We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and incredible location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Delicious food and incredible location”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

What a delightful place - well worth the trip. We booked for dinner, bed and breakfast. In the evening we had a delicious meal with the freshest crab, lobster and oysters we've ever had - they had just come out of the Atlantic. Lovely service, gorgeous home made bread and a table looking out across the sea. We stayed in Room One - nice and very spacious with a comfy bed. We were travelling with our baby and this is a good room for families. Should we find ourselves in this very beautiful part of Ireland again we shall certainly return, and have already recommended it to friends. Great scenery, great seafood - lovely breakfast too.

Room Tip: The pictures on the website dont do the rooms justice in my opinon - ours was much nicer than the ph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dismal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleMurray1, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us at Castle Murray House. Room one is a beautiful and spacious family room with great sea views.
We are delighted you would recommend us to your friends and look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
Warm Regards
Marguerite Howley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    33
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
35
178
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Killinchy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Another wonderful visit. The staff are so friendly and the food is just amazing. A very relaxing couple of days.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KenCountyDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly, let me take this opportunity to thank you for taking time out to review us on TA. Your comments are very important to us and this helps us to provide our guests the best possible stay.

We have a great team of staff here at the hotel so your comments in relation to staff are very kind and I appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your dinner, our team of chefs aim to produce the best quailty food and present it to you as best they can.

Warmest Regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this hotel over the weekend of the 30th of June/1st of July. We were looking for a place to relax and celebrate our 1st Anniversary and we found this in spades in Castle Murray. We were welcomed, and checked in, by the lovely Gerry, whose manner immediately relaxed us.
We stayed in the Killaghtee bedroom and it was beautiful. It has fabulous views, is over reception, but is very quiet.
The food in this hotel, from breakfast to dinner is fabulous and at the top of my list for presentation and taste to date. I also want to mention the young barman who tended to us on the Saturday - Lovey chatty and gentlemanly young man. This hotel has no leisure centre or spa but we felt that this was unusually a bonus for us as we had to just surrender and chill out.
The hotel is not far from Sliabh League and this is also a must see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pal18_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you both so much for taking time out to review us on TA. Its is very important that our guests feel welcomed from the moment you walk through our doors. Gerry and Naul our bar man make a great team at front of house.

We are so delighted to hear that Castle Murray is at the top of your list for taste and presentation. We aim to be the best of the best and your comments make us smile. so thank you.

We look very much forward to welcoming you both back for your 2nd and perhaps your 10th wedding annivesary. Congrats again to you both and may you both have a long healthy and happy life together as Mr & Mrs.

Warmest Regards
Margueite Howley
Owner/G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed in Castle Murray on Saturday night last during a weekend stay for the Sandra's Run charity fundraiser in Donegal. Having seen most of Donegal during the day, the four of us who stayed arrived at St John's Point on motorcycles were blown away by the location and view over the Atlantic. Small delay in checking in (admittedly we arrived as most guests arrived for dinner!) but Fabrice was incredibly helpful and even showed us how each of the keys worked for the different locations in the hotel. The hotel is small but the rooms were lovely. Everyone we spoke to were amazed that we didn't stay to sample the food so we will certainly return for that experience! The highlight was the breakfast though! The freshest of fresh OJ, granola with strawberry and natural yoghurt followed by a a mini-breakfast (pancakes were also on the menu!). Breakfast only runs to 10am so make sure you are down before the chef finishes up as one of our group learned!!! Also can I say that the bar in the hotel looked fantastic but again our visit was too short to sample it....we will be back!!!

Room Tip: Really cannot go wrong with any of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFox1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Let us thank you firstly for taking time out of your very busy schedule to review us on TA. We where delighted to have the team down from the east coast to stay with us. The charity run in Killybegs is a major tourist attraction now annually along with being a special charity fundraiser event. We are delighted you all have discovered St. John's Point, Dunkineely now and that our little hidden gem here on the south west coast of Donegal , blew you all away!

Saturday evening with guests arriving also for dinner can be busy. We are sorry for the delay on arrival, but no doubt Fabrice took care of you all. Perhaps the next visit, you will get to sample more than just breakfast, again we are very happy to hear you enjoyed our freshly prepared breakfast which is all cooked to order. Breakfast does on a Sunday morning finish sharp at 10.00am due to lunch being served along with dinner in the evening.

Warmest regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Very cosy hotel with small but very romantic rooms. Very comfy when the wind and rain howlin outside. Staff is very friendly and the food is very tasty and well presented. Great atmosphere. Recommend this venue to any couple. Only slight gripe being the quilt on the bed is too short by 6 inches when the bottom of quilt is tucked in.

Room Tip: For romance, go to the top of the building as the rooms are cooler and more cosy.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ballyard-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
castlemurray, Owner at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time out to review us on TA. Your comments are very important to us.

We are so happy to hear that you found our hotel cosy and very romantic with a great atmosphere. This is what we aim for and delighted you both experience it during your stay, even on a bad day with the wind and rain blowing.

Sorry you found the quilt a bit short, we could have offered you a blanket had we known, so on your next visit, please do not hesiate to ask.

We look very much forward to welcoming you both back again in the not so distance future.

Warmest Regards
Marguerite Howley
Owner/G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Sorry but this place does not have nice rooms (we had dust, mold, and a terrace used by others overlooking our bathroom with no curtain on the window). The view was great, but the window small....

Dinner was fine but nothing to write home about, seafood or french cuisine wise...would not recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank justavisual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you for your review on Castle Murray House Hotel, we are sorry to hear that the hotel was not what you expected.Yes the views are amazing from our hotel bedrooms, but I am afraid we do not have windows that other guests can look trough into your bathroom unless than had a ladder.
we regret YOU did not enjoy are awarding winning food in our fine dining restaurant on you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Castle Murray house hotel and restaurant is owned and run by the delightful Marguerite Howley and her husband Peter Lawler who is also a chef on the team. A French restaurant featuring the best of Irish seafood, but also a menu so varied it suits every palate.We arrived on a wet,windy, wild, June evening at our favourite Donegal fine dining venue. For many years we have been returning there for dinner and an overnight stay, and never has it failed to deliver. Despite the sombre, cold,grey weather outside, the welcome we received from the wonderful and charming receptionist Kelly, whose warmth is only surpassed by her helpfulness and professionalism, immediately enveloped us in the fabulous ambience, tranquility and sheer joy that a visit to Castle Murray entails. We were delighted to meet a new member on the team, an extremely pleasant and gracious man called Gerry, who not only is the Maitre D but also combines it with the role of Sommelier.Gerry's guidance and knowledge with both the wine list and the menu was immeasurable,he was highly attentive during service but remained unobtrusive. We enjoyed a sumptuous dinner, the menu was quite difficult to choose from as one would loved to have sampled everything among the choices of starters were prawns and monfish,morel mushroom soup,oysters, fresh or grilled,smoked cheese tartlet, quail croquettes, and pan fried squid, mains consisted of Irish angus sirloin of beef, Irish hereford fillet steak, duo of pan fried chicken and Mc Swines Bay blue lobster, roast fillet of Donegal lamb , aubergine caviar, and St Tola goats cheese cannelloni, hake, scallots and turbot. Quite a choice ! My husband choose the prawns and monkfish to start and I choose the smoked cheese tartlet, both were fantastic.Gerry presented us with an amuse bouche of cucumber and fresh crab,a morsel of sheer heaven, for mains my husband choose the Irish sirloin of beef, cooked to perfection, the lamb which I opted for was perfectly executed with a basil puree, seasonal vegetables and the creamiest mashed potatoes ever. For dessert we choose from the very tempting array of choices a lemon creme brulee and the mango and coconut parfait....devine end to a splendid dinner. We were fortunate to be allocated a window table, overlooking the stunning beauty of Mc Swines Bay,the stone walls, surrounding the cattle grazing peacefully,totally oblivious to the breathtaking surroundings, and the rugged beauty. Castle Murray house hotel and restaurant showcases Irish hospitality at its best, the finest of fine dining ( at very reasonable prices, words that do not normally marry with the words fine dining) and of course the life blood of this unique and wonderful experience is the outstanding staff who are in a league of their own.
We spent a very restful night in a tastefully decorated bedroom with wonderful views over the bay,and enjoyed a delicious breakfast before we reluctantly checked out . Kelly informed me that the usual seasonal afternoon teas begin for two months starting the beginning of July, another treat to look forward to. If you are a fan of Mc Nean house and and have not yet discovered this gem, a visit is a must, or if you are visiting our beautiful country from abroad, Castle Murray house hotel and restaurant is one of Ireland's culinary treasures, and a visit here will remain a life time memory.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank collettebonnar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your detail review of Castle Murray House and the deep undersatnding for what we offer our customers when they stay or dine in Castle Murray House.
We look forward to welcoming you back for our famous afternoon tea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkineely
13.2 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
570 reviews
13.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
10.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
819 reviews
15.2 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunkineely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family owned boutique bed & breakfast with magnificent sea views over looking the ruins of Mc Swynes Castle an the Slieve League cliffs the highest in Europe. Amazing breakfast using local sourced ingredients, homemade preserves, breads, cakes and granola. As well as our cooked breakfasts like our in-house smoked mackerel with scrambled egg or the farm to fork full Irish. Relax with a drink in our honesty bar and enjoy the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Murray House Hotel And Restaurant
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant Dunkineely, Ireland - County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing