We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and excellent service, but getting a little pricey...”
Review of Anglers Rest

Anglers Rest
Ranked #1 of 14 Restaurants in Castleknock
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Seafood, European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Award winning bar, restaurant & wedding venue in the Strawberry Beds. Live traditional music 7 nights a week.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice food and excellent service, but getting a little pricey...”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a regular haunt of mine. Food is good, as is the service, and indeed the restaurant appears to be getting more popular as they've converted the old back bar into another wing of the restaurant. Place has retained its atmosphere and charm. No complaints at all except the prices seem to be on a constant upward trajectory. I remember the days I could eat here (not that long ago) for four people with wine for under €100.00. It's now close to double that. I hope they don't lose custom, as the food, whilst delicious, is not exactly haut-cuisine (well, not yet anyway!), except they seem to be charging as if it were.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    397
    210
    101
    80
    65
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Visited there for birthday lunch not having been there in years and it recently been recommended by a friend.

Pleasent staff but food disappointing fish cakes had very little fish content steak rather fatty and I did not have dessert. My friend had chicken as a mains the portion was very small.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear amag4523

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Anglers Rest.

We are sorry to read that you didnt enjoy the experience. Did you bring this to our attention when you were here?

We hope that you may give us another try in the near future as we endeavour to provide excellent food and customer service to all our customers.

Regards

Avril
PR & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wedding Lunch - simply perfect”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Angler's Rest "Phoenix Room" was our venue choice for our informal Wedding Lunch in March 2014. In a word, it was perfect.

The table settings, flowers, food, wine and Processo were gorgeous. The staff did an amazing job. They were very attentive but not over bearing and consulted with us on everything.

All of the guests commented on the food. "The best food we have ever had at a wedding" etc. They also commented on the decor and how "special" the place felt. The roaring turf fires added so much to the atmosphere and the shabby chic interior totally matched our personality and added to the relaxed mood which we really wanted to create.

I cannot recommend the Angler's enough for an informal small wedding venue. It was ideal for us and we trusted a lot of the organisation of the day to the management and we were totally satisfied with the results.

Thank You so much!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CatherineMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear CatherineMc

Thank you for taking the time to write a reivew for The Anglers Rest.

We are delighted to read that you were really happy with your wedding reception that you had here. Great to read about the comments you got from your guests about the food. :)

We will be sure to pass your lovely comments on to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Anglers soon.

Regards

Avril
PR & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unfortunately getting worse...”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Myself and two friends went for dinner here last Saturday. When booking the table we were informed we would be seated upstairs. The service was prompt and friendly. There was a delay in receiving the food ordered but we understood as it was a busy Saturday night. Upstairs has the least atmosphere of all the eating areas. I had chowder followed by prawns and crab claws and I have no complaints. One of my friends ordered the chowder also and it was lovely and then for mains he ordered salmon and it was so over cooked it was like leather, very disappointing. The third guest ordered chicken wings or drumsticks and they were just ok and for mains she ordered the vegetarian tart which was tiny with absolutely no taste with a cold poached egg on top. It was like something a child would make in art class...To top it off when we ordered banoffee cake for desert it wasn't an actual banoffee it was a digestive biscuit with a banana cut in half sitting on top with some caramel covered in cream. The wine was lovely but a bit pricey. The bill came to 110 euros. This is not the first time myself or friends have had bad meals over the past year. I feel that restaurants dining capacity has increased and the standards steadily decreased. My friend did complain to a staff member as we were leaving.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruthie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wright B, Public Relations Manager at Anglers Rest, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Ruthie74

Thanks for taking the time to write a review for The Anglers Rest.

We will be sure to pass all the comments on to our chefs.

We hope that you will give us another try in the near future as we endeavour to provide great food and excellent customer service.

Kind regards

Avril
PR & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Poor food & Very Expensive ”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I went here last Sunday for lunch. The car park was packed so I was thought this place must be good! I ordered the roast beef. It was €15.95. When o got it it was a child's portion. There was one slice of beef served on top of a scoop of mash and one piece of asparagus and that was it. My companions fish pie was also way over priced and we both left still hungry and not happy. All deserts are also priced at €6.95. Not a nice visit

Helpful?
1 Thank rhdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglers Rest also viewed

Blanchardstown, County Dublin
Blanchardstown, County Dublin
 
Castleknock, County Dublin
Castleknock, County Dublin
 
Castleknock, County Dublin
Castleknock, County Dublin
 

Been to Anglers Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing