We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely one to skip.”

Moorland Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moorland Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 3 Laghey B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Definitely one to skip.”
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The only plus to my stay at the Moorland Guesthouse was that it was clean. The guesthouse is truly in the middle of nowhere and extremely inhospitable. The food was greasy and lacked taste. The rooms were dull and there were no tvs, not even in the 'lounge'. There was also no wi-fi. Furthermore, the male owner was very crass and made me feel unwelcome; I couldn't get out of the guesthouse soon enough.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nathol99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
1
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
602 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The ' Moorland ' is located about 15 minute drive from Donegal Town. It was reasonably priced and breakfast was included. A three course evening meal was also available. The rooms were roomy and simply furnished in pine and very comfortable with a shower room attached. There was no TV or tea making facilities but we didn't find this a problem as it was such a delightful location. The view from the upstairs lounge was fantastic. We really enjoyed our stay and were made made very welcome. An excellent base for exploring, Donegal and Sligo.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eonaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2010

Stayed here as a last minute break having been at a wedding in North Donegal. We travel a lot in Ireland and have experienced everything from B & Bs to 5* hotels. This was a disaster. The guest house gives a whole new meaning to the word 'Spartan'. The bedroom had none of the facilities we have come to expect from Irish hospitality, no kettle, no TV, no radio, just a lot of pine furniture (the smell of varnish was palpable in the morning). And then there was the 'Lounge'.......OK if you want to sit to attention and maintain an upright posture...more pine and two upolstered refugees from a decommissioned pub. Food ....of the overcooked canteen variety, my salmon had a sauce that was so yellow it looked radio active. breakfast very poor when compared to other B & Bs we have experienced. One other guest had ordered poached egg and that is exactly what she got...so over cooked it could have been used as the ball at Lansdowne Road .On the plus side pleasant staff/owners? wouldn't know as they didn't introduce themselves. On retiring to bed at a very early time...nothing else to do once you had been for a walk...you could hear all that was happening in adjoining rooms! The whole experience was so disappointing and certainly not value for money or a good example of a 3* guesthouse.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criefftraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Antrim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Stayed here a number of years ago and totally impressed and had the opportunity of staying here with my boyfriend for a few days chilling out and thats exactly what we got, extremely refreshing.

Rosemarie and Walter the owners are extremely accommodating, we took advantage of the treatment break and both of us went for the neck shoulder and back massage absolute HEAVEN, the treatments are done by Rosemarie herself, there is also a list of other treatments she does, the next time I really would love to go for a facial. Walter does the cooking himself, and the food is second to none, a real excellent cook, the lemon chicken was melt in the mouth.

Moorlands is in a beautiful scenic part, word of warning you would need a car to get around as very remote, but as I said it is a real getting away from it all experience.

Would definately recommend this fantastic guest house.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bombadilCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorland Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Guesthouse

Property: Moorland Guesthouse
Address: Laghey, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Laghey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Laghey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3-Star Guesthouse in a quiet county location,not far to sandy beaches,golf links and Donegal Town, we offer good cousine and treatments in our health and beauty clinic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moorland Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Guesthouse Laghey, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing