We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel- noisy wedding party”
Review of Castleknock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great hotel- noisy wedding party”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Would have given the hotel 5 stars if we hadn't had a lot of noise in the early hours of the morning from children running and shouting in the car park. When we mentioned this at reception it was taken very seriously. We were told it would be Aiken up with management as it was very much against company policy. A note was put on our customer profile to ensure a quieter room if we return. A very positive response to a complaint. Everything else about the hotel was great. Huge room. I think we may have been upgraded although it was not mentioned. Room spotlessly clean. Lovely bathroom with bath and walk in shower. Good atmosphere in general areas. Lovely pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi etc which was very quiet. You have to wear a swim hat in the pool. Available to buy for 3 euros. Good bar food. not much choice if you are vegetarian but pasta dish was very well cooked and tasted great. Fantastic staff. Always happy to do anything to help. Genuine service with a smile. Check out is not till 12 which means you can have really relaxed morning, use spa etc before leaving. If you have only booked a room, it's worth buying vouchers for breakfast when you check in. 9.95 euros pp and well worth it. EXCELLENT breakfast. Amazing choice etc. Costs about 7 euros more if not pre-booked. Would be very happy to stay here again but would ask for a quiet room f there was a wedding on.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allison6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Allison6

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I am delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry again for the inconvenience caused due to noise you mention, however I am glad that you were satisfied with the response and solution to your complaint.
We take great pride in the cleanliness of our bedrooms so it is wonderful to read that you noticed this attention to detail. I really appreciate your feedback in relation to our staff, this makes me feel very proud as our team of staff and management always try our best to ensure excellent customer service so to read your words is fantastic.

I really hope we can welcome you back & we look forward to welcoming you

Thank you again

Kindest Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    443
    182
    92
    75
See reviews for
342
519
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burt1972
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 2 small kids. Handy for phoenix park. Rooms are a little hot at night. Generally works well for us. A little point of town but we didn't mind. Restaurant food is good quality.
Generally hits the spot for our needs with 2 under 2. Have stayed three times at this stage on basis of value in Dublin.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burt1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear burt1972

Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate each and every one of our returning guests & I am thrilled you chose to stay with us again for a third time. As you mention we are just a 5 minute drive from The Phoenix Park which is of course where Dublin Zoo is located. I do hope you had the time for your two young children to avail of the complimentary use to our kiddies pool and outdoor playground

Thank you again & I hope we can welcome you and your family back for a fourth time

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed with three friends at the Castleknock Hotel on a weekend break package and had a lovely time. The hotel is fresh, welcoming and friendly. The staff were all very nice and very accommodating. Bedrooms were lovely with comfy beds and a well laid out bathroom - separate shower cubicle which I always love. We used the spa and swimming pool which were lovely, and had dinner that night in the restaurant. Even though we were on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast package - and normally in hotels, you tend to get very basic dinners on those packages - the dinner we got was absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast on both mornings was also delicious. There was good atmosphere in the hotel lobby also on the Saturday night as there was a guy singing and playing a guitar. The one thing to note with this hotel is it's a bit out of the way, and unless you have your own car, you will be paying a fortune with taxis to get too and from there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CorkGirlIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear CorkGirlIreland

Thank you for your lovely feedback. I am thrilled reading your words & I am delighted you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. We have made improvements to the Inclusive Dinner Menu that you mention so I am glad you found this gorgeous and I hope this added to the overall enjoyment of your stay. It is wonderful that you each had the time to use the complimentary leisure facilities and avail of treatments in Tonic Health & Day Spa

I do hope we can welcome you and your friends back on a future occasion

Thank you again

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed on the 16th June,it's a beautiful hotel,we were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived,rooms were very nice,bar was very big and spacious,we stayed on a deal of €120 for two people which included b&b and a three course dinner which was great value,we'd thoroughly recommend it,and WILL be back soon....

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petethekiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Petethekiller

Let me first thank you for your recommendation. I am delighted that you both enjoyed your birthday night stay with us. It is lovely to read that you felt very welcome on your arrival as this is something we feel is extremely important.

It is wonderful to read that you will be returning & we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

One night stay, great atmosphere, hotel buzzing, food in restaurant very tasty, one man band playing, very entertaining. Breakfast excellent. Rooms very good and beds very comfortable. Staff extremely professional, curtious and overall a pleasure to be around. There was a mistake on our bill but the lady at reception sorted it immediately. Top class hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 440Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear 440Anne

Let me take this time to thank you for your feedback.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your one night break with us. We have live music on every weekend night in our lobby which, as you mention, adds to the atmosphere of the hotel so I am glad you experienced this. I am very proud reading your words in relation to our staff, customer service is extremely important to us and our team of staff & management thrive on constantly improving guest service in all departments

Thank you again & I hope we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and must rate this fabulous hotel 5stars. Staff were lovely, rooms amazing and every possible need met. The location is excellent for central dublin, and also easy access to public transport.

We will definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: Location excellent for all attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shieldsgenevieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Hens3

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I really appreciate the words used to describe your stay & I am thrilled to be made aware of this. I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future for another break away

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Location:

Hotel is on the outskirts of the town of Castleknock which is a 15 minute taxi journey to Dublin and 25 minutes to the airport.

Hotel:

The hotel is set in a stunning location with a golf course next door were you get a discount green fee while staying at the hotel. The hotel has great food served throughout the day till 10pm were it changes to a plater menu. Room service is also very efficient and again the food quality is excellent as the same menu as the Fionn Ulsce Bar. Without doubt this was one of the better breakfast buffets we have had. Our room did not include breakfast and it is cheaper getting breakfast vouchers from recepition the night before as they cost 9.95 euros compared to one day price of 16.95 euros. The hotel is very popular with the locals on the weekend which provides a great vibrant atmosphere in the bars. There is also free wifi around the entire hotel.

Rooms:

The rooms are very clean and a reasonable size with all the amenities you would expect. Our one criticism of the rooms is there is no air conditioning. We visited between 9th to 12th June when the weather had been hot, which had made the rooms very stuffy and hot during the night even with the windows opened constantly throughout the day and night. Thus the reason for giving an average sleep quality rating.

Spa:

The spa is run by Tonic who provide an excellent gym, 18m pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. On arrival to the Spa desk you are provided with a gym towel and a pool towel. You are required to wear a swim cap in the pool which costs 3 euros if you do not have your own. There is also changing room facilities with lockers and showers. I would highly recommend booking a spa treatment during your stay such as the hot stones massage which was excellent. The Spa treatment rooms are upstairs with relaxation and massage rooms. While staying at the hotel you get a 15% discount on all treatments you have.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markw2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Markw2290

I would like to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I appreciate such detailed comments & I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed the many facilities the hotel has to offer from the golf course to our Tonic Health & Day Spa.

I am delighted you had the time to make use of these facilities & I hope this helped towards the overall enjoyment of your stay with us

I hope we can welcome you back on a future occasion

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,367 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,962 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel

Property: Castleknock Hotel
Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel, an award winning 4 star hotel is located right on the doorstep of Dublin City, set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, beside the Phoenix Park. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, this stylish but informal and relaxed hotel is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor patio and children's playground, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castleknock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel Country
Castleknock Hotel County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing