We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place”
Review of Bunbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bunbeg House
Ranked #6 of 6 Bunbeg B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Place”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Went for a long weekend, the place was so pretty! The B&B was a tired but very clean, the thing was the noise in the morning from the shower next door! Lol
The food nice and the people very pleasent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    35
    22
    19
    12
See reviews for
29
65
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

A beautiful harbour in North West Donegal, a friendly and warm welcome awaits you in this family run guest house. Good sized bed rooms with TV and ensuite. Very clean great view over the harbour a great place for a quiet weekend away from it all. Tradtional music closeby but probably need a car to get there although the owners offered to drop us off if we wished. A freshly prepared cooked breakfast and cereal each morning. We would go back there.

Room Tip: overlooking the harbour what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Stayed in Bunbeg House last August,beautiful setting in the old harbour at Bunbeg. Good sized rooms and well kept.Very reasonable rates and pleasant staff. Guesthouse is in walking distance of pubs and nightclub. A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101CMacB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

A nigh perfect setting by the harbour Comfortable rooms and a friendly helpful owner ,particularly about Fishing.A fine breakfast and cute Bar to rest during the Summer(or winter) evenings.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keirhardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We had really been looking forward to Donegal and sought a place to stay fairly close to Clannad's old stamping grounds (We are great fans.) It was a long day's drive from Galway, through the beautiful Connemara, and we were concerned about arriving late so made the booking through Tourist Information while passing through Donegal.
It's set in an attractive location but the hotel / guesthouse is in dire need of a makeover. To be fair, the manager apologised that she had only the one room available, one of the older ones, so maybe we didn't see the hotel at its best.
The room was quite and the bed adequate for a night's sleep but the breakfast was very ordinary. Given that the tariff was above the average we paid on our trip we thought this one of the places we would not recommend. A shame, because Donegal is so beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was a little disappointed with the Bunbeg House. We booked it because it was recommended in one of our travel books. Positives: The location is beautiful and right on the water, comfortable bed, the hosts were great and very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast. Negatives: VERY dirty carpets (I don't mind a little bit of dirt, but I didn't take off my shoes), thin and dingy towels, we had to lift the lid on the toilet for it to fully flush and no wifi available. I'd say this hotel is best for those who are just passing through and spending the night. It was just as expensive as some of the very nice B&Bs we used during our trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bunbeg hotels

Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Very dated with dirty carpets throughout. Met by a teenage boy who did not even know which rooms we were staying in. Ladies toilet just off the "bar" is a DIY nightmare! Breakfast was very slow, very basic and not very nice, scrambled egg was inedible. More choice needed. For the money charged the owners need to offer far more luxury and cleanliness. Would not recommend staying here for more than one night, even then don't expect anything great.

Room Tip: Go to a different location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunbeg
2.6 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
4.0 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
3.5 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Teac Jack
Teac Jack
#1 of 6 in Bunbeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunbeg Lodge B & B
Bunbeg Lodge B & B
#3 of 6 in Bunbeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Teac Campbell
Teac Campbell
#2 of 6 in Bunbeg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunbeg House

Property: Bunbeg House
Address: The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunbeg House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunbeg House is a friendly guest house with en suite rooms in the village of Bunbeg, overlooking the harbour at the mouth of the Clady River.Bunbeg House has been run by the same family since it first opened in the 1970s, and has since featured in many books and magazines. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.Food and drink is available in the bar, which opens in the summer. The relaxed, homely atmosphere makes it a good base from which to explore the Gaeltacht of Donegal.If you’re travelling with a younger child, cots and babysitting services are available.Whilst at Bunbeg House, you might visit Glenveagh National Park, the Dunlewey centre or Glebe Gallery. There are golf courses at Portnoo, Dunfanaghy and Cruit Island. Deep sea diving and surfing are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Bunbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing