We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Emily&Margaret”
Review of Lisdanar House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lisdanar House
Ranked #1 of 7 Glenties B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Emily&Margaret”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Of all the B&Bs we stayed at in Ireland, we enjoyed our time at Lisdanar house the most. The hostess could not have been kinder or more accomodating, and when it came to helping us with our itenerary and travel directions, she really exceeded expectations! The food was excellent, the room very comfortable, and the house is within walking distance of "downtown" Glenties! Thank you, Rosaleen, for your Irish hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EES F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
61
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I've stayed at Lisdanar House twice over the last few months. Amazing house, great rooms, wonderful breakfast, and even more important: an adorable host. This is the kind of place where as soon as you leave you are already thinking of when you'll be back! It's by far the best B&B I've stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyclingTraveller_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I did a tour with Ireland by bike and stayed at Lisdanar house. All B&B's I stayed at were great, but this one was outstanding. A beautiful house, big rooms, the best breakfast & afternoon tea and scones. Rosaleen embodies Irish hospitality at its best.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterB00ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks a million Peter for your kind words .I do enjoy my job very much and love making my guests feel at home and like to treat them to a few goodies like the afternoon tea especially when they have been cycling all day .I hope some day that you return and dont foget to bring tht camera because your photographs were truly amazing .Thanks again for taking time out to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Eight of us cycled nearly 1000km throughout Donegal County and
surround. FABULOUS! – See "Ireland by Bike". We stayed at several
places and clearly it comes down to this place as being THE BEST THERE
IS!! - What can one say about a fabulous lady and accommodating
husband who own a beautiful home with very large rooms, well done
ensuite baths, comfortable beds, extremely clean, fantastic food, and
most willing to chat and educate you on the area, people, and even
help get you where you need to go – if you’re lucky it's "on her way".
Rosaleen is also very funny and within 20min – you are “at home”!!
Only thing is you'll have to cheer for Donegal! – Which is easy as
this Gaelic football team is very good and deserving of the semifinals
they won during the week we were there - AND the GAA Championship!!!– The passion and spirit was palpable!! Further, the Irish Hospitality is unbeatable in general!
So… What can one say… If You Don’t Stay at Lisdanar B&B while in
Glenties Ireland – You’re not getting some of the best you can have of
Ireland!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NIckG302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank You so much for your very positive comments on your stay at Lisdanar House .It is very much appreciated when guests take the time and trouble to write of their experience at our Home.We really enjoyed having you guys here and had such fun with you all.We hope you return to Ireland real soon and visit us again where we will once again try and make your holiday a very enjoyable one .God Bless you all and a sincere thank You again Conal and Rosaleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Myself and my partner spent 5 days in glenties to explore donegal for the first time, what a fabulous week it was, aided by the most generous and caring B&B owner i have had the joy to stay with.the accommodation was immaculate, bedrooms spacous, spotless, including the bathrooms, and quiet room, a must for a lite sleeper. but what made it special was Rosaleen, who was a fabulous cook, each morning she provided us with something different, don't miss the pancakes! also an entertainer and donegal guide, providing us with great info on donegal and wheres the best places to eat out, and go each day, even getting her neighbour to give us a sat nav for a trip to derry! every day we came back to a spotless cleaned room, cleans towels, and a welcome and a chat of our travels, if u want to visit donegal, u can't choose a better place to base your self, it would be a B&B that i expect i will never better again, thanks rosaleen for a fantastic time and letting us share a wonderful donegal experience in lisadanar hse,
also if your a GAA football fan, be prepared for a fanatic fan! up donegal!!

Room Tip: front double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank You Thomas for your kind words...I really enjoyed having you both and hope you will find your way back to Lisdanar House again in the future.As you can imagine its great to be a Donegal person and you picked a great time to visit.I try and make all my guests feel at home here and so glad your experience made your holiday more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Arriving soaked from cycling, we were greeted with hot coffee, amazing scones & Rosaleen.
It is worth staying here just to meet Rosaleen. She is hilarious to talk too, very kind, she dried and washed our disgusting wet things, even socks, entertained us and gave us great breakfasts too. The house is immaculate & comfortable. Her dedication to the Donegal football manikins dress and prominence was lots of fun.
Thank you Rosaleen & Lisdana from Krisin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you both for staying with me and for all the fun we had during your two night stay and for writing such a lovely review .I hope you pass this way again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Prior to staying at Lisdanar we stayed in a four star hotel and I must say that our stay with Rosleen far excelled the former. The rooms was super clean, with modern decor. The higlight was our host Rosaleen, who welcomed us with open arms. She went above and beyond for us, even providing my partner with a Donegal flag for his car. As a Kildare woman I will try not to hold that against her! The breakfast was the best we had during our holiday. Will be going back there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cararonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenties
6.6 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
78 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
11.3 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
295 reviews
11.4 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,149 reviews
16.7 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdanar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdanar House

Property: Lisdanar House
Address: Lisdanar House Mill Road, Glenties, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisdanar is centrally located for touring South West Donegal.Its a beautiful property set in its own grounds with ample private parking yet only two minutes walk to the village.All the bedrooms are very spacious with private toilet and shower facilities.All are nicely decorated with loads of extras ...hospitality trays, tvs etc...Lisdanar is half way between the Slieve Cliffs and Glencolmcille village where there is the famine cottages and on the other hand theres Glenveagh National Park and the Poisined Glen.Glenties has numerous beautiful beaches nearby and also lake and river fishing.Theres several Great Golf Clubs within driving distance...Horseriding and bike hire can also be arranged.Rosaleen enjoys helping visitors plan their day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lisdanar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing