We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“two stars overrated not for special family get together.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Galway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“two stars overrated not for special family get together.”
Reviewed September 7, 2009

A ruby Wedding ruined by the ill training of staff in the restaurant and reception and for that our poor mother and fathers special and in times of darkness, happy occasion was ruined by the staff and even manager of The Castleknock Hotel. If booking restaurant book anywhere but there I am only sorry I didn't read the trip advisor before we booked it. Be very careful when checking out, hotel has tendency to take money of your credit card even when you have gone home. Its not worth your while complaining we did and the staff treated my kids and family very bad the next day at breakfast we nearly had to go into kitchen and make our toast and find our own table. As a group we spent from accommodation to bar food and so called restaurant food over €3000 to have us waiting an hour for kids meals and an hour and half for ours the kids were crying at what stage do you leave a restaurant because we're Irish we are expected to take it but not anymore times are tougher. I hope by reading this you save your money its really not worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalwaySinead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    435
    178
    90
    73
See reviews for
332
502
28
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2009

We wanted to get away for a night to enjoy a Spa Hotel and got a good deal for Castleknock. It was easy to get to from the dreaded M50 an upon arrival we were very pleased to see a nice open lobby area with plenty of comfortable stylish sofas, it was very impressive and the rest of the facilities were even more so. The swimming pool, steam room, whirlpool and sauna were excellent and not too busy. Our room was very spacious and overlooked the 18th hole golf green - we were there to relax and this hotel was perfect. I will definitely return and I would scrub the negative comments below - I have stayed in some fantastic 4 and 5 star hotels in Europe and the USA and I can put my hand on my heart and say this holds its own. If you are after a bit of peace with good facilities then look no further. 4* plus in my estimation. PS - cant comment on the food, we took a taxi to Castleknock town and ate there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honesty_Pays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed there for two nights (me and my girlfriend) and it was great. The stuff was very friendly and answered any kind of question. We enjoyed the swimming pool two times a day (it was included), the sauna and the whirlpool we used often.
Roomservice is expensive, but the other prices (also the room price) are fair.

It would be great if it would be written on the website wich bus to take from Dublin city centre. It's juts written that it would be possible to travel by bus, but wich bus isn't said. So take bus 37 from Hawkins Street and ask the driver witch station to leave the bus. ;-)

If we'll travel Ireland again, this won't be our last visit at Castleknock Hotel. Thanks for the service.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stardust_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2009

quiet relaxing place - great food in the restaurant - awful in the bar. of course theres a big difference in cost but the bar food was just awful. definitely worth dining in the restaurant idf you can afford it. nice peaceful feel to the hotel - shame about the city-bound traffic on weekdays. great swimming pool and fitness club

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a weekend for a familly party, we thought we would give a local hotel a chance, We have stayed in hotels all over the world and this was by far the worst ever. The catering staff were slow, lacked knowledge of the food and in particular wines on the menu, to the extent of not even knowing which was red or white, the food on the A La Carte menu was terrible,service incredibly slow and surly, we had to return the creme brule twice as it came out like scrambled egg,before abandoning the restaurant completely out of frustration. We aired our justfied complaints and I had a call from the food and bev manager assuring I would hear from him the following week. I am still waiting!! Just an awfull experience, do not got there.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BusyTravellerKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Myself, my husband & our 15 month old daughter have just returned from a midweek 3 night stay in the Castleknock Hotel-our experience was definitely not 4 star. To begin with the room allocated to us was abit small considering we had a travel cot & the double bed-there was no iron& ironing board in the room. Half of the lights didn't work & the heating in the room was far too hot & could not be controlled manually . We ate in the open bar lobby the first night & both of us had the steak ciabatta -which on the menu stated that it came with chips-however when we eventually got it it came with crisps!!! Breakfast the following morning was also far from even 3 star standard. the heating throughout the whole hotel ( in the lobby etc) was unbearably too hot. On one evening we returned from the city & we decided to just have tea & desserts which took up to 40 minutes-Which brings me to the point about the staff been very slow & not very helpful even though it was not that busy .
I could not reccomend this hotel to anyone following our experience & we will definitely not return.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexWaterford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2009

Room is nice and spacious and clean with big bathroom. Swimming pool is relaxing and clean. Staff are friendly and helpful. Room service food was ok nothing fantastic. I had a lamb salad one night that was very average and the salad leaves were old brown and wilting. Another night I also had the fillet steak which was abit dry and had no special sauces offered. Gym and golf and other great facilities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazyness36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
7.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
3.5 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel & Country Club

Property: Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, the multi award winning 4 star hotel, right on the doorstep of Dublin City. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is an award-winning modern 4 star hotel set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, located beside the Phoenix Park, Dublin. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, the stylish but informal and relaxed Castleknock Hotel and Country Club is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, a deluxe day spa, a well-equipped leisure centre, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor BBQ and children's playground, it's everything that could be required from a great resort hotel, all under one roof. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, AA Ireland's Hotel of the Year 2014, has 138 guest bedrooms, most of which were recently refurbished in 2015. Some of our upgraded rooms offer amenities such as SMART TV's, Nespresso machines, premium sports channels and high speed WiFi. Bedrooms are spacious and bright, comfortably furnished, and many with charming views over the manicured greens and careful planting of the undulating 18-hole parkland course at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, one of the closest golf hotels to Dublin city. Winner of over 32 local, national and international awards since 2009, Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is a luxury property designed to meet the needs of the most discerning guest, whether staying for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castleknock Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing