We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highlands Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brennan's B&B(Glenties)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lisdanar House(Glenties)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brook Lodge B&B(Glenties)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park View(Glenties)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveler rating
71
46
17
11
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
46
17
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmusselschowdera family run hotelwonderful staffpotatoesking prawnslovely family runboth nightsnewly refurbished hotelmashbeefthai stylefabulous hotelperfect location for touringa lovely staycouldn't do enoughmany thanks
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 155 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were a bit worried after reading some of the reviews on Tripadvisor. We went for two days using a LivingSocial deal. The hotel is family run and typical for the main street of an Irish town. The traffic can be noisy though we slept well with the windows closed. Hospitality and room were good. Food was also good with big portions. Nothing like the Ritz but absolutely fine. Bar was comfortable with friendly staff and customers. Good value for what we paid.

Room Tip: Over the street can be noisy with traffic.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stirfry151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I stayed at the Highland hotel for 1 night with my father following recommendation from a hotel in Portnoo.
The main hotel is dated and dirty, with a stale smell pervading especially in the upstairs back corridor to get to the twin room we stayed in.
Again the room was dated and the shower poor, taking up to 15 minutes to get tepid warm and barely a trickle to wash under.
we ate in the hotel restaurnet as recommended by some locals in a near by bar, ( " it's the best place in town"). The food was barely warm and certainly not fresh. The mussels were all de-shelled and of varying colour, taste and texture, my fathers pate, dry and more resembling course sand in texture.the main courses where well below standard. I work in catering and know the majority of the meal was reheated from frozen and tasted dry and bland. I did complain and was told that all the produce is fresh and no apologgy or alternative offered.

this hotel and restaurnat is posing as the ease and charm of all that is irish. It is nothing it purports to be. it needs lots of investment in refurbishment and catering standards and service requires a massive refocus.

I have stayed in better run, cleaner and up to date youth hostels.

Thank gawd for tripadvisor, only wish I had consulted it prior to our stay.
Folk who have given it a positive review must be easily pleased.

Room Tip: do not stay here
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank absolutemust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We went to Highlands Hotel on a deal via Living Social. On arrival we were greeted warmly by a very pleasant receptionist, and shown up to our room. It was spacious and very clean, tea and coffee making facilities, quite a big bathroom with both bath and shower. We initially had problems with the TV, but the staff were more than helpful in fixing this problem immediately.
Our 1st evening we ate in the bar. A very tasty and piping hot 10oz steak with all the trimmings for only 14 euro. That same evining there was entertainment provided by local musicians, and it was excellent.
Our breakfast was cereal/grapefruit and fruit juices, followed by basically what ever combination of a full irish breakfast you wanted with plenty of toast and tea/coffee.......once again the staff were very pleasant and very helpful.
That evening we had an evening meal that was part of the offer, the choice was greater than i expected, and i have to say it was excellent with quite large portions and piping hot served by very helpful and pleasant staff.
I would be more than happy to return to the family run Highlands Hotel anytime, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Donegal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

just returned today from a 2 night break,booked with living social.I do not know what the last couple of reviewers are talking about.The hotel is a family run establishment and they are charming and attentive.The food is lovely and I had no complaints about our room.i think that the value for money was excellent..Nothing is wrong with this hotel,it is not the Ritz but certainly does not merit any of the last comments.We had a lovely time and would have no worries about returning.Thanks to all for a lovely time.The breakfast by the way was excellent!!
Diane

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucytoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived to a reception and a receptionist that was Drab and Ignorant.No lift!!! On a 2 night deal with Living Social.Food was AWFUL,after trying to eat the chicken curry,I went to my room and vomited.Bar area had locals who were worst for ware.,swearing loudly,for our benefit we thought.The bar area was Dirty,tables Dirty.We were given a plastic menu with limited choice.The menu was also dirty.When we got into bed in the VERY SMELLY DAMP room,the springs on the mattress were awful.We took all the bedding from the spare bed,also the spare blanket from the old wardrobe and placed it under our sheet,it was just about bearable.Next morning we did not bother with breakfast.We gave our true reasons for high-tailing it out of there,and was met with a resigned "Oh,OK" They are obviously used to people leaving early.

Room Tip: Whole Hotel is VERY SMELLY.!!!Go somewhere else.!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steadynow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews