We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel in a wonderful setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finnstown Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a wonderful setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

stayed in one of the rooms in the annex across from the hotel, room was spacious, clean and warm. Lovely and quite. Had an excellent breakfast and staff very friendly and helpful. the grounds are very well kept and its a beautiful setting. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobbitDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    280
    120
    36
    52
See reviews for
240
364
15
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as it was on a deal we got from the internet. It was a nice hotel with peacocks living on the grounds which was cool. Rooms were a bit cold when we first arrived. Staff very helpful amd friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portadown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just back from a two night stay at the Finnstown Country House,we had a brilliant time.hotel was beautiful,immaculate and food fantastic! Staff were extremely helpful and very pleasant. Freda was especially friendly and helpful,nothing any trouble! Highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Returned from Finnstown CHH on Tues 30th Oct, having spent 3 nights there as a family over the weekend. Our family room was located in an annex across from the hotel (short, pleasant stroll across the gardens) and have to say we were pleasantly surprised with the size of the room. Massive king-size bed, 2 singles for our 2 kids. Tastefully decorated and clean. Wall mounted flat screen tv. No wi-fi, but cabled for internet access. Wi-fi available in main house.
Bathroom ok - small, clean but functional for a family. Nice and quiet location in annex (beside fitness suite and pool) as main hotel could be noisy at times - a couple of functions on and kids running about over the weekend. This didn't bother us considering we had our kids away with us, but if you want a very quiet, romantic break....at least our kids could let their hair down without annoying anyone else. We didn't use leisure facilities so can't comment. Surrounding gardens/grounds beautiful - great for walking off culinary excesses!
Breakfast and bar food excellent. Good quality, delicious food. Good portions. Even could have freshly made pancakes for breakfast - so scrummy! Freda, one of the waiting staff was very obliging and chatty - staff were all attentive and friendly. Decor of main hotel very ornate in keeping with a period house - lots of original features and lovely open fires.
Took a day trip by car to Blanchardstown Shopping Centre - shopaholic heaven! Possible to take bus/train into Dublin if don't want to take the car.
All in all we had a pleasant, relaxing stay at Finnstown and would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cazmuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights during the summer of 2012 - with 5 kids including twin babies the Finnstown had its work cut out with us. They gave us a large room away from the main building with cots for the babies. The hotel is a beautiful building with wonderful grounds and ample parking. The staff were excellent and very helpful - including sorting us out with weetabix for the baby's supper. Breakfast was great and bar/food good.

We had a great time so I don't like to be negative but if I had to nit pick I would say the pool and gym are a little small. Internet access is very poor and we found when leaving the hotel the immediate vicinity didn't have much for families being a residential area.

We must have been pretty demanding customers (with 5 young kids) and the staff at Finnstown made our stay very enjoyable. Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thep0stman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this hotel for a romantic relaxed weekend break and it was the perfect location and hotel. Breakfast and dinner were delicious, staff were fantastic and the bar had a great atmosphere. Will definitely return with our child to take advantage of the walks and leisure facilities

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisandJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I went to the Hotel for the lunch and evening following a christening. Food was wonderful, staff were attentive. Hotel has some wonderful grounds and has really inviting decor. Nice big roaring fire greets you as you arrive.

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Summers0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,573 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.3 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.2 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing