We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolute dream hotel”
Review of Malin Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Malin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Certificate of Excellence
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“absolute dream hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

i stayed at the malin hotel in august 2012, and i have to say it was the nicest most homely hotel i have ever stayed, i loved the cosyness of the rooms and i cant wait to go back to this fabulous hotel in the picturesque village of malin.

Room Tip: try and get a room to the front of the hotel overlooking the village green
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    52
    18
    3
    9
See reviews for
48
94
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

having just returned from a overnight stay at the malin hotel i was very impressed .The staff was very friendly the food was excellent the rooms was spotless clean in my view this hotel should be at least 3 star i will be returning here again in the near future

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kennyjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us.

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff strive to provide an excellent customer experience at all times.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Many thanks
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I recently got married in Donegal and chose the Malin as the venue for our reception and can honestly say it was the nicest place I've ever stayed.

Myself, my husband and our families travelled over from England and from the moment we got to the Malin the service from arrival to departure was second to none!

The food was first class, everybody's plate was clean and the wait between courses was minimal. The staff couldn't do enough for us and the rooms were beautiful, clean and spacious with lots of character.

The whole weekend went without a hitch thanks to the hard work of Madeleine and her team. Anna and Kerry made everybody feel welcome and really looked after, nothing was too much trouble! They are a credit to the Malin and could definitely teach the staff at our Manchester hotels a thing or two about customer service!

Everybody we spoke to on the day, and since our return have said how impressive the whole weekend was, it really was magical and completely stress free thanks to all the staff.

I really can't recommend this place highly enough and if i was comparing it to other hotels I've stayed in both, in Ireland and Manchester, this place would win hands down every time!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaCummins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Hi Emma,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on our Hotel and staff. We are delighted that yourself & Charlie and all your guests had a great time at your wedding with us and across the entire weekend.

You were all an absolute delight and your wedding day was just magical :)

I will ensure that all staff, especially Madeleine, Anna & Kerry are aware of your lovely comments. We continually aim to ensure that each Bride & Groom's experience is unique and that their expectations are exceeded on all occasions.

We wish you both the very best for the future and we hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dub
2 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's rare to come across a gem like the Malin Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. Food is great. The service is of a standard rarely seen in Ireland. Very competent, professional staff who dedicate themselves to making sure you enjoy your stay. My coeliac, dairy-free husband was really well catered for. My daughter asked at breakfast if they had soya milk. The waitress said "if we don't, I'll go and get it for you" and she did!
Bravo to all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review on our Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your staff with us along with your family. We are proud of the customer service that our staff provide on a daily basis and we continually aim to exceed customer's expectations.

We hope we will see you again, in the not to distant future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from theMalin after celebrating my daughters wedding and we could not have choen a better venue. From the moment we were received as guests right up until the moment we left we received 5 star treatment.

The lovely staff couldnt do enough for us and worked so hard on the day of the wedding to ensure everything went without a hitch. The food was cooked to perfection with all the gusests commenting on the high quality.

The rooms were clean and full of character and I can honestly say that I and all the gusests I spoke to could not find a single fault. This Hotel could wipe the floor of any other hotel we have visited as far as customer service is concerned and a lot more. We will definately return in the future

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunloverManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel and our staff. We are absolutely delighted that your daughter's wedding was such a success. We pride ourselves in the weddings that we deliver and the dedication that our staff show in ensuring that customers expectations are continually exceeded.

We will ensure that all staff are updated on your fabulous feedback including our Head Chef Volker and his team in the kitchen.

Thank you for taking the time to write this for us and we look forward to seeing you again, in the not to distant future.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My daughter and I had the most amazing stay in Malin Hotel, lovely staff, so helpful, friendly. Breakfast was delicious, just great, would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. Did not have chance for a meal as we arrived too late in the evening unfortunately. Other hotels in Ireland, UK, Europe and all over the world have a lot to learn from Malin Hotel. Please don't try to make it a bigger or better one ever, it is just great the way it is! My daughter wants to come back here for her wedding! They also put up great marquee for today's wedding as well as numerous lovely tables inside the hotel for the wedding party. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about the Malin Hotel. We are delighted that you had a fabulous time staying with us. It's unfortunate that you didn't have time to dine with us and enjoy our scrumptious food. We hope that you'll get a chance to visit us again soon to try out our culinary delights. We are delighted that you got to see a wedding firsthand, we take great pride in our weddings and making them uniquely special for each Bride & Groom.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Malin is a lovely quiet village, perfect for a relaxing break. We were pleasently surprised with the hotel. Very Homely, very comfortable room and very helpful staff.
Close to Culdaff beach, Malin head, Clonmany and Carndonagh.
Definitley will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff take great pride in ensuring that everyone of our guests receives the highest level of customer service. We hope it won't be too long before you get an opportunity to visit us again.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin
5.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
10.9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
3.8 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Hotel
Ballyliffin Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ballyliffin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
14.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway
Inishowen Gateway
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Hotel

Property: Malin Hotel
Address: Malin Hotel Malin Hotel Malin Town, Malin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going through the door, you're greeted by the creme de la creme of local society. In the air, a distinct scent of haute cuisine and sensual traces of eau de cologne. Ah! C'est la vie in le Malin Hotel. Here we do things "la francaise" - food par excellence, rooms au courant. And a great pint, too! Boutique? We created the word! We're your little pied-de-terre and your "moulin rouge" in the midst of the beauty of Donegal. Boudoirs that'll knock your socks off, wine to blow your mind and scenery that'll make your eyes pop. Unique? You can say that again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Malin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Donegal
Malin Donegal
Malin Hotel County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing