We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!”
Review of DeVille's

DeVille's
Reserve with OpenTable
DeVille's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Dalkey
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: American, French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: DeVille's is located on the main street in the old heritage town of Dalkey. Born out of a love of food and the ceremony of dining out, its joint owners brother and sister Kim and David O'Driscoll serve moderately priced, traditional bistro fare seven nights a week with brunch/lunch on Fridays and the weekend. Serving predominantly French wines from a carefully selected wine list, draft beers and an extensive range of spirits & house cocktails there is something for everybody at DeVille's.
Donegal
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've been a regular of this spot since it opened a few months ago and can't rave about it enough- Best (and cheapest!) burger in Dalkey and I know I'm not the only person who thinks so!
Full dinner menu is great and the steaks are killer- just make sure to save room for the crumble!
Haven't tried out the early bird menu yet but looks like good value.
Staff are always friendly and attentive and the bartender makes a mean mojito.
I usually like to take a perch on the high tables in the bar but the lower tables probably suit better if there's a few of you.

Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    79
    24
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dalkey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So So”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The food is okay, just. A small menu. Staff not helpful. Manager worse. Won't go back. No better than the restaurant, Giovanni's, it replaced. Ouzos much better, the best around, though the Guinea Pig also has excellent food, just a bit pricey. Benito's good. Magpie Inn okay, sort of. Nosh better and the Queen's has a nice restaurant. I'd avoid both DeVille's and Magpie Inn.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paddy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkey, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Good food, Good place, bad seating arrangements”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

there is a great atmosphere and the food is brill, small portions but great taste. My only problem was the seating arrangements is dreadful especially if you are stuck on the high stools and not enough room for food and drink. I would go again but say more people are going then there is so you get enough room

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DalkeyPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great Group Lunch in De Villes. The food was great, fantastic steaks. Service was very friendly and profesional. The wine list offers real value, Bollinger at €70 most restaurants charge that for some no name ordinary bubbles. All together a really nice experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmcmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Just ok . . . . . disappointed !”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Was looking forward to my first visit to this new eatery in Dalkey. Saturday night and an 20.00 booking a week in advance sounded good to me. First impressions on entering was that there is a great Buzz to the place and it was very busy, great sign, but it stopped there ! taken to a cubicle where out waiter was very keen to take out order, he was made wait a while till we digested the menu, and selected our wine ~ red it was to be and a good mixture of Steaks Lamb and fish was ordered. Wine arrived which was the waiters choice ~ good choice, starters arrived, BANTRY BAY MUSSELS well they were baby mussels ! with an odd normal sized one thrown in for good measure . . . ! French Onion soup ok. Now for the main liner they say that they are a Steak House so a Steak I had along with one of my other guests, Aaaah this is where it all went wrong, I asked for it to be Med but it came out Blue ! Second one came out cremated ! No point in sending it back again ~ my pals had the Lamb shank which was good the fourth member had a 6oz PETIT FILLET well it was very small ! veg was extra, . . . . the experience was going down hill very quickly. We ordered another bottle of wine, and it came to desert ! and the staff started to clean the other booths and take tha salt and pepper from our table next was the sugar ! had I over stayed my welcome ? we had our coffee's and got bill and left it was only 23.30 ! but they gave you the impression that you were required to leave . . . . mind you there were tow bigger partied in the place and they were going strong ! WAS very Disappointed with the place and would think twice about returning ! sorry to say that !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DeVille's also viewed

 
Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin
 

Been to DeVille's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing