We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food”
Review of Owenea Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Owenea Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Glenties
Restaurant details
Mullingar
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice food”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Nice food and the house wine is excellent. Would recommend if in the area, staff very friendly....chocolate cake was amazing!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TazC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The food in the hotel (I assume it comes from this restaurant) is surprising good, I'd highly recommend it...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank raffoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant Steak and Scampi”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Steak was excellent
Scampi was as good as you get anywhere

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JFHDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co antrim
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“first class food!!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Steaks beautifully cooked, salmon and seafood fresh and first class, abundance of potatoes and vegtables

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sue d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A quick bite to eat with the SLOWEST service & left hungry”
Reviewed April 11, 2011

I was working in the area & popped in for a coffee at lunchtime. The bar / lounge area wasn't v welcoming with tables & chairs plonked in the middle of the floor. I stood at the bar for 5 mins while 1 male member of staff was serving & was ignored. I was also ignored by a female member of waiting staff .
when I finally was served I ordered a coffee & sandwich & side salad. I got my coffee withing 5 mins but had to wait 25 minutes for my sandwich & side salad. The bread wasn't the freshest & the side salad consisted of yesterdays left over mash with a spoon of mayo through it to transform it into potato salad...yuck! Pre-made coleslaw, which wasn't touched either, and a few bits of red onion, a slice of cucumber, chopped up iceberg lettuce & pineapple. It wasn't at all appealling & I left it.
Really disappointing

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly09Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Owenea Restaurant also viewed

Glenties, County Donegal
 
Glenties, County Donegal
Ardara, County Donegal

Been to Owenea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing