We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“never lost it's touch.”
Review of The Guinea Pig

The Guinea Pig
Ranked #11 of 25 Restaurants in Dalkey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $78
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: the restaurant opened in 1957 and is run by the stewart family since 1978 ,chef prop mervyn stewart,we specialise in fresh fish,beef lamb chicken duck and pork,80%fish ,on average 10 types daily,menus early bird from e20 4 course dinner including a bottle of wine e 90 per couple, full a la carte , full licence, situated in the beautiful medieval town of dalkey on the coast not far south of dublin city 40 paces from the d,a,r,t, We have recieved from tripadvisor a certificate of excellence for exceptional traveller ratings over the past year.Thanks to all who have taken time to write reviews good and not so goodit helps to keep me on the ball/.Mervyn stewart ,chef prop.Since 1977.
County Kerry
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“never lost it's touch.”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a lovely meal here recently. Owners and staff great.
Great value great food - kind of old worldly as is Dalkey in the nicest sense.
We had early bird which had great choice - house wine very reasonable.
I would not hesitate to recommend to any one visiting Dalkey or in Dublin as you
can take the dart which stops a minutes walk from the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ENJOYCountyKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    47
    17
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last dinner in Ireland”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We looked for a special place to have our last dinner before returning to the US on Nov 30, 2012. We chose The Guinea Pig from a few options due to its reputation and were not disappointed. We were warmly greeted, the doorbell is a nice touch, shown to a nice table. After looking around we saw that a large party was coming in and we knew that it would be louder than we wanted. They gladly moved our party of 4 to a more quiet location. Food was great, service was great, Life is good, Thanks Mervyn.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john101010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“really bad food”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

How on earth is this place getting good reviews on here? Presentation was poor for a start but the taste was the real problem. Had the celebration menu and the two mains were atrocious by pub food standard let alone a supposed fine dining experience. Crab main I sampled from the person I was with was disgusting to be honest and my main meal was the 4 fish sample 4 pieces of fish on a plate with a side of potato and veg. No presentation and most importantly NOT fresh fish was the offering I received. Restaurant was dead but don't think thats any excuse for the rubbish served up here. Sorry but not near good enough in 2012.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KIMILSUNG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Old world charm and excellent food”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I've been a regular visitor to the Guinea Pig since the 80's and always found the staffy and service excellent. I've fond memories of fresh Mussels served with garlic in a pot, Pheasant cooked to perfection, a varied cheese board washed down with excellent Port. Aaaah magic.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank 9Hostages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat with a great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Went to the Guinea Pig last Saturday accompanied by a Canadian friend who requested to go there for an "Early Bird". The restaurant was full but we had a reservation. She had heard great reriews from previous Canadian visitors to the restaurant. We travelled by train from the city which ment we could have some great wine. The meal was excellent with great choices. I had Venison stroganoff. It was perfect. My friend had fish. The staff were very courtious and we liked how the chef took time to come out and speak to everyone personally. I would recommend this The Guniea Pig to anyone who appreciates good food in a typically friendly Irish atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anulamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Guinea Pig also viewed

 
Dalkey, County Dublin
 

Been to The Guinea Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing