We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
County Antrim
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is my sort of hotel. Spacious room, lovely grounds, ample parking, beautiful pool,hot jacuzzi, decent breakfast buffet and friendly staff. Just what I need when over-nighting on a business trip. I got a very good mid-week price for which I have stayed in some crummy places n the past.
I ate bar food last night and my two dishes were tasty and good value. Absolutely no complaints - I stay in a lot of hotels and I will definitely be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballyeamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Ballyeamon

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review.
I am delighted to read your feedback and to know you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    442
    181
    92
    75
See reviews for
340
514
32
185
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for valentines long weekend. Room was acceptable. . Let down by a filthy chair..which I was reluctant to sit on...and just attention to detail..cracks in plaster , cracking varnish on doors..and a really poor view of the roof and it's noisy heating and ventilation. ...It did have all the amenities we wanted.iron.wifi kettle etc.. but when we ordered room service it took nearly 40mins to get through and when it came it was wrong.

Apart from the niggles...hotel is out of the way so a peaceful break was had. Spa is fine...Castleknock is a 20min walk and has loads of restaurants (too many to be honest?)

If your not expecting absolute indulgence and pure luxury...just somewhere nice to get away ...you shouldn't be disappointed.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your review and for choosing Castleknock Hotel to celebrate Valentines Weekend. I have noted all of your points and will certainly look into these further as attention to detail is, and always has been, extremely important to us throughout the Hotel.

We are located in country side surroundings, yet being a 15 minute drive away from Dublin City Centre and a 5 minute drive from Castleknock Village.

Thank you again, I hope we can welcome you back

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

We decided to have a few days away in Dublin. We had checked out a few places to stay and this one was the preferred choice. We arrived, and was greeted by a really helpful receptionist. She was polite and efficient. Check-in was see less. We got into the room and it was outstanding. Very comfortable and clean. The first night was a little noisy, after all there was a wedding on. We still enjoyed a comfortable stay. The hotel facilities are fantastic and it's ideally situated for the highways or the city. Pheonix Park is literally 10 minutes away. All in all, a fantastic place I would highly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark39uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Mark39uk

Thank you for posting your wonderful review. I am delighted to read how warm your welcome was on arrival & that you were impressed with our accommodation standards.

Thank you for your recommendation & I hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickmacross, Monaghan, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Really enjoyed this short break, the hotel was lovely and very child friendly. It was in a lovely location as although you were near the city it felt like you were out in the country. The food was excellent dined both nights in the hotel.The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thereze M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Thereze M

Thank you for passing on your review. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your break.
I do hope your children had time to use our kiddies pool and outdoor playground area.

It is great to know you enjoyed your meal both evenings too.

I hope we can welcome you all back soon

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Our stay was a pre-Christmas trip for some shopping and relaxation. The package was for a two night stay with one evening meal and a spa treatment. On arrival, the reception staff were very friendly, chatty and helpful. We got to our room which was perfect, clean and with all the necessities for a short stay. Dinner was booked for the evening we arrived. We thought the dinner would be a dull affair as most packages like this can be, but we were pleasantly surprised. the choice on the menu was great. Again the restaurant staff were friendly, pleasant and helpful. Dinner was beautiful. All three courses were very well presented and tasted divine. I seriously recommend that you have dinner.
the following morning, we went to the spa for our treatment included in our package. Unlike other spas I have gone to, my wife and I were not separated in different rooms but taken together to the treatment room and relaxation rooms afterwards. it was a romantic package so they obviously kept this in mind. The spa staff were equally friendly and helpful.
The only downside was that the room was a little cold at night and there were no additional bed clothes or pillows. Still this will not take from a very enjoyable stay.
Plenty of shopping close by with Blanchardstown SC being the closest and Dundrum SC and the city centre not too far away.

Room Tip: Our room was a Delux Room which was adequate for length of stay and it overlooked the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NariekYelworc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear NariekYelworc

Thank you for choosing Castleknock Hotel for your pre-Christmas break. We are located 10 minutes from Blanchardstown Shopping Centre which is perfect for a Christmas Shopping Trip.

It seems you dined on our Dinner Inclusive Menu’ which we have upgraded recently and received very positive feedback , so I am thrilled you enjoyed your meal.

Thank you again & I hope we can welcome you and your wife back.

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I got a good deal at this hotel recently and though the location is a little remote the onsite facilities are excellent. From the moment of checkin to checkout I could not fault the place. The rooms are lovely and comfortable which ensured a good nights sleep. The food in the bar area was excellent and the buffet breakfast was perfectly adequate. It is located on a golf course and i would have no hesitation staying here again perhaps for leisure rather than business the next time round.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilltop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear hilltop1

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. This is greatly appreciated. We are set in country side surroundings, however at the same time, just a 15 drive from Dublin City Centre.

I am thrilled to know you had a comfortable sleep & enjoyed your dining experiences.

I do hope we can welcome you back for a leisure break in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord,MA
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

First the excellent
Excellent
Great people and service- extremely helpful and pleasant.
Breakfast buffet was very nice- good solid choices- and of course Irish Soda Bread.
The location itself was beautiful and relaxing. Golf course very nice.
Spa (massage only) was relaxing and nice (more comments on the work out area below)-I had a one hour message - the masseuse was excellent and the room lovely and relaxing highly recommended

Good- Dinner service for our group was good and the meals (given the size of the group) were very good. I cannot comment on dinner or lunch since I was with a larger group starting the first night of my visit.
Room- roomy for Ireland (being a Yank)- room was rather stuffy (I could not figure out how to cut off the heat) so I ended up sleeping with the Window open in January.
Meeting rooms were well equipped and AV assistance and all other (breaks) well done.

Needs Improvement- I am a workout fanatic- do it almost every day when traveling but unable to run because of knees. Gym area needs an overhaul. Looks like it has not been touched for well on a decade. Agining Tech Gymn elliptical are not good. Rowing machine okay (Concept 2) but also aging and the workout calculator (showing distance and time) did not work. Weight machines aging and cranky. Gymn packed and too many people for too small a space.
Dumbells and mats available which I used.
They also have a spinning room with good machines. Despite the excellent spa massage experience (on a differing floor and very much a different experience than the gym workout room) because of the disrepair and aging equipment I rated the Spa as a three only (Massage a five and gym a 2).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HPM1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear HPM1984

Thank you for taking the time to pass on such a detailed review. It is wonderful to read about your excellent experiences during your stay with us.

In relation to the Gym recommendations, I do appreciate your opinion and thank you for your feedback, in fact for 2015 we have plans in place, as part of our budget, to upgrade some of our Gym facilities. I will say however, our equipment is specifically suited to our target market’ and clients needs.

We have recently introduced new exercise classes along with a squat-bar in keeping up with the modern exercise trends

Thank you again & I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Ireland

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Travelodge Phoenix Park
#2 of 3 in Castleknock
678 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,502 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel & Country Club

Property: Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, the multi award winning 4 star hotel, right on the doorstep of Dublin City. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is an award-winning modern 4 star hotel set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, located beside the Phoenix Park, Dublin. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, the stylish but informal and relaxed Castleknock Hotel and Country Club is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, a deluxe day spa, a well-equipped leisure centre, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor BBQ and children's playground, it's everything that could be required from a great resort hotel, all under one roof. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, AA Ireland's Hotel of the Year 2014, has 138 guest bedrooms, most of which were recently refurbished in 2015. Some of our upgraded rooms offer amenities such as SMART TV's, Nespresso machines, premium sports channels and high speed WiFi. Bedrooms are spacious and bright, comfortably furnished, and many with charming views over the manicured greens and careful planting of the undulating 18-hole parkland course at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, one of the closest golf hotels to Dublin city. Winner of over 32 local, national and international awards since 2009, Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is a luxury property designed to meet the needs of the most discerning guest, whether staying for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Castleknock Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing