We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful unspoilt beach”

Five Fingers Strand
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Malin
Attraction details
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful unspoilt beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful beach in Donegal on the road to Malin Head - worth a visit but not safe to swim in due to undercurrent- good area for birdwatching

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carolinemstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottinghamshire England
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Absolutely stunning beach and views we really enjoyed the fact that our dog was welcome to play on the beach as although popular was not crowded.r

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KathyW1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“wild west!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Loved the location. It was stunning, scenic, epic views and majestic coastal geography. The tide was in so far the beach had disappeared but the wild thundering atlantic was a sight to behold. Drove to the viewpoint overlooking the area to take some landscape photographs. Lots of other tourists doing likewise and all amazed at the views. Beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rosemary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great views, but beach is terrible”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Went to this beach on the way back from Malin Head. This beach, unfortunately, is not nice, full of rocks and algaes. Didn't impress me at all and we didn't stay there. The only nice thing there is the view of a cliff. So, we made few pictures and that was it.
There are much better and nicer beaches in Co. Donegal, so if you really want to visit beautiful and clean beach, I highly recommend Silver Strand at Malin Beg.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SylviaMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
154 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Long quiet beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Long stretches of sand with waves rolling in below high dunes. Parking is not easy as it is down a track. may be worth parking at the church and walking down at busy times. Do take notice about the warnings about going in the sea

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Fingers Strand also viewed

Clonmany, County Donegal
Culdaff, County Donegal
 
Buncrana, County Donegal
County Donegal, Ireland
 

Been to Five Fingers Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing