We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great visit”
Review of Castleknock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Once again stayed at the hotel this time for four nights. Very welcoming and family oriented. Friendly staff and first class appointed rooms. Great place to return to after a day out in Dublin or the country. Will definitely stay again, in fact have booked up for the spring 2014

Room Tip: Location excellent. Car not essentially but recommended. Plenty of car park space.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Davidfriend

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your 4 night stay. We do aim to be a very family friendly Hotel at all times, and we have a kiddies pool and outdoor playground for the kids to enjoy
.
We look forward to welcoming you soon

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,397)
There are newer reviews for Castleknock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

777 - 783 of 1,397 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Hotel is out in the countryside but easily found, building and grounds are lovely and staff very friendly. Room was lovely and bar area great plenty of seats etc. one downside, the menu in the dinner inclusive package has a very poor selection compared to other hotels I have stayed in where we have had full selection from the menu. Would recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishitravelled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Wishitravelled

Let me take this time to thank you for your feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Castleknock Hotel.

As you mention, we are set in country side surroundings, however at the same time just a 15 minute drive from Dublin City Centre and 10 minutes from Blanchardstown Shopping Centre.

We are constantly improving our dinner menus and currently receive positive feedback in regards to the choice available on the Inclusive Dinner menu offered, these improvements can be made due to feedback like your own.

Thank you for your recommendation, this is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for the first time for just one night.

Check in staff were welcoming and very informative regarding the facilities.

The room which was on the second floor seemed to be a long walk from reception. The room itself was fairly large, with a settee and good size desk, everything in the room was a little tired and needed a refresh. I was disappointed that the TV was an old shape 16:9 ratio 15inch screen.On the positive side the bed was very comfortable.

In common with so many hotels the lighting was poor, with no central light. The wifi is free, worked well in the bar and lobby areas, but was hit and miss in the bedroom.

We eat in the bar and watched the football, whilst the food was simple it was well cooked and tasty, again the staff here were very chatty and welcoming.

We used the conference room for a meeting and found that facility to be good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear A6T1P

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. I do hope you enjoyed your break.

I have taken each point on board and will certainly look into the issues mentioned. We appreciate all feedback, positive and negative, to enable us to constantly improve our service.

Just to mention, we have recently upgraded our WiFi system for our guest’s convenience.

Thank you again & I hope we can welcome you back in the future for a corporate or leisure break away

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Saturday 7th
Stayed here for a small Christmas party. Hotel is lovely , room was spacious & clean. Had a treatment in the Tonic Spa which was lovely thanks to Diane . The meal however took ages to arrive and was just warm which was a pity. There were long wait times between each course, I felt that our food must have been left sitting. Atmosphere in the hotel was great.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ali6791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear ali6791

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Castleknock Hotel to have a Christmas Party night. I am sorry to read your comments in relation to the food and I do apologise for this.

The majority of feedback received from each Christmas Party we hosted in 2013 was extremely positive, However we have had many staff & managerial meetings in relation to all aspects of our Christmas Party nights and are constantly implementing new ideas. For 2014 we hope to improve even further and it is feedback like yours that enables us to do this.

I do hope we can welcome you back again

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've chosen to stay here 3 times due to it's location and proximity to my business meetings when in Dublin.

Overall, the hotel is very nice and for the price I have always paid it should be difficult to find fault. The rooms are large and contain all of the expected amenities, the bar service is good and they have some great staff. The food I have had at the hotel was brilliant but I haven't used the pool or gym at this hotel so can't comment on those.

The reception though is a real let down for this otherwise lovely hotel, all 3 times we have had issues. Our organisation uses a travel booking company, the deal is the same anywhere in the world, they secure the booking with the hotel and provide details so that the hotel charge payment for room and breakfast to the company, travellers pay for anything else on departure. Despite having this in writing (which is a confirmation from the hotel) each time we have been told the room is not paid for and that we must provide payment before check in, now this isn't so much an issue but it's the necessary pain required to resolve it.

Fast forward to the following morning where at breakfast I am also told whilst trying to eat and drink that I would need to pay for that too and I am beginning to think its the service which is a bit of a let down. The company provide credit cards so it's not a payment issue either.

On check out, magically the booking company have provided payment details and I am apologised too and asked only to settle any extras. Repeat this course of events ALL 3 times with the same member of reception staff and I am done staying here.

The bit I have never worked out is that some colleagues in the same stay and who book the rooms exactly the same way (through an internal travel desk who use the same agent) sail through reception processes without hindrance, .....it really is hit and miss and if you're on the unlucky list you can't help feel you are marked as a 'potential thief' as all the staff want to do is pre-authorise a card rather than help sort the issue. As I've said the payment is not the issue but the staff on reception really could be a little more helpful in resolving issues and learning from them in any future stays, 3 times of exactly the same pain is the last time.

Recommendation if you're a business traveller is to call ahead and confirm the payment details.

Room Tip: Many rooms overlook the golf course, it's in such a great location it would be hard to get a bad...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinPhilips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We had a lovely break at the castleknock hotel..it was spotless clean, the staff were very friendly and professional. Our room was very comfortable. Food was excellent. There was a nice athmosphere in the hotel. We look forward to returning again. The hotel is in a great location for shopping at Blanchardstown centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisBartley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear DenisBartley

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your break with Castleknock Hotel.

We are just a 10 minute drive from Blanchardstown Shopping Centre as you know, which makes the Hotel in a very convenient location for a shopping break.

I am thrilled you enjoyed the food, staff and other facilities & I hope we can welcome you back again.

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Met with some friends for dinner and see the usual complaints have not been resolved, very slow service. Starter was a trio of of melon salmon roulade and pate whch was quite nice. Next came the main, which took ages, couldn't find the veg ( a dish of veg arrived after everyone have finished) and topped off with a somewhat lackluster trio of deserts. When the tea/coffee arrived, the coffee was dished out, no milk on the table, and the tea never arrived. Overall unsatisfactory, and with the bar prices not out of place in templebar, this is not really great value for money. While it is a fantastic hotel, the service does not match up to expectations. Also, what is the deal with the barriers into the carpark, no dropoff area for taxis... really peeves them off....

Room Tip: If you have a car, remember to get the code for the barrier to the carpark exiting.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kkcat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear kkcat79

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and for choosing Castleknock Hotel to meet with your friends. I am sorry to read your review in relation to the service, this will be looked into and investigated again as this is not our usual standard by any means, so I would like to apologise for your experience.

We have made, and our constantly making, improvements throughout all departments. One area includes our Menu’s and service in each of our restaurants, both the Brasserie & AA Rosette Award Winning Park Restaurant. I do feel confident that if you returned your opinion would be a more positive one.

In relation to the Barriers, there is an exit code required on departing the Hotel, this service is in place to provide extra safety for our guests and diners during their time at the Hotel. The code is accessible at our reception desk.

Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#68 of 150 in Dublin
1,386 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,583 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel

Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range: $105 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel, an award winning 4 star hotel is located right on the doorstep of Dublin City, set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, beside the Phoenix Park. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, this stylish but informal and relaxed hotel is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor patio and children's playground, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castleknock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel Country
Castleknock Hotel County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing