We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely!”
Review of Malin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've eaten here many times and have never been disappointed. The food is tasty and inexpensive. The staff are extremely attentive and friendly. The atmosphere is warm and cosy - almost as if you're in your own sitting room. I always have trouble finding somewhere to stop off for a bite to eat in Inishowen, but can always rely on the Malin hotel for a nice 'feed' and good cup of tea.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 220 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Malin hotel on March 16th and it was beautiful. Unfortunately we didn't get to sample their restaurant as there was a wedding on, but the room was beautiful and the breakfast in the morning was great.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I ate in the restaurant of this hotel on 27 Jan 2013. We ordered from a very good value 3 course set menu. The food was very good and the service was friendly and relaxed. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njc1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My recent stay at the Malin Hotel was because we had a wedding reception to attend at the Hotel. From the moment we stepped into the hotel we were made feel at home. The food at the wedding reception was amazing. The wedding was for 200 people and usually you would expect the standards to drop slightly but this was far from the case. There were plenty of staff working and every table was getting served at the one time. I would highly recommend the tomato and basil soup....heaven in a bowl! Our room was spacious and clean with a really comfy bed after a night of dancing. The breakfast was really good and made to order. I can't put into words how nice the staff are in this hotel. You're being looked after from the moment you walk in the door. If you're booking a wedding venue in Inishowen look no further. I have been to many weddings in the area and none come close to the standard of food that was served that day or to the lovely staff working in the Malin Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheswickboggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

A lovely hotel with very pleasant staff. The room was lovely, warm, clean and comfortable. The restaurant had nice food with options for all. Only thing that was below expectation was that the tv didn't work and the soda bread at breakfast could have done with being toasted- pedantic. It was a great relaxing venue.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OWhite100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel with another companion for a 1 night stay and dinner offer. While the decor of the hotel along corridors was dated, the interior of the room was pleasant and clean. However it was not until we reported to reception that our television was not working that we were informed that tvs in the establishment had not made the switch over to digital tv. Given that ample notice was given to the public I feel this represents a lack of preparation and foresight on the managements behalf which I feel is a serious oversight.
Breakfast the next morning was satisfactory, perhaps more thought could be given to the lay out and variety of the breakfast menu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maire h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We returned to the malin for a meal last night and, same as last time, it was fantastic. Our party of 5 had an absolutely beautiful, faultless meal. Great value, lovely surroundings. Our waitress was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robertjCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin
5.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
3.8 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
211 reviews
10.9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Ballyliffin TownHouse
Ballyliffin TownHouse
#2 of 4 in Ballyliffin
135 reviews
14.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
936 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Hotel

Address: Main Street, Malin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Price Range: $121 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going through the door, you're greeted by the creme de la creme of local society. In the air, a distinct scent of haute cuisine and sensual traces of eau de cologne. Ah! C'est la vie in le Malin Hotel. Here we do things "la francaise" - food par excellence, rooms au courant. And a great pint, too! Boutique? We created the word! We're your little pied-de-terre and your "moulin rouge" in the midst of the beauty of Donegal. Boudoirs that'll knock your socks off, wine to blow your mind and scenery that'll make your eyes pop. Unique? You can say that again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Malin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Donegal
Malin Donegal
Malin Hotel County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing