We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Tara Hotel(Killybegs)(Great Value!)
$73
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay View Hotel(Killybegs)(Great Value!)
$90
$67
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandhouse Hotel(Rossnowlagh)
$159
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creevy Pier Hotel(Ballyshannon)
$112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nesbitt Arms Hotel(Ardara)
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mill Park Hotel(Donegal Town)
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Abbey Hotel(Donegal Town)
$114
$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
239
34
12
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
34
12
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoystershonesty barfantastic foodsconeslounge areadidn't disappointlocal seafoodsea viewfishing portfirst classcomfy bedfull irishirish hospitalitysunday lunchexcellent breakfasther husbandgreat night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 293 reviews
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at Castle Murray for the second and we regret to say also for the last time.
When you have something to celebrate it is always nice to have the possibility to reserve a room and stay the night after enjoying your dinner. The first time we stayed at Castle Murray, in November 2011, we had a good time. This time however, just a year later, we had the distinct feeling that the management has decided to make some extra money by ripping off the customer. The most important proof hereoff is the extra charge you have to pay for certain main courses. In 2011 we payed also extra for a main course but we really had the impression that this was fair. During our last visit however one of us was charged €6,50 extra for a tiny piece of halibut. When we complained about this there was no other reaction than: "I will tell the chef".
The menu mentions that the main courses are served with "creamed potatoes". At Murray's this means: a bit of ordinary mash. The vegetables are also in short supply and overcooked. There are further savings for the management: the "amuse" is something not to be amused about. It lookes and tastes like a speciality from the local takeaway, only a bit smaller. The coffee or tea is according to the menu accompanied with "petit fours". We only found one ordinary chocolate cookie for each of us. No, this was a real disappointment for us.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to Thank you for your review we really appreciate all our customers comments. We so are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Castle Murray this time.

Our evening dinner menu is priced from €42.00 for 5 courses. This means our customers can have the 5 course for this price. Should yone wish to choose the prime fish or meat from our menu, this of course has to be supplemented as its a dearer cut of meat or a prime fish which is more costly for us to buy in. This is a choice which our customers choose to make and these supplements are clearer printed on our dinner menu when ordering. These are not hidden extra costs that one doesnt know about when ordering.

I am sorry to hear you didnt like our creamed pototoes and vegetable, perhaps on your next visit you could request boiled potatoes or handcut chips if you would perfer thes, this would be no problem at all. To compare our Amuse Bouche to something you would find in a local takeaway, we find very hard to accept to be actual.. We know that what we produce is fresh and off the highest of standard and quailty. There is no comparison.

We do hope that you both will return to Castle Murray some day where we would like to think that you would enjoy your dining experience with us.

Warmest & Kindest Regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We have stayed at Castle Murray House Hotel three times and have always had a wonderful time. The food is always excellent and we love the laid back atmosphere. We can totally relax. The location is great, with fantastic views of Donegal from the restaurant. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We've another visit planned for the end of the month and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Only three rooms have a king sized bed the others are doubles...we like killultan best.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us for your third time. It's great that you find that you can completely relax during your stay with us! The views from Castle Murray are stunning and also help to create the relaxed atmosphere.

We are glad to hear that our staff looked after you well and that you enjoyed your food it's great to hear such good compliments, Thank you. We look forward to seeing you again at the end of the month and hope your stay will be as enjoyable as before!!

Warmest and kindest regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Fiancé reserved table for 8.00 we were there at 7.30 on a quiet midweek evening we got seat allocated at 8.45 .. Tiresome apologies ,average food , letter of complaint never got a response!we got the distinct impression they didn't even believe we had made a reservation! Overall very poor !

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pollyanna1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to Thank you for your review, we appreciate all of our customers comments.

We do apolgise for the delay in taking your order on the Wednesday 5th September, this was a very busy midweek dinner service and this is why there was a delay. Guests arriving earlier than booked or arriving later than booked can create a delayed waiting time for other guests and unfortunately this is beyond our control so when this does happen all we can do is apologise on the night for this.

I am very sorry to hear overall that your experience with us wasnt what you expected. We do hope that you will return to visit us again in the not so distant future.

Warmest and kindest regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Been lucky enough to use the Castle Murray Restaurant several times. Food is always excellent. Ambiance and service is first class. Cannot wait for another opportunity for something to celebrate there!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. So happy to hear your dining experience in our restaurant was excellent ant that you enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to seeing you dine with us again and hope its another great experience for you!

Warmest and Kindest regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Love this hotel and restaurant. Food and service out of this world.Location perfect for get away weekend or longer.
Seafood as good as it gets. Can't wait to return. Great for easy access to local beauty spots and local towns Donegal Town and Killybegs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkshirellass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to Thank you for your review we really appreciate all our customers comments. We are so happy to hear that you find Castle Murray so Great in every way!

We are in a great location here, so convient for our guests to enjoy the beautiful scenery overlooking Mc Swynes bay and Slieve League cliffs in the background and yet just a few minutes drive from the main road!

Also we are delighted that your dining experience was so enjoyable and that you think our seafood is as good as it gets, such a compliment for us to hear!! Thank you. We hope to see you soon in the future for another stay with us!

Kindest and warmest regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews