We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Wedding Venue”
Review of Malin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Attended a wedding here in August and was very impressed with the experience. Staff were friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them. This is a help when you're trying to control two hyperactive toddlers. The function room is unique in it's French style and looked beautiful on the day. The food was delicious and of high quality. Would definitely consider returning to this fine establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Malin Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 217 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked into the Malin Hotel last week as part of a trip we were taking around the North coast of Ireland. We had booked a double room in advance using their website. On arrival at around 7pm we were advised in a matter of fact manner that the hotel had double booked our room and the hotel was full. They had booked us into an alternative hotel 7km's away. Whilst they paid for our night's stay in the alternative hotel I was extremely annoyed at the lack of apology or the courtesy of a phone call in advance of our arrival to advise us of the situation. Also, we weren't the only guests inconvenienced in this manner that evening. I wouldn't consider booking into this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank Mgmurphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Given that the Malin Hotel boasts an award for excellence from Tripadvisor we were somewhat underwhelmed.
Lighting terrible, almost dangerously low. Reading in bed impossible until lightshade removed. In breakfast room a fellow breakfaster commented that one had to be careful not to bump into people in the gloom.
Food edible but overrated and over priced.
Should a bottle of non-alc beer cost the same as a pint of full alc beer?
Service poor from under trained but perfectly pleasant young persons. Slow and inattentive to customers' needs and empty plates.
Bed reasonably comfortable - poor sleep not necessarily fault of hotel.
What is the 'French Twist' they advertise? We searched hard but couldn't find it.

Oh dear, sorry about this, but it's true - for us.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Green. Dread to think what the others are like
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for just one night, staff were extremely friendly and helpful and food was excellent.
Room was fine and very comfortable. breakfast was good and plenty of it with a good selection on offer.
Like I said no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toylexus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I, ve stayed overnight in the malin hotel and unfortunately it wasnt as good as my first stay a year ago. We had a meal in the restaurant and it took so long for the food to arrive, and when it did arrive my steak was cold, and again at breakfast we were waiting so long that the tea went cold. The shower in our room was faulty but apart from that it wasnt too bad. Its a nice quaint hotel if you are staying on the first floor, but the second and third floors are out back in a different part and, in my view a lot shabbier and overall, I, m a little disapointed.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on first floor overlooking the green
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We ate at the hotel a couple of times whilst we were renting a holiday house nearby. The food was excellent, fresh and good value, the atmosphere was inviting, warm and cosy, and the lovely, friendly staff were outstanding - they could not do enough for us, despite being a large, bedraggled extended family group of 10, including 3 children.
Next time we go to Malin, we will stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katharine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My mother and I enjoyed a lovely lunch last week. I recommend this hotel. We had lovely fish and chips. The staff were friendly and the food was so tasty! A great delight and well done. The only hiccup was a leak in the dining area but we coped!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank CobhCathedral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin
3.8 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
210 reviews
10.9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,906 reviews
5.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
133 reviews
14.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
916 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Hotel

Address: Main Street, Malin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Price Range: $122 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going through the door, you're greeted by the creme de la creme of local society. In the air, a distinct scent of haute cuisine and sensual traces of eau de cologne. Ah! C'est la vie in le Malin Hotel. Here we do things "la francaise" - food par excellence, rooms au courant. And a great pint, too! Boutique? We created the word! We're your little pied-de-terre and your "moulin rouge" in the midst of the beauty of Donegal. Boudoirs that'll knock your socks off, wine to blow your mind and scenery that'll make your eyes pop. Unique? You can say that again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Malin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Donegal
Malin Donegal
Malin Hotel County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing