We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
scotland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“wonderful setting”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel and it is truly impressive as you drive up towards it. The grounds are beautiful with a fountain and decorative features that make this the ideal wedding venue. We were very impressed.
We slept in the Golf Suites that are just beside the main hotel as we had a dog. It was a big suite with a lounge area, en-suite and kitchen area too. The back door opened out onto the grounds which were ideal for us with our dog.
The decor is quite tired and could do with up-dating including the TV but it didnt put us off.
We had food in the main hotel from the bar menu as the restaurant menu seemed very limited and over-priced. What we had was fine but nothing to write home about. The service was good and friendly.
This hotel is a good location from Dublin. It is easy to find and is just off the N4. It was good value for money and we would visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weefee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    298
    128
    45
    57
See reviews for
264
393
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We got a deal through Travelzoo and we were delighted with our overnight stay. The hotel is just off the dual Lucan carriageway and is easy to find. Don't worry about local surroundings as it adds a local pub and a nearby shopping centre. The hotel itself is well protected from suburbia by a long driveway. The main lobby and reception has a pleasant old world atmosphere and the staff are really friendly. The room was not exceptional but very comfortable and clean - free wifi. We had a lovely meal and a great bottle of wine accompanied by music from a pianist. Breakfast was very good - well stocked buffet. Dublin centre about 20 mins drive. Highly recommended if you want to be out of the city centre. Oh, and the peacocks do roam around the front!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgieB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

My son got married in the Finnstown House yesterday and the happy couple & guests could not have asked for more. The staff were so helpful and were willing to do anything to help the happy couple, our families, friends & guests to make this a wonderful & extremely joyous occasion. The gardens offered a beautiful setting for photos and the lovely nooks @ crannies in the hotel made for some lovely, relaxed pictures. The wedding was in the hotel itself, and from the previous day, when many guests arrived through to the evening after the wedding, the staff did everything in their power to make everyone feel welcome and relaxed. Overall it is a fantastic hotel. We could not have asked for better. All our guests thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Thanks to all the staff who gave us such a memorable day - reception staff, bar & restaurant staff, room cleaning staff & especially the events manager, who was constantly at hand to ensure the brides wishes were realised.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Another beautiful old estate house converted into a boom time hotel. The setting is lovely once you get through the gates, but the location in Adamstown is hardly an idyll. It is not particulary convenient to Dublin or the Countryside, but it is handy for my office, so we have meetings there.

The furnishings and decor look tired, and seem to have seen better days. The staff are all eastern europeans, as with all these "zombie" hotels. Service is pleasant. Food is only passable.

Fine if you are attending something in the locality, but all in all, there are better options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I visited Finnstown House today for a light lunch and what a disappointment.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and you really feel like you are in the middle of the country. The entrance to the hotel was impressive.

We wandered around for a few minutes looking to see where lunch was served because there was no signs. We settled for a well decorated drawing room on the right after the entrance. It's a pity I cant say the same for the Christmas tree that somebody attempted to decorate. Attempt being the operative word. The tree looked sad and resembled something left over after a bad New Years party.

The food itself. Well we never got to find out. We went on another wander to find service. Eventually a duty manager appeared who sent out somebody to us. We asked what the soup of the day was and he was unsure so off he went to check. In the meantime another waiter appeared and when asked about the soup he responded 'it's veg, I think, well it's been veg for the last few days!' So we sent him off to check too.

With this the original waiter reappeared with the bad news that it was butternut squash soup, with the arrival of the second waiter a discussion about what soup it was and wasn't started so we decided to play it safe and order two sandwiches.

Grand, we thought, out came the cup of tea, on an oversized saucer that would be lovely for tea and cake and a glass of water. Twenty minutes later I'm thinking it's time to check on the food when the first waiter appeared with a development - there was no chicken - twenty minutes to tell us there was no chicken for the sandwich! I paid for the tea and left.

The hotel was busy but in my opinion this in no excuse for the poor level of service we received, especially in this day and age when hotels are fighting for business.

Despite the nice surroundings and the old fashioned decor, which I like, I will not be returning to this hotel based on my experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oregand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinnstownHotel, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your visit on Saturday to Finnstown House. I apologise most sincerely for the poor level of service you received. Having completed a full investigation corrective action has been taken to ensure a return to the normal level of service you and I would expect of a three star hotel. We strieve to offer a friendly, efficient service in comfortable sourroundings we failed to deliver in your case and for this I am truly sorry.
I sincerely hope you will return and please ask for me. Once again my apologies for our shortcomings.
Your Sincerely
Barry Manager, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in a 'golf suite' a few minutes walk fro the main building.
The room includes a mini kitchen with fridge, sink and microwave. The room was spacious, with a back door that opened onto the grounds. If you wanted to be critical, the furniture and furnishings are practical rather than classy and the TV set up is from years past, but this was of no concern to us.
The setting and grounds are really lovely - every bit the country house with a long carriage drive, peacocks strolling around, peaceful.
The dining and breakfast experiences were very good and we were even able to have a very early breakfast in the dining room so they really do go the extra mile for guests. The staff very friendly, charming and helpful are were a mix of local irish staff and some from Europe.
In the evening a pianist entertains the dining guests. Personally, we would have preferred a performance that was true to the way the music was originally written rather than the improvised interpretation which was an irritating at times, but it is still nice to dine listening to a live piano.
The hotel is in easy reach of Dublin and to the motorway network with amble parking so a good choice for those on a motoring holiday.
We would certainly stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheElvesofFelsted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

stayed in one of the rooms in the annex across from the hotel, room was spacious, clean and warm. Lovely and quite. Had an excellent breakfast and staff very friendly and helpful. the grounds are very well kept and its a beautiful setting. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,974 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,393 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
1.1 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
332 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing