We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”
Review of Lisdanar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisdanar House
Ranked #1 of 7 Glenties B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We visit Glenties every year for a set dance weekend. The first booking we make each year is Lisdanar. Rosaleen is the best host ever, accommodating every requirement. The breakfasts beat me and I can eat for Scotland and "The wee surprise in your your room tonight" was a muffin which was home baked and delicious after an evening dancing. From the welcome to the farewell everything is first class.

Room Tip: We get the same room every year so don't know about the others. I'm willing to bet they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words about Lisdanar and the surprises within!!!! Always a pleasure having You both stay and I hope to meet You again very soon.Its very encouraging getting positive feedback like Yours very much appreciated .Thank You both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
58
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the 2013 MacGill summer school. Really lovely B and B. just outside town, parking, great breakfasts and an ideal location for touring this part of Donegal. Guest facilities top-class and Rosaleen good hostess

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mairead N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thanks a million for taking time out to review your experience in Lisdanar.It was a pleasure having you stay and hope You will visit again in the near future.We strive to make our guests stay an enjoyable one and have lots of fun with them .Really appreciate Your kind words..Rosaleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Rosaleen is the perfect hostess with the best B&B you could expect to encounter in Ireland. Of the 5 we stayed in during our travels, Lisdanar House sets the standard for excellence. From room size and cleanliness to a teriffic breakfast Rosaleen provides the best of what travelers want and expect. Our next visit to Ireland will certainly include a repeat visit to Lisdanar house. Rosaleen gets a strong "Atta Girl" for her friendliness and her management of the B&B. Thank you for a great experience.

Room Tip: Big guys can fit into the showers! Not so at most B&B's but Lisdanar House does it right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank You so so much for Your kind words and I really enjoyed having You .Im glad You have good memories of Lisdanar.That is always my aim and to try and make my guests enjoy their holiday just makes my job worthwhile .i really appreciate You Giving me the report as I always strive to improve Guests enjoyment of our Home.Hope to have You visit again Kind Regards from Rosaleen to You all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valentine, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Rosaleen went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and comfortable in her beautiful home. The breakfasts were delicious and bountiful! Rosaleen was so helpful in suggesting sites to see and places for dinner. I highly recommend this B& B!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upwardho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank You so much for Your kind words.We always appreciate feedback here at Lisdanar and strive for a better experience for our guests all the time.We look forward to enhacing your experience next trip.Best wishes from Conal and Sally and I.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed in this B&B bicycling the northwest part of Ireland. This was the best place we stayed during our vacation ( and I am including the places we stayed in at Dublin and Paris).

Roseleen, the owner, seems to go that extra mile to see that her guests are comfortable and all needs attended to. The rooms themselves are larger than your typical B &B bedroom sizes, and the food is perfect. Really, this place is a gem, and even if you are not in the immediate area, it may be worth the time to get to the area to stay here.

Room Tip: Just ask Roseleen. She's wonderful and knows what she is doing and knows the value of customer s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to review our B and B.and more inportantly thank You for the compliments.We are constantly trying to improve our service here at Lisdanar and love that our guests enjoy the experience.so I wish You all the best and maybe we will see You again. Hope You enjoyed the rest of your holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockanje, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Lisdanar House for three nights. We where with two couples. And we all think this is the most excellent B&B we have ever stayed at. Nice house, comfortable rooms and best of all our excellent hostess. Never met a woman who enjoyed it so much to make people feel at home and as comfortable as possible with her excellent breakfast and what a sense of humour she has. Rosaleen you where fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank In_J0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank You so much for your much appreciated kind words on your stay at our Home.Yes I do love my job especially when I have such fun with guests as I had with You.Hope You enjoyed the rest of Your holiday after You left me and I hope You return again in the Future.Thank You again from Conal and I.Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Of all the B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland, we enjoyed our time at Lisdanar house the most. The hostess could not have been kinder or more accomodating, and when it came to helping us with our itenerary and travel directions, she really exceeded expectations! The food was excellent, the room very comfortable, and the house is within walking distance of "downtown" Glenties! Thank you, Rosaleen, for your Irish hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EES F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenties
11.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
858 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,106 reviews
5.6 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
288 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gort Na Mona B & B
Gort Na Mona B & B
#2 of 9 in Ardara
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdanar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdanar House

Property: Lisdanar House
Address: Lisdanar House Mill Road, Glenties, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisdanar is centrally located for touring South West Donegal.Its a beautiful property set in its own grounds with ample private parking yet only two minutes walk to the village.All the bedrooms are very spacious with private toilet and shower facilities.All are nicely decorated with loads of extras ...hospitality trays, tvs etc...Lisdanar is half way between the Slieve Cliffs and Glencolmcille village where there is the famine cottages and on the other hand theres Glenveagh National Park and the Poisined Glen.Glenties has numerous beautiful beaches nearby and also lake and river fishing.Theres several Great Golf Clubs within driving distance...Horseriding and bike hire can also be arranged.Rosaleen enjoys helping visitors plan their day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lisdanar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing