We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing expereince!”
Review of Dublin Falconry

Dublin Falconry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We are an educational and tourists facility.We provide many services for the public as an attraction.We have 16 birds on display with two flying shows sat and sun.We are open for business seven days a week.Private bookings Monday to Friday and open to the public on weekends.Vouchers are available in store as great gifts for all occasions.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing expereince!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We went to Dublin Falconry a couple of days ago. It was so good, I have been tempted to write my first review.

First of all, it is very easy to get to from Dublin city and very easy to find. It is located in the Court Lough Shooting grounds which is a very big outdoor activity and adventure centre, so it is well sign posted. Court Lough is state of the art, modern, etc. Everyone there is very friendly and helpful.

Trevor is the man behind Dublin Falconry and he is an absolute gent. We went for a two person Hawk Walk experience and he really pulled out all the stops.

In terms of what we did; Trevor introduced us to the birds, which involved a walk around his 'centre' which is now received 'Zoo' status. It is always nice to see a place like this kept so clean and so well run - but that is no surprise, Trevor obviously loves these birds (and his two dogs!).

There seems to be a great variety of birds, hawks, falcons and owls. Trevor introduced us to them all, told us various facts about them and answered all of our questions. He's spent a lifetime with these animals and he's clearly an expert.

He showed us all the various equipment, what he needs to do to care for the animals, in terms of weighing, feeding, habitat, etc. Then it was off for a walk with the hawk where it flew to us, landed on our gloves, walked(!), and flew all around the area. The whole time Trevor was telling us how he cares for the animals, what they are capable of, what is involved in training, conservation issues, etc. Like I said, he's clearly an expert and the whole thing was very, very educational.

We also got to see Trevor guide a young Falcon and have it catch the lure and feed. This involved more equipment (a high-tec tracking device), and so on. And then we met an Owl and again, he told us all kinds of fascinating things about the it.

All in all this was a really great way to spend a day. Clearly, everyone involved, from Court Lough to Trevor, really do their best to provide a fun, safe, educational and entertaining experience. I'm 30, and I still felt like a kid learning and having fun with the birds.

I can't recommend it highly enough.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjg_Stokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    1
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An experience like no other. Awesome.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

An incredible experience - we visited and booked a 'hawk walk'. Trevor was so incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. He showed us his many fantastic birds, all so very well kept and in great condition. We went out with a Harris Hawk named Thelma and learnt how to have it fly to our hand, call it to fly to us, land on our hand, etc. True falconry! We learned how birds of prey fly and live. Such a unique experience, completely recommended. Like nothing else I've ever done. Thank you Trevor!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great flight of fancy!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Travelled out to Dublin Falconry on a whim to see something different and boy did we - The birds are beautiful and accessible; Trevor is so knowledgible and passionate about his birds. The walkabout and information followed by the flight display was well worth the journey. We were very lucky to see the Snowy Owl in flight and get to see all these birds up close.
It is a great day out

It is located within a shooting range and adventure centre and you could combine a full day out of activities

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank m-luck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Amazing Experience”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

It's just a short walk up the road from a bus stop straight out of Dublin. Trevor was amazing and extremely knowledgeable. My wife and friend accompanied me and we got to see several of his birds, spend some quality time with the two barn owls, and go on a hawk walk. It was an amazing and fun experience I will remember for a lifetime. I highly recommend this place, and will definitely be visiting again when next in Dublin. :)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MD_BoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great Day Out for All”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had a voucher for the visit and were not too sure what to expect but this definitely exceeded anything we had imagined right from the start. Trevor and his colleague were very welcoming and engaging and had an obvious love for the birds. They gave us loads of information about everything from how they train the birds to their habitats in the wild. The birds themselves are amazing; they have falcons, hawks and owls and each one has their own unique character which the guys gave a great sense of. What really came across was how much they care for the well-being of the birds, it's definitely a fantastic venture to support as well as a brilliant experience. They're great for a bit of banter too so it's good craic and you can learn a lot about falconry and birds of prey in Ireland in general. Although we live in Ireland we'd never had the opportunity to see our native barn owl before now let alone have one perched on our hand, really great !!!.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirstin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dublin Falconry also viewed

Balbriggan, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Skerries, County Dublin
Julianstown, County Meath
 

Been to Dublin Falconry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing