visit.
We have already recommended the Finnstown House Hotel to all our family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed in many place in dublin over the years and have to say the Finnstown Country House is the best by far, rooms were wonderful far bigger than I would have thought, the food was beautiful and the staff were amazing. I can honestly say I could'nt fault the place and would recommend it to anyone. Yes it is a little futher out of Dublin city centre but was nice to be able to get away from the hustle and bustle after busy days and just relax. The ground are great for just walking and the sound of the peacocks in the morning even though we didnt actually see them was lovely.

Room Tip: A little bit outside Dublin centre but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babathia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just back from a weekend break in Finnstown House, had a lovely relaxing stay, the food was lovely and the staff were lovely especially the young people working there, one complaint I would have is a middle age gentleman working behind the bar on the Friday and Saturday night he was very rude too people.. But other then that would recommend hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kilkenny_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had lunch here today with my wife.we just had main courses in the lounge.my wife had fresh beer battered cod which was very fresh and tasty.i had the guinness steak pie full of meat and flavour.we look forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prackley53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Just had two nights at the Finnstown Country House Hotel with my wife on 2 & 3 January.

This is not a modern hotel but it is a lovely quaint building, with beautiful decor and tastefully well furnished throughout. Our room was inside the main building and proved to be warm and extremely comfortable.

We had a Travel Zoo package which included dinner one night. All the food was amazing and the dinner (and breakfast) was as good as I have ever had in a hotel setting. The staff were very helpful and attentive. On the first morning at breakfast, the manager came over and introduced himself and asked if we were comfortable. This was a nice much which was much appreciated.

The reception staff were also very good. They printed off a bus timetable which we were able to use to catch a bus into and out of Dublin city centre. The bus-stop was conveniently located at the end of the hotel avenue. (Ten minutes walk)

Overall therefore, Finnstown is a very pleasant and well-managed hotel which we enjoyed visiting very much.

A couple of points to be objective which I would wish to make. The hotel is well to the west of Dublin and getting into the city centre is best done by public bus which takes a full hour for the journey. You must have the correct change in coins when boarding the bus as the collecting machinery will not accept notes. As we had no coins - having just arrived from Northern Ireland, the driver was able to tightly roll up my five-euro note and get it to fit. So, full marks to him. We had the same problem coming back and a different driver contacted his base and arranged for us to travel back free of charge. We did not avail of this because we stayed on a little longer in the city and eventually got the necessary change. I must salute Dublin Transport for making the effort to help us out. Well done to them!

Anyway back to Finnstown Country House, it is situated in lovely grounds and far enough back from the roads to ensure peace and quiet. The peacock was a fascinating curiosity. It was so tame I think it was there on a 'bed and breakfast' deal.

I agree with the previous comments about the leisure centre. Please wash the floors in the gents' changing rooms. The pool itself was lovely as was the steam room.

In summary, we really enjoyed the Finnstown Country House and will return again.

Room Tip: If using the bus, bring a good supply of Euro coins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked Finnstown for our wedding party of 13 people on New Year's Eve. We had our reception at a private venue and wanted to treat them to a nice night with breakfast in bed and a group lunch the next day as a thank you for all the help in getting ready for our big day.

With that in mind we had visited Finnstown twice to look at the rooms and arrange all the details to ensure it all ran smoothly as we would be arriving late and wanted an effortless night.

However,

1. The rooms we were shown on two occasions were not the rooms our group we allocated on the night. Instead of being roomed together we were spread out between the hotel, the apartments and the outside building.

2. The luggage we dropped over the day before was not in our rooms as we had previously arranged, again, trying to make it all as effortless as possible for our guests. Not only that but the night staff hadn't been informed so an hour was wasted at the end of a very long day trying to find the luggage.

3. Room service of a full Irish breakfast was arranged for half nine for each guest. It never appeared as kitchen staff had not been informed of our request. This had all been arranged in person and followed up by email. Having rang down to check on behalf of our guests we eventually got breakfast nearly an hour later.

4. All the keycards stopped working at noon despite all our guests having a late checkout. This lead to two of our guests being locked out of their rooms one in night clothes. Not so bad except they were in the outside building and had to run across to reception to get the cards reissued.

Had any one of our pre-arranged requests fallen through we would have accepted that but given everything we had spoken about and confirmed by email had not been relayed to the appropriate staff it led to a messy and tainted experience.

It was an incredibly special night and we trusted Finnstown House to look after us and our 11 guests accordingly.

On checkout we were advised to contact the reservations manager Edwina whom we had dealt with before settling our bill. She apologised and took the cost of the breakfasts off our bill and offered us a dinner for two at the hotel for again. Given that we were a group of 13 this seemed to fall a little short. We forwarded our complaints to the general manager with no reply.

On the plus side the grounds and the hotel are simply beautiful. We awoke to a peacock looking in our window which was amazing. The room was plush although the carpets need replacing and the lunch the next day was fantastic. Service here could be improved also, some orders were mixed up and we had to seat ourselves after waiting for some time. I'd normally not care but it was pattern at this stage.

It is such a shame that a gorgeous hotel is let down so so badly by its service.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank EndaWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinnstownHotel, Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments,
As discussed on our telephone conversation some weeks ago I can only apologise for the mix up made with your bookings and the inconvience this caused to yourself and your guests on arrival back to Finnstown that night and the next morning for breakfast and departure.
This is not how Finnstown normally carries out our Business and I have looked into the problems which occured and spoken to the relevent people involved.
Once again please accept my apologies for the errors on our behalf and the inconvience.
I do hope this does not stop you returing to Finnstown again in the future
Regards
Barry Manager, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,893 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
422 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
323 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing