We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real home from home”
Review of Avalon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avalon Guest House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenties
Certificate of Excellence
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
“A real home from home”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Just back from a very enjoyable stay at Avalon House...Mary and Hugh were a very friendly and welcoming couple. The house was very warm and cosy...with amazing views from every window. The breakfast was fantastic, Mary is an amazing cook and her home made bread is to die for! We all felt spoilt and very welcome and there was no rush off the next morning. Herself and Hugh even put us in touch with relatives we'd lost contact with and welcomed them into her home the next day also. We will certainly stay in touch and return soon and would highly recommend Avalon House to one and all! The Ward family Co Wexford/London, England

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma Lou W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2013

While in Ireland did a stop in Glenties in County Donegal. Avalon B&B was a great find. The hosts Mary and Hugh could not have made us feel more welcome. We were welcomed with tea and cookies and met the family. They were very helpful with what to see in the area and dinner recomendations. It is a modest B&B but they are equipped with everything. Very nice stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vostok
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The rooms where clean and had an averange size. The hosts have been very welcoming and friendly. We got Tea and Coffee as a Hello. The Breakfast was delicous, especially the porridge was nice (ask for it with milk, you will love it!). We would definatly go again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bridgnorth
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Whilst on business in Ireland and having driven from Belfast i arrived at Avalon B and B. I was greeted by Mary the hostess and my what a loveley lady. She asked if i would like a cup of tea and after the long drive it was most welcome. Tea arrived with some of Mary's home made bread and an assortment of biscuits. Her husband Hugh was busy doing some building work but managed to stop for a chat. The breakfast the following morning was great with all the normal things like orange juice, cereal etc and best of all the full irish breakfast but what made it special was Mary's home made bread. The room was immaculate with plenty of coffee-tea etc. and i will be returning but this time with the wife. Well done Mary and Hugh youwere great hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fiumicello
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

The four stars are all for the very warm welcome received at Avalon house by landlady Mary! Nothing to blame on the accomodation itself: we had a comfortable double room with all amenities (tv, tea&coffee, hairdryer, wifi...), the decoration was not very stylish but the bed was comfortable and that's what really matters.
Well the family had guests for the evening and at some point it was pretty loud but all went home by 11pm and we had a great night's sleep.
But as I said what relaly mad the difference was the warm welcome, we were offered tea and biscuits in the sitting room upon our arrival and given many tips and tricks about eating and sightseeing in the area.
Nice breakfast too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azulejoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A chance accommodation encounter of the third kind.
Originally intended to stay overnight but found a family away from home, that compelled me to base this B&B for my travels around Co Donegal and Northern Ireland.
Mary and Hugh are fantastic people, they do not just run the B&B....knowledgeable about their Co and Ireland. Were able to tell me about the sights to see and miss...
Rooms and facilities are of the highest standard.
The hospitality of this "home away from home" is to be experienced.
Breakfast dishes delicious and just the right way to start one off on tripping around Ireland.
One could say I traveled half way around the world to meet up with some of the warmest people in Ireland.
It will be a long way to travel from Australia again but will do it ....Most definitely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozie_Magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed in Avalon Guest House on Saturday night July 6th to attend family gathering in Glenties with husband and kids a swell as my brother and his family. Have to say, it was everything an irish welcome should be. Mary and Hugh were so accommodating and helpful. Rooms and facilities were of highest standard and the food was fab. Will definitely be back ...soon!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMB221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenties
11.2 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,054 reviews
5.9 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
73 reviews
12.7 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
11.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avalon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon Guest House

Property: Avalon Guest House
Address: Avalon Glen Road, Glenties, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Glenties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Avalon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing