We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2006

This is a great place to stay. The room I was in was 'rustic' and one of the beds was under the beams but it was large with a good view of the ruin and water. The bathroom was small, but adequate, with modern fittings and luxury complimentary toiletries. The restaurant is fabulous, because of its situation - huge windows overlooking the bay - service and, of course, the food.

Even though the hotel only has ten rooms the restaurant is quite extensive and was full when I visited on a Friday evening. Breakfast was another treat, cooked to order and artfully arranged.

Stayed: August 2006
3  Thank sterch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 292 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2006

I was brought here by my wonderful girlfriend as a surprise 30th birthday treat....and what a treat it was!
the unassuming exterior (it looks like a big guesthouse) belies a cosy, romantic interior with wonderful comfy couches along the huge front windows where one can sit and savour the sun setting over Donegal Bay, guinness or whiskey in hand! It's truely one of the most relaxing evening's I've ever had!
The restaurant is of the highest standard. The waiters are french for the most part and are knowledgeable, polite and helpful. The food we had was divine, both the 4 course evening meal and the wonderful hearty Irish breakfast. Seafood is a speciality here although anything chosen from the imaginative french menu is bound to set your taste buds tingling!
The room we stayed in was "the sailing room", All rooms are subtley themed and ours has nautical pictures, sail curtains and of course a stunning sea view.
The bed was so comfy it's hard to drag oneself out to walk along the rugged coastline and explore the ruins of the castle opposite but it's well worth it when you do...if only to look forward to that warming jamiesons on your return!

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank uncletupelo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Craigavon, Co. Armagh
122
Reviewed May 10, 2004

A fabulous luxury 'hideaway' hotel, nestled near the base of St. Johns's Point overlooking Donegal Bay and hills surrounding neighbouring Killybegs. A breathtaking view matched only by the mouthwatering French cuisene served in the well deserved award winning restaurant. The ultimate Chill-out and romantic retreat.

22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoFlo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Fl_Pi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simonmercier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bobb1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkineely
13.2 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
615 reviews
13.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
963 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tara Hotel
Tara Hotel
#1 of 2 in Killybegs
657 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bay View Hotel
Bay View Hotel
#2 of 2 in Killybegs
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunkineely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Price Range: $155 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family owned boutique bed & breakfast with magnificent sea views over looking the ruins of Mc Swynes Castle an the Slieve League cliffs the highest in Europe. Amazing breakfast using local sourced ingredients, homemade preserves, breads, cakes and granola. As well as our cooked breakfasts like our in-house smoked mackerel with scrambled egg or the farm to fork full Irish. Relax with a drink in our honesty bar and enjoy the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Murray House Hotel And Restaurant
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant Dunkineely, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing