We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for those "passing through"”
Review of Bunbeg House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bunbeg House
Ranked #6 of 6 Bunbeg B&B and Inns
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best for those "passing through"”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I was a little disappointed with the Bunbeg House. We booked it because it was recommended in one of our travel books. Positives: The location is beautiful and right on the water, comfortable bed, the hosts were great and very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast. Negatives: VERY dirty carpets (I don't mind a little bit of dirt, but I didn't take off my shoes), thin and dingy towels, we had to lift the lid on the toilet for it to fully flush and no wifi available. I'd say this hotel is best for those who are just passing through and spending the night. It was just as expensive as some of the very nice B&Bs we used during our trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    36
    24
    20
    12
See reviews for
30
70
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Very dated with dirty carpets throughout. Met by a teenage boy who did not even know which rooms we were staying in. Ladies toilet just off the "bar" is a DIY nightmare! Breakfast was very slow, very basic and not very nice, scrambled egg was inedible. More choice needed. For the money charged the owners need to offer far more luxury and cleanliness. Would not recommend staying here for more than one night, even then don't expect anything great.

Room Tip: Go to a different location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caz0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Chose Bunbeg House this time rather than one of the larger Donegal hotels which we had used in recent years. The positives of this choice far outweighed any negatives.

The bedroom/ensuite was spacious, perfectly clean, comfortable and overlooked the harbour - maybe a couple of comfortable chairs would have been nice. The bed was comfortable and everything worked.
The Breakfast room seemed to have been recently refurbished and was spacious and clean. The Breakfast itself put the hotels to shame - freshly cooked, well served (and delivered hot).
Parts of the house need a bit of an uplift but the impression that you get is that they are gradually getting round refurbishing everywhere. The small bar is quite pleasant and there's a nice small sitting area in front of reception.
The personal touch of the owners is something you just wouldn't get in an hotel.
Anything negative that I might say would apply equally to ALL of the Donegal hotels which call themselves 4 star etc. - the difference here is that you are getting really excellent value for money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingmanIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
445 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

As two female friends we asked for twin room. Owner offered us family room and we had a connecting room each, ideal. Over looked the harbour and boats. The rooms were basic but clean with tea/coffee provided.
Breakfast juice, cereal, fry with toast, tea and coffee was fine served in a large, airy room downstairs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Perfectly situated right on the harbour at Bunbeg. Very handy fot trips to The Rosses and Mount Errigal. Room was clean with tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was excellent and the owners were friendly and helpful. All in all a great place to stay and I would not discourage anyone from staying here for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room or you will be 3 feet away from a cliff view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laxeylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed in bunbeg house this year again after an excellent time last year.This is a family run guest house in true Donegal {Gweedore} where you will receive a warm and friendly welcome upon arrival.Andy and his lovely wife Jean are fantastic people who are more than happy to meet your every need and have expert knowledge of the surrounding area which is truly breathtaking.The rooms are clean,spacious and warm,some with lovely views of the mouth of the Clady river where you can watch the wild salmon break the water as they wait to go up.The dining area is spacious and bright and a fantastic breakfast is guaranteed,selection of cereals,fruit,fresh orange juice,tea,coffee followed with a fry.
Lunch and dinner are also available and consist of fresh local produce,recommend trying the sea food chowder!There is also a small bar and a pool table and at night you
can sit at the bar have a few pints of the best guinness I have ever tasted and have the craic with Andy who has some great stories and banter!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SalmonMan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Region, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding at Ostan Gweedore. The family running the B&B were very helpful pre-stay. Andy is knowledgeable about fly fishing. The B&B is located looking over a river / estuary leading out ot sea. There are fishing boats in the marina one can see out the bedroom window. Make sure you walk round the downstairs of the B&B when you arrive, there is a bar and large lounge area, handy for after hours. None of the decor fits together. The bedrooms are a bit tired. TV is only local and located far away from the bed. I would stay here if you are with children and/or want some personal direction on things to do in the area i.e.walks, as this is the speciality of the place. The owners are lovely which overides the twee decor. a bit of sprucing up would not go astray.

Room Tip: call by telephone for best deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 40degreesouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunbeg
3.5 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
4.0 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
221 reviews
2.6 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
403 reviews
20.9 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
295 reviews
21.0 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunbeg House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunbeg House

Property: Bunbeg House
Address: The Harbour | Gweedore, Bunbeg, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bunbeg House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bunbeg House is a friendly guest house with en suite rooms in the village of Bunbeg, overlooking the harbour at the mouth of the Clady River.Bunbeg House has been run by the same family since it first opened in the 1970s, and has since featured in many books and magazines. All rooms have TV and tea/coffee making facilities.Food and drink is available in the bar, which opens in the summer. The relaxed, homely atmosphere makes it a good base from which to explore the Gaeltacht of Donegal.If you’re travelling with a younger child, cots and babysitting services are available.Whilst at Bunbeg House, you might visit Glenveagh National Park, the Dunlewey centre or Glebe Gallery. There are golf courses at Portnoo, Dunfanaghy and Cruit Island. Deep sea diving and surfing are available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Bunbeg House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing