We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with good Christmas Party”
Review of Castleknock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Myself and couple of friends stayed in Castleknock Hotel for one night back in December after attending a Christmas Party at the same hotel. We had a standard double room overlooking their parking lot. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable, everything in it was in great condition, all in all I was very pleasantly surprised with their standards. The check-in and out was very efficient and all the staff were very friendly and couldn’t do more for you. The breakfast the next morning was delivered to our room a little bit earlier than requested and was ok, but not amazing (big portions though). Food wasn’t very fresh or very hot but I guess that’s due to fact that it was waiting for the delivery for a while. Our “biggest problem” was that there was no sewing kit in the room. As you can see there wasn’t really much we could complain about and the above-mentioned things were really minor issues. Didn’t try their spa or golf course but all in all enjoyed this short stay. The premises are really lovely and well kept. The Christmas Party we attended was brilliant with great music and atmosphere. Again the food could be a little bit of a let down as it was nothing special nor much choice, but we had a great time regardless. Altogether, I was surprised with how lovely the place was and with the warm welcome from all the staff. Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Justine28

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I really appreciate your detailed comments. Just for future reference, we do have sewing kits at our main reception desk available on request. I do hope you decide to return to us again, and on your next stay hopefully you will get time to avail of the complimentary fitness and leisure centre and the 15% discount on pre booked individual treatments in Tonic Health & Day Spa.
I am delighted to read you received such a warm service from our staff throughout your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you again

Kind regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

956 - 962 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

We booked for a valentines nght dinner yesterday. There were 3 pairs of couples of us. The reception was warm and the dining place was coozy and romantic. The place was awesome and the ambiance was cool. Think the food was worth its' value. A valentines dinner special with 4 course meal. The staff were courteous and polite. Dining room set up was beautiful and they even complimented the ladies with beautiful roses. Thanks for the generosity. It was a lovely night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BreMar467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear BreMar467

Thank you for your very complimentary review. We do always try our best to offer a romantic and special evening for couples throughout Valentines weekend and every other weekend, so thank you for your wonderful feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to us on a future occasion

Kindest regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Met with a few family and friends the day after our wedding in Wicklow. Beds are great and had a lovely nap. Used the swimming pool and sauna and it was really nice all lit-up
We stayed here a few months ago and had dinner in the rsteraunt and have to say it was excellent
The night we stayed recently we just had some bar food but again service and food very good
They do some great deals including golf, meal or spa so keep an eye out for them

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Mark Q

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that you got to use our complimentary leisure facilities during your stay to relax and unwind.
I do hope you decide to return back to us again

Many thanks & kind regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I would like to thank the Castleknock staff for their attentiveness and generosity. Our car had been broken into in the centre of Dublin and the duty manager went out of her way to ensure it was kept securely until it was repaired. The staff also went the extra mile to make my birthday special. The decor, beautiful food and relaxing spa all go to make this hotel a memorable experience. Thank you to the wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Amy M

Many thanks for your lovely feedback. It fills me with pride reading your words.
I do hope you enjoyed celebrating your birthday in Castleknock Hotel and on behalf of our team of staff; we look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion

Many thanks again & kind regards

Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a comfortable Hotel. Location difficult to find. Rooms spacious. Food good but prices were too high and value lost. Check out was not relaxed as door key access were removed without any tolerance. Needs to improve approach to customers to make this an excellent experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank burkeliam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Burkeliam123

Let me first thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We take all feedback on board. We do thrive to offer a warm and friendly service to all of our guests and for this we have received numerous customer service awards, so I am very sorry you felt this way.
If you do decide to return to us on a future occasion I do hope we can change your opinion

Many thanks & kind regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Good rooms, nice food, great gym. The sorroundings are great but a bit far frm city.
It's great for meetings and city breaks.
Not far from airport and close to highway.
------------------------------/

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fulvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Fulvis

Let me take this time to thank you for posting your feedback. As you mention, we do try our best to be the ideal location for both our corporate & leisure guests, so I am delighted you recognise this. I do hope you come back to stay with us on a future occasion

Kind regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had 4 days here it was great! We did get it on laterooms so paid less than going rate! Food was lovely. Just a few things wrong, staff could be more attentive at the bar/restaurant. The iron didn't work. Location, well it's in the middle of nowhere, but it is a golf club!
Defantely would go back, spa treatments amazing

Room Tip: Look on laterooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Dear Leigh R

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. However, I must politely clarify that we do not offer preferential rates on laterooms. The best rates are available on our own website and I give my word on that. The hotel is only 15 minutes from Dublin City but is situated in a country setting so we like to think that we offer the best of both worlds. We appreciate all feedback as this helps towards constant improvements in all departments. I’m sorry about the iron and the lack of attention at the bar. I do hope that you rang reception for an immediate replacement iron.
I do hope we can welcome you back on a future occasion

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Phoenix Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Carton House Hotel & Golf Club
1.4 mi away
Twelfth Lock Hotel
Twelfth Lock Hotel
#3 of 3 in Castleknock
183 reviews
3.4 mi away
Red Cow Moran Hotel
Red Cow Moran Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel

Address: Castleknock Hotel & Country Club 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock D15 WNR7, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range: $76 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel, an award winning 4 star hotel is located right on the doorstep of Dublin City, set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, beside the Phoenix Park. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, this stylish but informal and relaxed hotel is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor patio and children's playground, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Splitty, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castleknock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel Country
Castleknock Hotel County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing