We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all rounder”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bracken Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balbriggan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Centrally located for the town, with free secure parking, ideal location for touring the coast as Skerries only 10 mins away and railway station within walking distance. Very clean, well appointed large room, with good shower. Warm welcome from Lisa and rest of staff were very pleasant throughout our stay. Had a nice bar meal, which was more than adequate for what we paid, and cooked breakfast was waitress service, nicely cooked - good idea to be offered option of a small breakfast. More than happy with the deal we had.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailieborough_Blowin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (807)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 807 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

In my opinion this is not a four star hotel, however we paid 89e for two nights bed and breakfast with a bottle of wine on arrival which is good value in anyones book.

When we arrived at the hotel we went into the bar to get some food, they had a carvary on but we didnt fancy this so asked at the bar for the bar food menu. We were told that they were only doing carvary until 3pm and the bar food would start then, we waited around for about 45 mins and went back to the bar at about 3.15pm and asked about the bar food, a different barman was now on and said they would not be starting bar food until 4pm, when we complained and said we were told 3pm he said he could probably try get someone to make us a sandwhich, he didnt offer us a menu of say what kind of sanwhiches they had and just walked off so we just left and got food elsewhere.

The bottle of wine we received on arrival was quite nice and the room itself was also quite nice, as I said above i dont feel its a four star hotel but the room was comfortable and had a nice flat screen TV. The beds were very comfortable and they had a nice hot powerful shower in the room, although there was no bath.

My biggest negative of my stay at this hotel was the breakfast. I dont know if they were short staffed due to the time of year it was but the breakfast on the first morning was one of the worst breakfasts I have ever had in any hotel. Upon arrival we were seated by a waitress and we asked for some toast and were told we would get some shortly. We then had some juice and some cereal and went to get some hot food. There was one guy behind the hot food counter serving the food, there was a couple of burnt and greasy rashers left and when i asked were there anymore i was told there wasnt. There was no eggs on display but the guy behind the counter was cooking fried eggs as people asked for them (not very practical when there is only one person serving). However we seen that the eggs were being cooked in about 3 inches of oil, effectively deep frying them so we asked for some scrambled eggs instead, the chef went out the back and came back about 5 mins later with the eggs, however he had left our plates on the hot plate while he went to get the eggs and when he handed us our plates of food my girlfriend burnt her hand quite badly on the plate. We then returned to our table to see that we still had no toast and asked again for some toast and brown bread, it arrived about 5 mins later after we had finished eating our breakfast and the brown bread was stale. Due to the hassle we had the first morning we ordered breakfast to the room the second morning and it was fine.

We didnt drink in the bar and went out both nights for dinner so I can comment on the restaurant.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jdublin84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Centrally located, free underground parking excellent.

Rooms are fairly standard, some wear and tear, but very comfortable. Super fast, free wifi, all over hotel, no crappy log ins or passwords required.

Restaurant wasn't open, had bar food, lovely steak. Service was excellent and friendly in the bar.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnChapin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Positives: Hotel was clean, free car parking, bed was comfy.
Negatives: Meal was very average cant describe it as nice, breakfast extremely poor- slow staff and short in numbers. Rooms were very out of date - i cant see how this is 4 star - more like average 3. Hairdryer was old school like you get in basic hotels abroad. Decor - old fashioned.
This was part of a groupon offer - good deal served the purpose as we didnt spend any time in hotel bar sleeping. If you want luxury look elsewhere.
Location: handy for dublin by train near train station

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baileysandcream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend break, a Grabone deal, excellent hotel and great deal from Grabone. The hotel was top class, beautiful spacious room with all facilities anyone would need. The staff were very courteous and nothing was a problem to them, the bar staff especially Thomas were very pleasant serving good food and drink. A great place to stay if you want to visit Dublin as the train station is only a five minute walk away . Will definitely be returning to this excellent hotel.Free car parking a great bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank retiredteacher825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicky_the_lady, Front Office Manager at Bracken Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2011

Dear Retiredteacher825,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed yourself during your visit and found our staff to be helpful and pleasant.

Hopefully, we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Stayed here with a groupon deal one night for 2 B&B with a bottle of wine! Hotel reception is small but pleasant and staff welcoming and friendly. We were given a twin room on the 3rd floor, the room itself was like a suite with tea & coffee facilities, a flat screen tv, a sofa, two armchairs and coffee table, bathroom was also pretty big with bath and seperate shower with two hand basins. Hotel bar is big but with a cosy feel. Breakfast was fab choice of cereals, fruits, juices and bread followed by a choice a mini or full hot breaksfast served with toast and tea/coffee. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, although the town itself isn't great the hotel makes up for it!! If I was to mention a downfall it would b that there is no direct entrace to the capark but this is very minor.

Room Tip: Ask for room 310 :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinBetsy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicky_the_lady, Front Office Manager at Bracken Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2011

Dear DublinBetsy19,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Bracken Court Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you found your room to be spacious and comfortable.

We hope you will have an opportunity to visit us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had 2 rooms booked here for 4 nights, the rooms are of a good size with all you would expect flatscreen TV, tea & coffee making facilities and free wifi thats always a bonus.
Bathroom was a good size clean and well looked after, the bar served good choice of bar food and of course very nice guinness.
We had room only but did go down for breakfast twice you have a choice of juice, tea coffee and all the breakfast cereals fruit etc. You can then have a full or mini cooked breakfast I think it was 9.95 for the full and 6.95 for the mini and filled the gap nicely.
All in all quite a nice hotel they do a lot of weddings so a bit of late night noise outside the rooms and in the street, but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the lift as you here doors banging through the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nicky_the_lady, Front Office Manager at Bracken Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Dear Chrisebabes,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms comfortable. Thank you also for your lovely comments about both Jack Doyle's Bar and the Breakfast.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Nicola Cunningham
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balbriggan
9.9 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
1,277 reviews
11 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,636 reviews
3.7 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
White Sands Hotel
White Sands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Portmarnock
367 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Waterside House Hotel
16.9 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracken Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracken Court Hotel

Address: Bracken Court Hotel Bridge Street, Balbriggan, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Balbriggan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balbriggan
Price Range: $84 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bracken Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 68 five star quality bedrooms and suites is professionally and meticulously designed to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. In designing the Bracken Court Hotel we have placed an important emphasis on in-room facilities and all rooms have cable TV, Direct dial telephones, ISDN Connection Port, tea and coffee making facilities, room safe and trouser press. Smoking rooms and disabled access are also available. Bedrooms vary in size from standard rooms to large family suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Bracken Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balbriggan
Bracken Court Hotel Balbriggan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing