We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect getaway”
Review of Malin Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's rare to come across a gem like the Malin Hotel. The hotel is beautiful and very clean. Food is great. The service is of a standard rarely seen in Ireland. Very competent, professional staff who dedicate themselves to making sure you enjoy your stay. My coeliac, dairy-free husband was really well catered for. My daughter asked at breakfast if they had soya milk. The waitress said "if we don't, I'll go and get it for you" and she did!
Bravo to all!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review on our Hotel.

We are delighted you enjoyed your staff with us along with your family. We are proud of the customer service that our staff provide on a daily basis and we continually aim to exceed customer's expectations.

We hope we will see you again, in the not to distant future.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 220 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from theMalin after celebrating my daughters wedding and we could not have choen a better venue. From the moment we were received as guests right up until the moment we left we received 5 star treatment.

The lovely staff couldnt do enough for us and worked so hard on the day of the wedding to ensure everything went without a hitch. The food was cooked to perfection with all the gusests commenting on the high quality.

The rooms were clean and full of character and I can honestly say that I and all the gusests I spoke to could not find a single fault. This Hotel could wipe the floor of any other hotel we have visited as far as customer service is concerned and a lot more. We will definately return in the future

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunloverManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our Hotel and our staff. We are absolutely delighted that your daughter's wedding was such a success. We pride ourselves in the weddings that we deliver and the dedication that our staff show in ensuring that customers expectations are continually exceeded.

We will ensure that all staff are updated on your fabulous feedback including our Head Chef Volker and his team in the kitchen.

Thank you for taking the time to write this for us and we look forward to seeing you again, in the not to distant future.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

My daughter and I had the most amazing stay in Malin Hotel, lovely staff, so helpful, friendly. Breakfast was delicious, just great, would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. Did not have chance for a meal as we arrived too late in the evening unfortunately. Other hotels in Ireland, UK, Europe and all over the world have a lot to learn from Malin Hotel. Please don't try to make it a bigger or better one ever, it is just great the way it is! My daughter wants to come back here for her wedding! They also put up great marquee for today's wedding as well as numerous lovely tables inside the hotel for the wedding party. THANK YOU!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review about the Malin Hotel. We are delighted that you had a fabulous time staying with us. It's unfortunate that you didn't have time to dine with us and enjoy our scrumptious food. We hope that you'll get a chance to visit us again soon to try out our culinary delights. We are delighted that you got to see a wedding firsthand, we take great pride in our weddings and making them uniquely special for each Bride & Groom.

We hope to see you again soon.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Malin is a lovely quiet village, perfect for a relaxing break. We were pleasently surprised with the hotel. Very Homely, very comfortable room and very helpful staff.
Close to Culdaff beach, Malin head, Clonmany and Carndonagh.
Definitley will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff take great pride in ensuring that everyone of our guests receives the highest level of customer service. We hope it won't be too long before you get an opportunity to visit us again.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Arrived on a Saturday evening, we were early so room was not yet ready! We waited in the bar and had a drink, served by a very friendly and helpful young girl.
On checking in, we also enquired about the local clonmany festival and the girls on reception were more than helpful and even suggested arranging transport for us with other hotel guests if we were interested,
After a 10minute (maybe less) of a wait, our room was ready. It was on the 2nd floor. Corridors were beautifully decorated aswell as our room. Although quite small, it was very clean and furniture in it was delightful!
Our package included dinner which was beautiful! Excellent decor in restaurant with excellent food and service. We both had ceasar salad for starters, steak and beef for dinner and we had cheese cake and cookie and honeycomb ice cream for dessert! All tasted amazing!
We went for a stroll at night to check out the two other bars in Malin, there wasn't much happening there so went back to the hotel. There was a good crowd in the bar and a man playing the keyboard and singing. The craic was good with many (including ourselves) singing a song for the crowd. Drinks were also a reasonable price in the bar.
Breakfast the next morning was lovely! Great range of hot breakfasts to choose from aswell as cereal, yoghurts and fruit to have beforehand. We notices a few 'snotty' guests when we were having breakfast. The waitress was extremely polite and helpful to a not so nice lady which greatly ragged us!
Overall, an excellent hotel in a lovely village in Donegal. Malin Head is only a 10minute drive! It's views are worth going to see!
All staff were more than friendly and helpful! Especially a young girl Kerry!
Great work guys! Keep it up! We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eimz_02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write your wonderful review on the Malin Hotel. We greatly appreciate receiving feedback from our guests and we are delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We pride ourselves in a great team of staff who take customer service to a new level. We are delighted that you got to enjoy dinner in our Jack Yeats Restaurant, we will pass on your comments to our Head Chef Volker, Donna and the rest of the team.

We are delighted you got a chance to appreciate Malin Head and the surrounding area. We will pass your comments on to our staff and especially Kerry. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had our wedding in the Malin hotel on 23rd June and they made our day just perfect in every way from Madeleine our wedding planner to every member of staff who went out of their way for us and added little extras such as a postbox sweetie table all lovely touches. The food was outstanding and all our guests remarked on it. The service was fantastic and the venue done itself proud. The hotel has a homely yet 5 star feel which led to us booking in for 3 more nights after the wedding. The rooms are beautiful. We didn't want to leave. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone and it does Donegal proud.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Ann-Marie,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review, we really appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted that yourself and Christopher had a great wedding day. We are very proud of the wedding offering we provide and the staff who continually ensure that all customer's expectations are exceeded.

I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto the entire team including our Head Chef Volker, Donna and the rest of the kitchen team.

We hope married life is treating you well. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Ate in the restaurant on the 13th of August with husband and friends. The service was brilliant,nice to see some smiling faces. Food was great. I ordered a well done steak, supplied by the local butcher and I can sincerely say it was cooked to perfection by chef Donna. I asked to see her so I could personally thank her. The others had chicken, salmon and beef and all were well enjoyed. Portions were big and plentiful . I have ate in top restaurants in Manchester and were not a patch on this. I thoroughly enjoyed my evening and I will definitely be back. Well done Malin Hotel and I will recommend this to my friends back in Manchester

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandBecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaMcColgan, Customer Service Manager at Malin Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this delightful review.

We are proud of our locally sourced ingredients, cooked to perfection by our wonderful kitchen team. I will ensure that your feedback is passed onto all staff, especially Donna. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us.

We hope you'll get a chance to visit us again soon.

Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin
5.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
10.9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,942 reviews
3.8 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
947 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
338 reviews
19.0 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Hotel

Address: Malin Hotel Main Street, Malin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Price Range: $101 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going through the door, you're greeted by the creme de la creme of local society. In the air, a distinct scent of haute cuisine and sensual traces of eau de cologne. Ah! C'est la vie in le Malin Hotel. Here we do things "la francaise" - food par excellence, rooms au courant. And a great pint, too! Boutique? We created the word! We're your little pied-de-terre and your "moulin rouge" in the midst of the beauty of Donegal. Boudoirs that'll knock your socks off, wine to blow your mind and scenery that'll make your eyes pop. Unique? You can say that again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Donegal
Malin Donegal
Malin Hotel County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing